Ideas on Writing a Quality Post on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

I was scrolling through my feed because my baggage was delayed for one whole hour. I came across this post by @intelliguy commenting about the effort placed by @purepinay on her post. As expected, scrolling through the comments section, there are many who commented about how she has a lot of followers and a few whales to upvote her. @intelliguy provides a very good reason as to why effort and hard work should be poured into creating better content or else such money will be gone eventually.

I thought I would provide my thoughts on this, especially after seeing a comment by @uber-dragon, I think many are wondering how is it possible to produce a quality post. While I can't possibly promise that a whale would follow you, I would like to provide a framework as to how you can get started.

Posts Like @purepinay's


Image source

If you have read through @purepinay's post, @purepinay's post is a narrative post. The most important thing about posts such as this is, well great photos. Photos provide the readers with the ability to visualize the entire journey from her point of view. However, you can only go so far with pictures. Thus, you will find her writing or narrating about the journey, pointing out certain features and things of interest.

What sets posts like @purepinay's apart is that it provides a very first person point of view of a travel experience. In other words, how can you engage your readers to travel with you, to see the place through your eyes? This can be achieved by placing a photo of your travel experience above a short narration of that picture. If it was a beautiful waterfall, did you jump into it? Did someone fall in? or perhaps was there a prank that was played?

In summary, if you choose to write travel blogs, take great photos and use them to enhance your narration of the travel experience. The same technique can be used in other posts. A few examples include your wedding, your child's first day at school or even your first day at work. The possibilities are endless!

But I Don't Like Writing Posts Like @purepinay's


Image source

There are so many other types of posts that one can write. Personally, I prefer comparing what I do to something that is related to pop culture. I am teacher and I love comparing some aspects of my work to Star Wars. Here's an example on my daily struggle. Perhaps you are an architect or an engineer, in what way does your work remind you of something funny or ironic?

In writing posts like this, it is important to bring the readers into your world. I started writing about my experience as a teacher because teachers in my country were getting some very bad press. I wanted others to see our daily struggle and problems. I could write it like a travel blog and narrate my day to you, but I'm sure my readers will not find it interesting at all. Thus, I related it to something everyone knows of, that includes star wars, star trek or even a vegetable.

As such, you can try comparing something that you would normally do in your life to something funny or interesting. If you look hard enough, you'll be surprised how much content there is in your job, your family life and many more.

Some Other Ideas...


Image source

You could also consider writing reviews on a particular ICO, cryptocurrency or a product. There are many who do value different thoughts from different people before they invest. All it takes is for you to make the right call more than once and you will an increase of followers. All it takes, is some research and a short 300 word write up on your thoughts with regards to a known cryptocurrency or a new cryptocurrency.

If writing is not your niche and if you are an artist or a chef, consider writing posts on how you came to your incredible masterpiece. Consider adding a bit of your personality in your post. Some flock to Jamie Oliver due to his 'simple' recipes. I beg to differ. Some just prefer Gordon Ramsay due to his entertainment value. He swears in a way that is both terrifying and entertaining at the same time.


Image source

Conclusion

I write this hoping that it will help. I hope this helps in helping you create your very own quality post. Many of these ideas are contextualized from a subject called 'academic writing' which i teach in a university. So feel free to provide your thoughts on the ideas above in the comments below.

Finally, someone once gave me an advice on Steemit which I thought was really useful. You can't control when a whale will spot and upvote you, but you can control how much effort you put into your post. If it is quality posts that attract great curators and whales, why not start there?


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

This article is very helpful, @alvinauh. I am going to post it in the #resources channel in my Discord Server because I think it will be useful to a lot of the members there. Not only do you give a few suggestions on how to select a good topic for writing quality articles, but you include some details as to how to get more from the topic at hand.

Regardless whether a person uses upvote bots or not, a heavy-hitter is not going to cast an upvote on junk (unless some ulterior motive is at play.) It is worth it to spend the time to write a good article. You are building a reputation, after all.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 19 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

She uses a ton of voting bots haha

Yep. I’ve adopted her method. It’s called pulling off a purepinay move. Lol 😂

Your post lagi berkualiti la brother 👍🏻💪🏻

I'm actually surprised she wasn't flagged (by you know who) for putting so much money into bots at a regular basis. There are bigger fishes to look at now (@h____)

Compared to Sir Robs-a-lot, she's not even scratching the surface. And she normally does post like every 3-4 days and she does put in effort into writing so I guess most won't mind.

Thus why I also join in the fray. lol. coz kalau dia boleh... kitorang pun boleh XD

Ahaha.. should've address the bidbot issue. Hmmm.. I would rather powerup than use bidbot. The calculation to get a profitable upvote is complex. There's the time when you place your bid to who else bids.. it reminds me of an add maths question haha

Okay, now i know. Lolx.. Make sense now.😂

Oh? haha.. I hope so, but yes, I have done academic writing before, taught a few semesters at UMS. Let me know if you need anything!

Oh really? Is it open to public too?

Unfortunately its for the undergraduates there... You can direct message me on discord and let me know if you need anything in particular, will try my best to help =)

Quality writing is so important! I always find interesting topics that I can't read because of the low-quality writing. I hope more people will read this and try to improve their work.

Hello @alvinauh

I must commend you for the much effort you put into writing this wonderful recipe and I hope people find it helpful.

To me, the below lines summarize the whole thing...

...If it is quality posts that attract great curators and whales

@eurogee, the founder @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

Thanks heaps! Appreciate you coming by, I think that's one of the most important and comforting thing we have to bear in mind. Sure, we may get that upvote, if we don't we just have to hustle on!

You are very right. My pleasure.

If you write quality posts, with time someone will notice, and not only posts but making quality comments that build on the article really helps, in the past some of my posts have come from comments made on another post, and afew followers from engagements through comments.

With time quality wins and eventually it translates to more $$$.
SteemOn!

That's right! But like cryptocurrency,its the time part that gets to people. We live in a world now where everything moves so fast, most people will find putting time and effort into something to be unthinkable as we are so used to getting things fast. Alas, all we can do is steem on and hustle on!

This certainly help me to further improve my writing. I believe the more we write, the better is our writing. I love to read your post and your style of writing is the type i can relate with. Thank you writing this to help us who are still improving. 😉

Thanks for sharing this @alvinauh. New insight for me to look into. Since you're a teacher, maybe you can do some online course for academic writting. Do tag me if you have in mind. 😊

Good insight @alvinauh. I have one question though, based on @purepinay post I can see she gets a lot of upvotes from bots. Hence, if we produce a good quality is it a better strategy to invest in bots?

Hmm.. as pointed out by @howtostartablog, i think I should've address the bot issue. My take on it is this, after calculating the rewards and used some of the bots, you don't always earn from using the bots. You can get it in the trending page perhaps, but I would prefer powering up instead of buying upvotes.

Quality will always be rewarded, always. We just need to be consistent.
Thank you for sharing this post, I hope people will get the message, stop obsessing with others and concentrate on their own content :)

This was a great post and you have some really good ideas. It is still very important to get the followers in the first place I am growing my followers every day, but I still really am not seeing my posts getting as much love as I would like. I am positive that one day my determination will pay off. I jush hope it is sooner rather than later. Thanks for the helpful info. -@bozz

JA JA JAAA,.! MUY BUENA RELACION SOBRE LA TEMATICA

He swears in a way that is both terrifying and entertaining at the same time.

Love this line!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 54 (2/23/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!