My Passion, My Life

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

ACR.jpg

Fishing in the Bearing Sea is beyond amazing. I thought I would share a few video's and let you guys and gal see what my passion is. I love Alaska and I love the hard work. The views are like no others. I sure hope you guys enjoy my little videos. Sorry for the wind sounds but this is a very inexpensive cannon camera. Something that would be o.k. to abuse out at sea. The views are pretty spectacular as well wouldn't you say?

After a big storm rolled in we took a safe harbor spot at Deer Island, Alaska. The waves and wind once they get about 25 feet are just a bit much for our 37 foot Nancy Gayle. So if we have the ability to find a safe harbor from the storm and still be able to fish. Well that is truly a win win situation.

So this was by far one of the most amazing days of the season. We just caught the most fish either myself or the captain had ever caught in 1 set. We had over 1500lbs sitting on deck because we had no more brailer bags!

I love it all. The hard work the exhaustion and the long hours. I have never done any other job in my life where I felt as complete or as whole. And when we are catching guys as amazing as these how could I not.

So the goal is to get it out of the Sea and in to the cannery as quickly as possible. We have a 12 hour window to get our catch off our 37 foot boat onto the 108 foot tender boats. They then get it to the cannery Peter Pan out of Port Moller, Alaska was our cannery. Once it is off loaded the cannery workers grade out catch and then process it and fresh pack it with in hours of it being caught.

So for now I will leave you all wanting a bit more I hope. I can say if you find what you love to do don't let anyone keep you from following your dreams. I will find another boat. I will just keep trying. I am not the biggest, the youngest or the best deck hand ever. But I can say I have the biggest heart, the most drive don't get sea sick and I am eager to learn and grow. I know there is a deck that needs me out there andDay in the life.JPG I want to find a boat that I can continue to become a better deck hand and a better fishermen which in turn makes me a better person on this planet. And with this truth in my heart and my mind: I will continue looking. I just know that I will find another boat. So if you know anyone that needs a deck hand, here I am. Ready to leave tomorrow and ready to learn more types of fishing. I hope you too find your passion. I am the lucky one I did. Now on to the next adventure and on to finding another boat.
IMG_3112.JPG
page divider 1.png

ACRowland UpVote logo.png


Sort:  

Great post. Thank you

I am trying to get a bit better each stab at this whole new steemit world. So thank you for your input

Spread your sunshine.jpg

Wow, this is the great fish.

I have to admit it. I love it. thank you for your kind words

Your life looks amazing. Fishing in the up near the Berring Strait has got to be one of the most difficult lives I can imagine, but I'm a soft city musician. It looks and sounds exciting though!

It is the life for sure. The Bearing Sea can make you realize just how small we really are. And the views just almost beyond words. But thank you for your kind words. What kind of music? and what instrument do you play ?

Mainly singer songwriter stuff. I play guitar, bass, and I sing. I uploaded a few videos recently to Dtube. You can find' em in my blog if you want to check them out!

ok I will hope you have a rocking day.