Steemit on Hacker News: I'm Commenting Too Fast!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Steemit was recently featured in Wired, but we're also doing pretty well on Hacker News! Of course, I love Hacker News and was eager to engage with their users (once our amazing dev team had responded to the DDoS attack) and help familiarize them with Steemit. Only one problem:

After 4 comments they stopped me from posting! I've been waiting almost an hour now! This actually highlights one of the reasons that integrating a cryptocurrency into a database is so valuable: it enables you to simultaneously incentivize adding value to the database, incentivize policing the database for low-value content like spam, and algorithmically govern resource consumption. All of these factors combine to enable steemit.com users (and the users of any other platform that leverages the Steem blockchain like busy.org or dtube.video) to post a comment every 20 seconds!

A Common Criticism

Ironically, this is the answer to a common criticism, levied several times in the comments to that Hacker News post, that we simply "bolted on" a cryptocurrency. If anything, the opposite is true. The Steem blockchain was designed first and every component was designed to work synergistically for the sole purpose of creating a scalable and sustainable distributed database capable of storing social content. Content creators have to get rewarded because valuable content is important for creating a valuable database. The economics of Steem have to be sound because no one will create valuable content, leave thoughtful comments, carefully curate content, or run a witness node if the token isn't worth anything. Everything is there for a reason. Nothing is accidental.

This meticulous design enables all of the amazing features we often take for granted, even something as trivial as how often you can leave a comment. I've now drafted this entire post, and still can't post a comment ... and we're undergoing a DDoS attack!

HackerNews Coin?

If Hacker News wanted to improve their user experience and incentivize their participation, they could always integrate Steem or work with us to pioneer a Hacker News Smart Media Token! ;)

P.S. If you'd like to share this on Hacker News, feel free. I still can't :(

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

That tread is infuriating...what a bunch of sourpuss. I have to leave it, it makes my blood pressure go up.

lol

This is funny, coming from you.

It's such an interesting intersection of differing aspects of society. People are used to sharing, discussing, and talking on message boards. And we're used to the monetary economy, and participating with it.. But mixing the two feels pretty weird for a lot of folks... Even when they come pop in on steemit to take a quick look. I've heard people say it feels cultish, and I understand why.

I think it will take some time for the whole space to settle in, and what it ultimately looks like from the outside will have a big effect on what happens with it.

Honestly, steemit kind of creeps me out at times, and I'm actually pretty obsessed with it. I tell everyone about it.

That's a super insightful comment and I largely agree. One of the things that drew me into the platform and eventually lead me to join the team was experiencing for myself how deeply the site and the community impacts you. But as with anything this paradigm-shifting it can often be difficult to parse the features and the bugs. Much of what I view as features can appear to some from the outside as bugs. Thanks for the great comment!

it does takes some shift in perspective. But much like bitcoin, we dont need people who are the incumbent of the current financial system, There are literally at least 1 Billion people with internet but not a bank account, with internet but without a true voice. Steemit, among other platform that models it, will be that voice for them.

Imagine 100 million people with no bank account but does their daily trading with Steem.

We don't need to persuade the "haters", we just need to empower those desparate for a better life for themselves and the people around them.

Steemit says chill.

The more i read the comments, the more i feel the need to puke.

I respect your patience and how you still manage to be so level-headed even at the vilest of them shit-slingers lot.

I say let them swim in their Steemit-hating circle jerks.

You keep being awesome @andrarchy!

Thanks man, I appreciate the support!

SMT's might well prove to be huge. Still trying to wrap my head around the implications.

Where might the price of Steem be a few years from now?

Same here... I keep thinking of new possibilities... if this idea really takes off and runs, and everyone starts to incentivize their platforms, this could be HUGE.

I'm just hoping the SMT's don't become the focus and STEEMit suffer a death blow.
Seeing how the SMT's are based on STEEM only work off the STEEMD blockchain that is a possibility.

They both need each other at the end of the day. I don't think you have anything to worry about.

Hilarious! This is one of so many reasons Steem will breakout from the pack and change the world!

I can't see a case where it does not take over in a couple of years if not sooner.

I hope you are right, ranger.

Can someone please answer me this? ( I have asked it before, but just get airy fairy replies).

If the US government, made owning bitcoin(all crypto), illegal -tomorrow, (like they have already done last century, with gold), and they gave a forced exchange rate to get dollars in return.

What would happen?

Actual, practical mechanics- not airy fairy principles, please.

Thanks

Personally I hold my private keys in a hardware wallet. They at this point would not know I had any BTC. Then perhaps with TOR I could still manage to trade on foreign exchanges. They can attempt to ban BTC but I think it will work out about as well as the ban on Weed.

I hope that is not to airy.

no- thanks - not at all. cheers mate.

We the people make the law, and bitcoin is by-the-people-for-the-people, as is all cryptocurrency which uses code-is-law type enforcement to ensure anonymity, privacy, and security.

We will ignore unjust law, and do what is good and right, according to our own minds and wills. We are free, no matter how brutally and violently other people try to oppress us and attempt to force us to obey.

We are always truly above law, for law is weak and law crumbles to our constant desire for true freedom and liberty.

We the people make the law,

can I come live on your planet please? It sounds much nicer. lol

Anyone with a substantial amount of money in their 'Wallet' should feel like a sitting duck after your comment.

I often ponder what will happen if some midnight-hour law passes, and people's crypto accounts are frozen until further notice.

I don't think they foresaw this 'new' monetary concept blowing up the way it has.

Peace.

Thank you for the good news :) Here's to adding more zeros to that number soon, cheers!

once our amazing dev team had responded to the DDoS attack

I've notice site slowing down and unavailable sometimes. Do you have any news about this?

Very good @pal,, You are worth something in steemit. 👍

Ironically, this is the answer to a common criticism, levied several times in the comments to that Hacker News post, that we simply "bolted on" a cryptocurrency.

Even if that were the case, surely it doesn't really matter which way round Steemit and Steem were conceived...it happened and has potential to be a success right?

Content creators have to get rewarded because valuable content is important for creating a valuable database. The economics of Steem have to be sound because no one will create valuable content, leave thoughtful comments, carefully curate content, or run a witness node if the token isn't worth anything. Everything is there for a reason. Nothing is accidental.

I agree partially to this comment. Users with a strong following are inclined to have their content surfaced quicker and easier, through friendship/follower biased as people buy into personalities perhaps more than the content itself? New authors need to work harder to be respected which I agree with but it also means gold content could potentially be missed due to that factor.

This is the weakest point I've found about Steemit - and potentially the deal breaker for newcomers. It's not a personal gripe, there's also the situation where an author complains their "great content" isn't seen or rated. Maybe they think it's great as it's personal to them, but in reality it's boring or shit for the reader. I've been writing some things on here. They mean something to me. But you guys might think it's a load of bollocks! It's subjective...

It's probably too late to matter, but I posted a link of this into that HackerNews discussion. Here's a screen-shot:

HackerNews1.jpg

WE got seen on Huffington post today as well.
https://steemit.com/news/@libertyranger/steemit-com-gets-featured-in-huffingtonpost-article-today

But they banned me from posting comments on that site a long time ago.
So I could only blog about it over here on STEEMit.

Just my two STEEMS Worth.

😀 They banned you? Funny!

Thanks for sharing the news!

I really appreciate reading this news from you, though I'm new on Steem it is well understood. I look forward to more interesting topics from you.

Thats why i cant open

I have never gotten that message. How many comments did you do in one day??

4? I assume it's because I just created the account. I have a different HN account but wanted to use my Steem account name :).

This happens to me ion Reddit all the time.
I just finally stopped using it. SUX.

hallow i am blueorgu79 .i upvoted you .thank you very much,,nice post..,

I am of course no expert but after understanding SMT a little better I can imagine without much effort Steem taking off to a valuation the dev team never imagined. I was thinking about a website like rotten tomatoes adopting it, it already has a big community and everyone I know loves to be a movie critic... it would be such fertile ground for an SMT... I may be dreaming a bit, but just imagine a few years from now Steem being $30 - $40 ... It doesn't seem impossible, at least not to me... not anymore...

LOL, I wonder if they would be very interested in smt after yesterday's incident.

Nyc post plz upvote and follow me then i also upvote and follow you

Thanks for sharing the news!

Good post! I'm going to follow you to see more post like this and for support us!

Congratulations @andrarchy!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 5 with $ 229,63

Over 400,000 members on Steemit now, I hope they all see your great posts also.

supper post

Thank you very much for your writing, brilliant! I watched your you youtube videos and would like to improve how I use Steemit. If you were new again how would you grow using the future SMT please?

Don't know enough to hack only want to create!

great post dude

On steemit I cant make a lot on comment so I switch to my favorite mobile to write comment. For reading and commenting eSteem is a perfect to, i comes handy and mobile.

Did you sort this out eventually? Annoying that they tried to silence you!

Follow my account! and vote plsss!

I would like to see Hacker News @andrarchy to use the STEEM technology which is incentivizing both the authors and their audiences like here at steemit.

HackerNews Coin ... say HNC will be cool

Thank you for your letter. It was an article that informed. I always want to see and follow you like this. I like this story which is my best expression. fantastic!

Like

image

thanks your

As a cybersecurity consultant myself familair with Hacker News and Wired, I just happened to stumble upon this, nice post!

Hard to imagine where this could go. I appreciate what you are saying here and am resteeming your post so others will read. 🐓🐓

I stumbled on this article and i read many comments. I really agree here

The economics of Steem have to be sound because no one will create valuable content, leave thoughtful comments, carefully curate content, or run a witness node if the token isn't worth anything. Everything is there for a reason. Nothing is accidental.
I've been on a few pay-to-post sites and this one without ads rocks the house in every imaginable aspect. I came hoping to sell words for pennies and what I found is one of the most amazing ecosystems online and i feel I fit in
Nice article.

I learn something new every day on Steemit. Thanks @andrarchy!

Brilliant idea of team work. Is a bit like....how do you get rid of enemies ? you make them your friends/s. Best wishes! - @splendorhub

Hi guys
You are doing an amazing job.

Congratulations @andrarchy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

what is a DDoS attack

Nice work

I m new in Steemit Family So plz help me to earn and i will be with u every time

Simply upvote and FOLLOW @atikulislam

I do the same

Great post @andrarchy
Very valuable read...sorry about your comment issues but recently too we experience a lot of complaints in missing post... I did update on same topic...check it out...more so have you tried comment via chainbb like am doing with it now...or busy / eSteem ? My humble thoughts... After the next hardfork...and SMT... Am sure steem price will go to the moon.. don't you think we need extra log in security like 2FA / Google authenticator...
Thanks once more..

Dear @andrarchy

Apologies for the off topic blog intrusion (I did try to find an SF2 related post first)

I recently published a blog listing and inviting Steemfest attendees to add a short 'brief' about themselves and a link to a blog (intro or Steemfest related). The goal is to gather a list of 'normal' attendees to potentially provide some connectivity/background before the event.

The blog has had nice feedback from the likes of @timcliff and @lukestokes and I would really appreciate if you could drop me a message (here or in the blog) with any details as per the above.

Thanks very much, and I shall see you at the Festival!

Asher

There are 2 pages
Pages