My journey on Steemit - Part 3 - Creative Process

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Stock_Snap


My creative process

Hello my friends!

For the past two weeks I've had a problem with my creative process: I've had lots of post ideas and I've been careful not to post too much on top of each other. I then decided to make this post by speaking a little of my creative process and how I have many ideas for topics.

The intention here is to help those who sometimes spend hours trying to find a topic to talk about. Also those who already have a topic, but have written 3 paragraphs and it seems that it does not have more to squeeze. Already added that it has no miracle, technique or trick involved, it's all natural!

I've been through these problems several times in my life. Before I took the test to be approved on college I was a lousy writer. Maybe I have to improve a lot to be called a good writer, but I'm much better than I've been before. What helped me improve in this case is somewhat related to the topics below.

What do I write about?

This is for sure the simplest answer here: I write about everything I really like. I am a very thoughtful person about the present world and my life, and it is normal for me to find myself eager to talk about something that I thought might arouse curiosity in my Steemit friends.

I also write a little about my likes and in the future my hobbies will also be contemplated on the topics. Nothing better than sit in the chair and start typing on a subject that I could talk to anyone for hours. Failing to have a person to talk to front to front, I'll tell you about my hobbies!

Finally I talk about my life, my learning and my journey in Steemit (what is the title of this post ?!). I have a normal life, and there is no reason why I should make a mystery of it. The facts that I believe will arouse a sense of similarity or raise a debate, I put here. I just avoid talking about very personal matters and obviously revealing personal information that might bring me some loss.

How do I write posts with 1700+ words?

First let's make one thing very clear. It is better a lean and relevant post than a gigantic post, full of deviations that no one likes. I know Steemit puts a lot of pressure on us to write a lot, but I think common sense is better here. I have read in a place that is considered a good post when it has more than 5000 characters. I think that's a bit of a fallacy, since most long time users posts are not that big.

Okay, I chose my subject and sit in front of my laptop. Now I put my fingers on the keyboard and let them work at will, without feeling or thinking too much about what I'm going to write. I prefer to do this and then come back, read everything and make sure the post is clear and well explained.

If any part is confused, I go there and spend some time improving until it reaches a point that pleases me. This process of writing without thinking too much and then making an attentive review, besides saving me time makes me put things that if I kept thinking too much I would end up not writing.

Do not confuse this with hurry to write. Normally I spend 2h to 3h just typing (not counting the time I spend doing the design later). What I try is not to block my ideas by thinking too much. And in the review I filter everything that should not be there, I eliminate what was confusing and the text is ready to publish.


slightly_different


What if I have nothing in mind or my ideas are not well organized yet?

In that case I do not write. I'm going to talk to my friends on other channels, I'll read posts from people, I'll learn a little more about Steemit, but I do not force myself to post anything just for posting. I value the quality of my posts and I do not see how I could make a good quality post without me having previously reasoned about what I want to write.

Another important point in not to write when I do not have what to write is that I avoid posting spam or putting a half-chewed text that I found on the internet. People here are smart and realize when other people do this and I do not want to be labeled a person who produces bad material or plagiarism.

But does writing just about what I like gives me a public?

The short answer is yes. Clearly I do not post a text and it has dozens of upvotes in minutes, but I believe this is more a matter of my time as a Steemian than about my stuff. I have a notion that I will not be able to please everyone with what I write, so I write to people who will appreciate what I wrote or they will create a knowledge exchange situation with me.

Audience comes with time and the more consistent I am with what I'm posting the better. I say this because in a few months I believe I will have more upvotes and comments from people who have created a taste for my material. I already am so with the posts of some people and the reason is because they are consistent with what they post.

I believe that writing on subjects that do not interest me other than leaving me limited in argumentation, I would not be happy to answer comments or open discussions on the subject. So I can not post anything purely for the benefit of winning two or three more upvotes.

Last words

As much as I want to develop my blog and make some profit from it, I try to write without thinking about profit. It also helps me to be more open minded and free. If I do not touch anyone with what I wrote that way, fine; at least I wrote about something that gave me pleasure to put word for word.

And if it is not to enjoy ourselves and learn, why are we here???


Sort:  

wow man! so clear and mind opening. i'll keep eye on your upcoming posts..

Thank you, man!
I wish you success on Steemit!

Yes you said right and it's worthy to write when you have some content to write, and if someone is posting for just sake of posting then your work will going to remain undervalued, so it's really important to understand the process of knowledge sharing, when you have something to give then give it with full force. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Thank you for your comment!
For me it's way more enjoying to write about something that pleases me than just force the process.

Have a great day and stay blessed you too!

'Force' in my context means when you have complete package of post to share which will provide value to Steemit community and inturn you will get the rewards quickly. 🙂🙂

I meant force like try to do it without inspiration.
Thanks for your reply!

Welcome. 🙂

Writing is a medium of human communication that represents language and emotion with signs and symbols. In most languages, writing is a complement to speech or spoken language.

nice men your writing is very help full for other.... keep writing on...

Thank you for you kind comment, @anasusman!
I will keep doing my best to always bring value to Steemit.