sorry I did not blog more:

in #steemit-health7 years ago

I wanted to say sorry that I did not blog more while I was away at the Rocky Mountain Ruckus. The internet connection in Denver on my phone was shit, and for some reason, I get no spell check on an already tiny screen space on my phone, so blogging in depth was a challenge. Now I know and next time will have my laptop with me.

18698527_794360410740311_7859394544273289331_n.jpg
(I am the one in the middle)

I am really proud of what the Portland Lumberjacks put together for this tournament. Every team we played has been a club for at least a decade, they have depth, they have subs, they have experience. We have very little of any of that. In fact, by the end of our last game, we had zero subs. as in not a single person, if one of our players had been injured we would have played a man down. Yet there we were fighting it out against a team much better than us, and we stopped them from putting any more points on the board for the entire second half. Battered, bruised, and broken my brothers and I stood shoulder to shoulder and held our line. We left as a rugby team, we came home as a family who happens to play rugby. In other words, we win!

So tonight I am icing my injured knee (yes I played on it through the whole tourney that is what athletic tape and braces are for) and planning my new training program for the BM Ultra. My wife and I have come up with a challenge for the family that will force us to eat healthier and exercise (well at least the wifey and I, the kids get lots of exercise already) more to reach our goals. If the whole family reaches their goals we will take the kids to Universal Studios while we are in California next month. The challenge looks something like this:

I will loose 5% of my weight in the next month IE 10.5 lbs (I packed on some lbs this winter so this is achievable if I stop drinking)
The wifey has a goal challenge as well (you can follow her here for more: https://steemit.com/@letsparksfly)
the daughter has to pull up 2 of her grades to reach her required GPA
the boy has to pull honor roll again
and both of them must keep their rooms and bathroom spotless

if the family can reach our goals... We go, if one of us does not, we don't. The rules also state that we can only use positive words with each other and that the point is to drive each other to be better at the things we are struggling with. I think considering how competitive my little family is, and how driven we are as humans that this will serve as a great way for us all to grow a little bit more.

682811282379734362-account_id=1.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @pdxsparks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!