Steemit Iron Chef 2018 - Act 1 Round 9 - Public Park Pea Pods

in #steemit-ironchef6 years ago (edited)

Stuck in a big city for meetings. What can I possibly do with a bag of snap peas and a well-used public park? Come into my post to see!

x peas TN.jpg

divider 1.png

I unexpectedly headed out of town for some work meetings.I threw my bag of snap peas, for the Steemit Iron Chef contest, in my travel bag as I headed out the door. Now I'm in a big city. All that's around me is cement, except one public park that gets a lot of use. What in the world can I do?

x peas 3.jpg
That park gets a lot of use! Upper right: Shepard's Purse mustard, growing in dirt that's collected on a beam. Lower left: Red maple flowers. Lower right: English daisies and Narrowleaf plantain. They are stalwart weeds!

In my hotel, I soaked my harvest in a cup of water. I was glad to have a microwave in my room, so I could cook the greens. I wouldn't eat them raw from a place like this, that sees so much use. But brought to a boil, they are safe. I heated my snap peas the same way, but only enough to bring out their color and flavor. They were still crisp. I was

x peas 2.jpg
A cup of plantain leaves, mustard leaves and seedpods, English daisy leaves and flowers, and maple flowers.

I was glad to see pineapple cream cheese during a break at the meeting. I kept some of that to mix with my greens from the park. I mixed the greens and cream cheese, then stuffed my peas.

x peas 1.jpg
Just 4 little bites! But they are good!

x peas TN.jpg
It's not much, but it's more than I thought I would be able to do!


What Do You Think?

  • Have you found any of these wild plants around you?
  • Were you surprised that I found anything to eat in that park?
  • Would you eat my Public Park Pea Pods?

All photos taken with my cell phone


Plant List

  • English daisy - Bellis perennis
  • Narrowleaf plantain - Plantago lanceolatum
  • Red maple - Acer rubrum
  • Shepard's Purse mustard - Capsella bursa-pastoris

Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

You are brave! I would never dare to eat anything from a public park like that (unless I had no other choice).

That little hearts from Shepard's Purse mustard i was picking and eating as a kid :)

For one little snack, I'm not so concerned. But I absolutely made sure to cook the little flowers and greens. I would not eat them raw from this spot, no way! The Red maple flowers would be OK in a salad, though. I'm glad you know the Shepard's Purse mustard! It's a fun little spicy plant. With cute little hearts, lol! ; )

Yea it is. I was just picking those hearts. One by one :D

You are a patient forager, picking the little Shepard's Purse hearts one by one. I chop up the whole plant, lol. I sirely would have won, if I had those pretty little hearts all lined up in the pea pod! ; )

Hahaha I was also eating them one by one. :p Crazy kid!
I had no idea the whole plant can be picked.

Do you know this plant? (I just found out what is it's real name)

I used to eat it like that too. Pick just those little green things, peel the leafs and eat them one by one. We used to call the little breads or God's breads. They are smaller than a pea...

haha -- You started so early, focusing on the small parts of plants. Just like your Tiny Garden photo series! You were the Tiny Forager, lol.

I use the Malva neglecta plant regularly. I've included them in at least 7 posts here on Steemit, in one form or another -- leaves, a glaze from the little green things, and here's one with those "little breads". You were patient in eating them one by one! ; )

OMG and you didn't even peel them from those tiny green leaves around! I cant really imagine doing that to that pile you had there :D
Being a kid in a countryside was so cool! :D

Looks very tasty :)

It was a small snack, but really good! :D

Next time make more :)

I need more than an over-used public park to fill the rest of my pea pods! ; )

You do not stop surprising me with your overflowing creativity, your dish shows it and teaches us what we can find around us to survive without problem in all aspects not only in food.
You are great @haphazard-hstead

Thanks, @gladysstillwagon! It's a fun challenge, looking for my old friends in the plant world, no matter where I travel. They help me feel at home, even when I'm away.

Hold on a second ... you are telling me that maple flowers are edible. That's amazing. I had no idea. We have so many maple trees growing around here. I will have to give them a go. The pods looked amazing. What city were you in?

Yes -- although some kinds of maple tree flowers taste better than others. The red maple flowers get more tannic and astringent pretty quickly, than some of the other maples. But I like using some here and there, especially in a mixed salad. The Bigleaf Maple has big, substantial flowers. I use them a lot when they are in season. I was in Portland, Oregon.

Nice place I hear.

For a big city, it's pretty nice.

neat ...great use of your surrounding limitations !

My surroundings were pretty limited, alright!

You are an incredible man! I am delighted with your ability to find components for your dishes wherever you are)

It's a fun challenge, @yetaras! I was glad to find the park. I wasn't going to eat moss and cigarette butts from the city sidewalks, lol. ; )

I think, not many people know that those things can be eaten. I know you well, so I’m not surprised that you found them in the park. ;D

I like the daisy flower and the maple flower. It’s always good that you add some flowers to your dish…

Regarding the peas, they look like little green salad and I don’t think I can eat them…. Ha ha! ;D

Good luck for the Steemit Iron Chef! ;))))

Those pea pods are sweet and crunchy. I think you might like them. I don't think I'll win this round of the Steemit Iron Chef, but at least I got an entry in. I haven't missed a week in 2017, or so far in 2018. And that's pretty amazing, since you know I am not so consistent in posting like many folks here. I do like adding flowers -- so many flowers are edible and so few people appreciate them.

Um! If you can send me some of those pea pods, I'll love to try them..... ;D

It's great that you participate in the Steemit Iron Chef......that's really interesting contest! I love flowers, in the meantime, I like the way you cook those flowers, too. ;)

haha -- Now I know what green vegetables you would like to try! I think you would like them -- and want more than the 4 little bites! ; )

Ha ha! You're right! But, let's see the result after I have a try.... ;D

So legendary! Can’t believe you managed to rustle that up in your hotel! Big thumbs up to you :-)

Thanks, @foodflaneur! I was tempting fate, for sure. But somehow, everything came together. Without the cream cheese from the meeting mid-morning break, and the hotel microwave, I'm not sure what would have happened, lol.

Hard to believe that in the big city you could even find that much! Dont know if you care for old Merle, but whenever i hear big city I think of this:

I can agree with that first set of sentiments, especially about the dirty old sidewalks! I was getting desperate -- sidewalk moss and cigarette butts do not work - with fresh pea pods, any way. I do like old-style Merle Haggard. Although I am glad for retirement and the so-called social security, lol. ; )

Country music does have some good sentiments. I like the one about "Work your fingers to the bone and what do you get?" Bo-ny fin-gers, bo-ny fin-gers!

I love your ideas! Very inspiring! 😍

It's a fun extra challenge trying to use the wild plants around me for the Steemit Iron Chef. And it's inexpensive, too! ; )

Oh my goodness! You are simply extraordinary my friend! Public park foraging...cooking in the hotel...microwave...carrying your peas during your travel and coming up with such a lovely looking 'snack!' BRAVO!!!
As usual we are all surprised by your wonderful ideas!
Love it! You are such a dedicated special person and already form part of SIC hall of fame!

Thanks, @progressivechef! I was glad there was cream cheese with the bagels in the morning, during the meetings I was at. And the microwave in my hotel. It was leaving a lot to chance, I know! The universe will not let me miss the Steemit Iron Chef round! ; )

These stuffed pea capsules are so cute! You put so much effort into!

I was just glad to get something in on time! I had been in meetings all day, and we had a little break before a group dinner, so I took a walk and found that park.

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.