Reviewing How Steem has Impacted my Life These Last 2.5 Years

JvFFVmatwWHRfvmtd53nmEJ94xpKydwmbSC5H5svBACH7yVokk3DisnwtvAB6YmxyH1iNiyLHMzPp4w9JNniVbo94b3YU3GUXKCDFHoVn6Rz7V7cQX4k6KF8kFQH61k25Piu9BQacW.jpeg

It’s been over two years now, since I first heard about and joined Steem. At the time I'd been trying to figure out how I could share some of what I was learning on gardening and health on social media, even as a blog on a Weebly site, but not getting far. I knew it was a long term prospect, but hoped one day to slowly build enough of a following to maybe earn a little from it as some people do. So admittedly the draw with Steem was the chance to share and maybe earn that little something even sooner. It was to lead me on a journey I didn't expect, however.

I'm no spring chicken, so I don't pick up new things easily any more. I knew I'd have to work at it to figure things out and after avoiding learning about the crypto currencies that my husband kept mentioning, I now needed to figure them out of I was to make the most of this Steemit site.

It turned out that this wasn't your typical social media site. On most social media you have to figure it out for yourself and the community isn't likely to help you. On Steem, the learning curve is much steeper, but it seems nearly everyone is happy to help you learn and if they can't answer your questions, they know someone who can.

Steem has brought to my life, new knowledge in so many areas, from cryptocurrency to representations of what other cultures and countries are truly like and not the stereotypes we have from media. There's nothing like speaking to someone actually from another country to get a true picture of what it's like living there. It's allowed me to reach out and help others in ways I couldn't normally. Then via @mattclarke, I've had the chance to connect and meet up with people from across my city that I would probably never have met otherwise.

It's rekindled my love of writing and given me a reason to write for the first time in decades (now I feel old...) and I admit the response to my work has given me a little confidence in myself that maybe I can offer something of use. In a world where someone quiet and slow is generally not seen as very valuable in the employment market, it's uplifting to have a positive response to something I feel I'm competent at.

It's been a cliché for a while that Steem is a gateway cryptocurrency and you come for the money, stay for the community, however that has been my experience. I've found a place with @homesteaderscoop, @teamaustralia, #mallsballers (South Australia), @ecotrain, @naturalmedicine, @tribevibes and more recently started up @HomeEdders with the help and support of others from each and every one of the above communities (you know who you are).

When I went through a rough patch, my commitments to these communities were one of the things that kept me on an even keel. Having a constant, when so much was changing and out of my control, helped more than I initially realised. I never expected it, but Steem has had a bigger impact on my life than I'd have ever guessed when I first signed up.

~○♤○~


Posted via Marlians.com
Sort:  

#POSH on Twitter. This old dog learning new tricks! No guarantees I got it right, though. 😕


Posted via Marlians.com

There's probably not too many of us who didn't come for the money!

You start feeling old when you can start counting things in multiple decades don't you XD

And that "come for the ... stay for the community" is becoming a lot of slogans, it's been Drupal's for as long as i can remember (4 versions for me, and replace "money" with "software" XD).

Yay for it having had a good impact :D

I like money...😆

Old age just creeps up on you, doesn't it? I was mortified to realise things happened that long ago and it wasn't before I was born! 😣

LoL! Yep I started feeling it when I could say something happened 20 years ago AND REMEMBER IT x_x

Wouldn't be the same without you :)
Here's to the next two.

(googled 'toast gif'; pretty happy with this one instead.)

That is a very cute toast! 😆

To the next two years!

Saludos. Comento por acá por primera vez. Me llamó la atención su enunciado y luego su publicación. Estoy identificada con su opinión. Estar en esta plataforma es totalmente diferente a lo que pensé al inicio. Y es un verdadero placer conocer a las diferentes comunidades y culturas, intercambiando comentarios. Soy latina, venezolana.

Greetings. I comment here for the first time. I was struck by its statement and then its publication. I am identified with your opinion. Being on this platform is totally different from what I thought at the beginning. And it is a real pleasure to meet the different communities and cultures, exchanging comments. I am Latina, Venezuelan.

It's certainly different from any other platform I've been on, but then I haven't been on many. 😆

Gosh, my life without Mini? Or any of the cool people here? Bereft. Can't wait to meet you one day. xx

I'm afraid I might not live up to expectations if you ever meet me, so please keep them low. 😉😆

Me too haha!!! Xxx

It’s always good to hear where something has helped to improve our lives.
We all go through rough patches but I think sometimes Having Steem becomes somewhat of a buffer, not just financially, but in reaching out like minded individuals. Adelaide Steemians can have very widely differing views on how the world works, but it’s the block-chain that we have in common.

I like supporting local projects, or knowing that some gifted Steem will translate to something physical in the real world and seeing tangible evidence of it.