Sort:  

there are so many reasons that I certainly cannot write them all here. I would say that one big one is that it actually does not solve the issue of bot abuse. People have the right to vote until the 7th day. Changing to 3.5 will allow more time for their posts to be flagged but there simply are not enough people flagging abusive posts for that to matter. Besides voting late is not abusive in and of itself. There are plenty of legitimate people that vote late for very legitimate reasons. The actually issue is held within those that will find a way to scam the system no matter how short the day limit is.

These people, the ones that are actually the problem, can only be rooted out by sharing a blacklist across all bots like we are already doing. This is far less work and much more feasible in the long run.

Also, giving into a thief and a tyrant that comes to this site hurting people and making demands is precisely how the people of the world have given away their freedom time and time again. Allowing a piece of shit to do this to us will open a gateway for even more ridiculous demands from people that simply have a lot of money and like to watch people squirm.

this worthless cat is taking rewards from innocent people then upvoting himself heavily. That is outright stealing and should honestly be punished harshly. This behavior is illegal in every part of the world.

This is a decentralized community and if we plan to keep it that way then we have to stand up to this type of blatant tyranny.

I plan to make a post that covers everything I feel about this situation and I've even started it. I am at a huge event and have barely had time to write replies but I've planned to finish it as soon as I can.

Thank you for the detailed response.

Whilst i understand your view with regards to @grumpycat, and agree that he needs more help with flagging abuse

this worthless cat is taking rewards from innocent people

I feel this would not happen if you changed your policy to 3.5 days.

We have 100s of new users each day, who cannot possibly expect to see the previous warnings issued.

The way to help these innocent people would be to stop them from making a bid which could lead to a flag.

It is for this reason that I asked, and think you (and all other bots out of the 3.5 range) reconsider your policy.

Thanks

Asher

The minute that we allow ourselves to bend our wills to a tyrant like him, we are opening the gateway for others that have a lot of money to come here and make any ridiculous set of demands they wish. Anything.

I have another plan that does not involve giving up anyone's freedom or living in fear.

Ok. I was told the same by another bot owner before they made the change.

I look forward to your alternative plan.

So is it in your view OK for grumpycat to downvote what it considers non valuable content and at the same time reward itself by over $90 by spamming the post with that stupid cat image and a dumb explanation?

No I did not say that.

Please re-read the thread.

I have reread this thread and it seems to me that you and that infernal cat have decided that 3.5 days is the cut off for using the bots?
Who died and made grumpy cat god of steemit?
It downvoted this post which was a celebration of this platform and pocketed over $90 in the process.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@molometer/yay-my-reputation-score-just-hit-60

What is/was a great post about the brilliance of steemit and steemians has left a very bad taste in my mouth.
I'm sorry but you seem like an apologist for it's behaviour.
We already have an excellent team in @steemcleaners who I support. You cannot move the goal posts during a game without a consensus and you have not got that based on the comments in this thread. Minnows are screwed every which way by some whales.
This the first downvote I have ever got on steemit and I am super pissed off..
I've muted that moggy because it is just offensive.
There are plenty of scammers on this site. You know who they are. Delegate some sp to @steemcleaners at least they have some rules.