You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit on Hacker News: I'm Commenting Too Fast!

in #steemit7 years ago

It's such an interesting intersection of differing aspects of society. People are used to sharing, discussing, and talking on message boards. And we're used to the monetary economy, and participating with it.. But mixing the two feels pretty weird for a lot of folks... Even when they come pop in on steemit to take a quick look. I've heard people say it feels cultish, and I understand why.

I think it will take some time for the whole space to settle in, and what it ultimately looks like from the outside will have a big effect on what happens with it.

Honestly, steemit kind of creeps me out at times, and I'm actually pretty obsessed with it. I tell everyone about it.

Sort:  

That's a super insightful comment and I largely agree. One of the things that drew me into the platform and eventually lead me to join the team was experiencing for myself how deeply the site and the community impacts you. But as with anything this paradigm-shifting it can often be difficult to parse the features and the bugs. Much of what I view as features can appear to some from the outside as bugs. Thanks for the great comment!

it does takes some shift in perspective. But much like bitcoin, we dont need people who are the incumbent of the current financial system, There are literally at least 1 Billion people with internet but not a bank account, with internet but without a true voice. Steemit, among other platform that models it, will be that voice for them.

Imagine 100 million people with no bank account but does their daily trading with Steem.

We don't need to persuade the "haters", we just need to empower those desparate for a better life for themselves and the people around them.