You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 Round 9 - Public Park Pea Pods

For one little snack, I'm not so concerned. But I absolutely made sure to cook the little flowers and greens. I would not eat them raw from this spot, no way! The Red maple flowers would be OK in a salad, though. I'm glad you know the Shepard's Purse mustard! It's a fun little spicy plant. With cute little hearts, lol! ; )

Sort:  

Yea it is. I was just picking those hearts. One by one :D

You are a patient forager, picking the little Shepard's Purse hearts one by one. I chop up the whole plant, lol. I sirely would have won, if I had those pretty little hearts all lined up in the pea pod! ; )

Hahaha I was also eating them one by one. :p Crazy kid!
I had no idea the whole plant can be picked.

Do you know this plant? (I just found out what is it's real name)

I used to eat it like that too. Pick just those little green things, peel the leafs and eat them one by one. We used to call the little breads or God's breads. They are smaller than a pea...

haha -- You started so early, focusing on the small parts of plants. Just like your Tiny Garden photo series! You were the Tiny Forager, lol.

I use the Malva neglecta plant regularly. I've included them in at least 7 posts here on Steemit, in one form or another -- leaves, a glaze from the little green things, and here's one with those "little breads". You were patient in eating them one by one! ; )

OMG and you didn't even peel them from those tiny green leaves around! I cant really imagine doing that to that pile you had there :D
Being a kid in a countryside was so cool! :D

Yay for the countryside! I checked another post I did, where I used these little seedpods. I did peel every one of them for this Pear Sampler.

Look at that little bowl -- just look at it! And think of all the pods you picked, one by one, lol! I had to take off all the leaves to keep the 'green' flavor out of the thick glaze that they make.

Hahaha That is what I am talking about :D
But they are somehow big, so it is a lot easier and faster :p