My resignation from Steemit

in #steemit4 years ago

I have resigned as Head of Communications for Steemit. I’m going to take a little time to gather my thoughts and get some rest. Hope we can Steem On.

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Thank you @andrarchy for everything you've done for Steem. You were one of the first connections I made on this chain and you've been one of the most valuable members of the Steemit team.

Hey Andrew! Sorry to hear about this. Must've been a tough call to make.

Thank you for updating us and more importantly for your contribution and all the effort you put in to help steer things around. Much appreciate all your effort brother. We're here for you man.

Probably not too tough of a call given STINCs participation in a hostile takeover of the network today. But it is good to see that the takeover is obviously not supported by @andrarchy or @vandeberg given their resignations.

Now here's to hoping for a more decentralized chain run for and by community that can employee these two individuals in the future to continue their great work.

But can it become more decentralized if witnesses leave? Are we losing decentralized witnesses? In other words, how many witnesses are owned or somewhat connected to Sun, etc?

how many witnesses are owned or somewhat connected to Sun

I believe just 20 (currently the top 20). You can see which witnesses these are by looking at the witnesses @dev365 has voted for at https://steemd.com/@dev365. These sock-puppet witnesses are @car2001, @respect888, @paintingclub, @toke2049, @onestepaday, @bostonawesome, @nicetry001, @waitforyou1, @jumphigh, @flyingfly1, @aheadofslow, @happylife123, @hunger365, @cloudysun, @night11pm, @agirl10000, @coronashallgo, @high46, @eastooowest, @goodguy24

But can it become more decentralized if witnesses leave?

The community-elected witnesses will not leave. Either they will regain control by getting more votes, which has almost happened or there will be a community fork where users decide to adopt a version of the blockchain without Sun and the attackers.

So, in other words, we have seen Steemit staff resign but many or all of the former top 20 witnesses continue(d) to be witnesses, that is their servers are still running. Is there only one official website for voting for witnesses? I've voted before like two years ago. Do I have to vote again? Does my vote expire? Do we have like elections, like terms of like two years or something? I am guessing not. But I could go back and look at my votes. I voted for Jerry. It appears his name was crossed out. So, I probably have a few free votes, assuming I can only vote for like 30 witnesses.

Is there only one official website for voting for witnesses?

No there are many sites, because voting at the end of the day is just a type of transaction on the blockchain. Here are some sites you can use:

Do I have to vote again? Does my vote expire? Do we have like elections, like terms of like two years or something?

Votes do not expire, but you should use more of your votes. There is no downside to voting for multiple witnesses. I'd recommend voting for all of the community witnesses that are close to surpassing the sock-puppet accounts.

Let me know if you have any more questions!

Another option is to vote by proxy to a user like @theycallmedan. See his post at

The benefit of this approach is that you only have to do one action and your votes will update whenever @theycallmedan updates his votes. Hopefully he will keep them updated to which witnesses need them most.

Go vote for the witness from 21 to 41

is there an official website for witness voting?

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for all the work you have done for the Steem blockchain and its community. The last days/weeks must have come with a lot of pressure and I guess a bit of rest is more than welcome.

Hopefully we will be able to meet again. Who knows... at SteemFest 5 if it ever happens?

All the best to you and your lovely wife.

@arcange, I hope the lifetime friends we've all made on this platform can still continue to meet once a year, even if the get-togethers are called by a new name.

You and @vandeberg were the faces that made me believe in Steemit Inc. as not some evil corporation, but as a company that had people who actually cared about what was being built here. Steemit Inc. will not be the same without you and probably won't get much support from the community going forward. You two are going to get lots of love from everyone though. :P

🥺 i didn't expect from you any way you make good for community thank you 😊

Respect man.

What a fucking shit show.

Were you forced to resign or was it your own decision?
I've seen that Vandeberg stepped down too.. Is Justin cleaning house or are you guys just sick of his asshat shit?

Anyways man, thank you for your service to the blockchain.
Best of luck in your future endevours.

It was my own decision

Thanks for the answer captain.

Power to you. Stepping away from this shitshow will likely add years to your life. Good luck to you in whatever you do!

Holy shit. Thank you. For all that you've done and for taking a stance. What a sad day for #Steem. As I said to @vandeberg, I wish I could hire you myself. Please don't be a stranger - and take a good rest. We'll #SteemOn, however that's going to look like from now on.

Damn bro! Thanks for everything you did for the steem blockchain. :(

The reason for the resignation is pretty clear. The Steemit team bought by Tron was not informed about the block chain take over (all top witnesses are installed from Tron with the help of the SP of the bigger exchanges) a few hours ago. So now we know that Steemit didn't know about it or was forced not to communicate that. And it's not a good sign for the announcements planned for the next few days.
What can we do? Everybody who has STEEM on an exchange pull it back on the steem blockchain into YOUR account were you control the secret keys. I'm curious to see what will happen if everybody tries to transfer his/her STEEM. Spoiler: The exchanges have powered them all up. So they can't give them back to you! They make their business with your SP.
! Please take control again about your STEEM, login to your exchange and transfer your STEEM to your steem account.

Have you written any posts talking about this? Excellent advice that I wish more people would consider. But many are a bit too unaware of what exchanges, like centralized banks, do with our dough.

Not yet - but I will do one.

In light of recent events this would be the right choice imo! Rest up, reflect, keep your head up and come back stronger.

Damn man.... you represented what was right to me about steemit leadership. This is a truly sad day for me and so many.
If for gathering those thoughts....if a vacay is in the cards... i got your back... mi casa es su casa...hit me up without hesitation!!

Respect!

I have the greatest respect for you in standing up against tyranny.

Hey Andrew thanks for everything you did! it was a pleasure having you around. I am crossing fingers that you can clear your head and we all can steem on. Yours
Jan

I know you from here, followed and read your posts. I know good things will come out with your decision and good luck to you. We will keep steeming.


Posted via Steeming.com

Shit. I really feel for you as I know how much of your passion and creativity was put into Steemit and what it could potentially achieve.

Hopefully, there's still plenty of room to build on so many of the ideas and visions we've shared over the past 2 and a half years where I've felt I've been lucky to call you a friend in this space, and that we can indeed Steem on further than ever.

Fredrik

Many blessings of peace and rest today. Thank you for your service to the blockchain!

Sorry to hear this @andrarchy. As I told @vandeberg you will always have my support and I am very appreciative of the work you have put in here for the Steem blockchain and community.

Thanks man. Appreciate that

Hi @andrachy

I respect your decision.

Would you consider voting for the witnesses currently outside the top 20?

Thank you for showing your loyalty. These few lines mean so much.

Respect. Way to stick to your guns in the face of what's happening. Never easy to quit.

He Andrew, as all other said, the commission with you. Get some rest but please stay in touch with us all.

🌴

Thank you andrarchy!

Are we seeing steem fall apart right now?

It has been falling apart from the beginning, and especially over the past 18 months, but yes, this is another big plummet for the platform and community.

What a major bummer this is. I always thought that society couldn't uphold a project like this properly without major disturbance of justice, but I wanted it to succeed soo badly.

Yeah, me too. I was so happy it existed and I was able to join in mid 2017. I felt a bit late, but I worked hard and invested everything I had in crypto, because I believed in it and put my money where my mouth was. I begged everybody I knew to get involved. A few did, but none are still around at this point. I feel like an idiot. I rode it alllllll the way down to the bottom. I even called the hostile takeover, more than a year ago. I'm sure I'm not the only one who saw it coming. Yet here I still am, in the ashes, holding the empty bag. I've got nothing but "I told ya so". :(

Oh well, better sooner than later. Hopefully there will be something better.

Maybe not from the beginning, but from 2017 December.
If you take a look at the statistics, it is clear.

Steem is sexy but I hate to watch it leave...

Thank you for everything you've done Andrew. I still remember our conversation on the boat tour during steemfest 1. How young and hopeful we were back then :) I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.. and keep in mind, the bigger journey has just begun, the path just looks a little different now.

You were the first Steemian I met in real life and continue to be the ideal of what this community is and/or should be. Steem on @andrarchy!

Good to see you again Doug. Wish it were under better circumstances 😂

My lovely one, keep the head up!!

Thank God you resigned!

You were not able to articulate a single meaningful thought.
You were not able to generate 1000 YouTube views.
Your message resonated with no one.

The whole Steemit team was so incompetent that you were only able to destroy 95+ % of the marketcap.

If you were a bit less cocky, now each one of you would have a mansion and a Ferrari.

Enjoy as an unemployed person

:D

Good Luck and all the best. Thank you for everything!

Is it really you, or somebody posting with the account?

take a good rest you earned it :) once you gathered your thoughts i hope you can send an application in steempeak.com/me/proposals for getting hired and developing by and for the community

The Steem community stands behind you. TY for your years of service to the Steem blockchain. Long live the king.

RealTalk:
In buseness, employee will resigned not because of his/her job, but because of people!

Wishing you all the best, @andrarchy.

Thank you for your work here. Good luck, and sorry about what happened here

make sure you'll be back.

Wow, now it's your turn. What a coincidence that one of each quit whenever I refresh the page. Who's next?

ps. Thank you and stay blessed!

Probably Eli?

Now we will only see @steemitblog announcements about thriving tron blockchain and how great everything is... Fuck...

You will be missed @andrarchy

I'm sure you all tried to be the voice of reason. Thanks for trying, as well as everything else you did for Steem.

Jesus christ! Another resignation. Thanks for sticking to your word and integrity.

Thanks for the work, see you on the other side, wherever that is. Get some rest, you deserve it!

Thanks for everything you have done - I hope we see you with the Steem community wherever we end up. Steem on (somewhere)

Best of luck man. I know this must have been hell for you guys these past few weeks. Thanks for your effort and hard work.

Thanks for all the efort man!

Wishing you the best.

Thanks Andrew for everything that you have done! Please enjoy your rest.

Holy smokes! Who else is resigning? Watching this thing implode is just the worst. Sorry you're having to resign.

respect, dude

There are 4 pages
Pages