Sort:  

Out of all the shit on the trending page, somehow this post is problematic...

I hope you're not suggesting that we should hide the ugly side from the potential investors and content creators, take their money and creative work, and let them find out for themselves about the issues this post rises.

Yes that's EXACTLY what I am suggesting. You read my mind completely.

If you want to converse with me in a way that we can both benefit, you are going to have to be a bit more polite.

Point taken.

I'm sorry, but it is unfair to characterize the @alishannoor 's attempt to find a solution to the problem that's dividing this community in a way you did. As far as I know, his intentions are sincere.

Also, we shouldn't shy away from the things that are happening here.

This is much better.

Well my first issue is the fact he has 2 errors in the of the title of the post. This is not a great advert off the bat for anyone looking in here - Outsiders are defaulted to Trending, and will not be aware the the post has been boosted by bids bought by the owner.

Secondly, is the irony in his worry for the reward pool and future of steem/steemit, whilst sending close to 400$ to an array of bid-bots to advertise the post.

If there was genuine concern and understanding of what's happening here, then this is certainly not the right way to go about it.


https://steemit.com/steemit/@abh12345/what-would-steemit-look-like-if-everyone-chose-to-delegate-their-stake-to-a-bid-bot

You're right, it is ironic to use the bots to complain about their effect on the reward pool, but what's the alternative way to fire a shot across the bow on this platform?

And yes, it was a clumsy attempt (2 errors,...), but I don't see any malice in his post, on the contrary.

(edited to match :-)

Sorry, I understood what you meant and then edited the reply, and so your reply doesn't quite match :)

So yeah, if you check my profile over the past month, you'll see my posts regarding the bots and understand where i am coming from.

Edit: And yes, no real malice in the post text - and no real malice in my initial comment :)

Just followed you, I'm interested to see what comes out of this mess.

I see that you are categorically against the upvote bots (removing your vote for a witness from those that had anything to do with them).

While I support you (and other big accounts) in putting the pressure on the bot owners I don't think that the drastic measures will result in the outcome you want.

The bots will just go underground and the rape of the reward pool will continue.

My proposal is to engage with the bot owners and those leasing them SP and find a compromise. For example, all the bots operating within the certain limits will be free to do so. Those who don't will be punished by attacking their user base and thus removing their income.

Make the bots a legit marketing tool on this platform, bring them to light, don't push them underground. If they go there, there's no end to this war that can destroy the whole platform.