What It Feels Like To Be An ISP From Home

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

If A Picture is Worth A Thousand Words This One Speaks Volumes


As you can tell from the picture, I value my Internet access very much.

What this picture doesn't show is that I was in the middle of an online upload which is why my Upstream is so low. Normally it ranges in the 18Mbps to 20Mbps area, give or take. I'm still debating if I want to snag an Upstream/Downstream connection that is symmetrical. This shall have to suffice until I can find one.

My fellow Steemians, a snapshot prompted me to wonder and ask you this :



-------"How Much Bandwidth Do You Have At Home?"-------


I'm honestly curious, and am in no way trying to brag with this picture. I'm just an inquisitive person and often wonder how other connections in the USA (or even around the globe) add up in the grand scheme of things. Please keep in mind this is absolutely a Residential Home connection and not a Business Class connection. It is strictly copper coax and is not a fiber connection in any way.



Ahh... The good ole' days.


My location is on the Western Coast of the USA in Central California for any of those who were wondering. Please feel free to post screenshots, or even just some numbers and locations below if you are so inclined. It's my hope in doing so, we may better gauge our local ISP's in general. As a footnote to the picture, if you didn't notice I was hitting a server in San Jose for the purposes of this test.