D'oh! The Devaluation of Humanity Based on Geographical Origin

in #steemit8 years ago

An American perspective: 1863 marked the end of our worries. Right? 

Our blindness doesn’t erase the issue, we have to see beyond our borders. 

Slavery has not been vanquished yet.  

The brands are easy to blame for their labor choice. 

But it’s simple economics; they go with the cheapest option. 

Those whose labor’s exploited were pimped by their own people.

Don’t ask who is responsible, ask who can do something. 

The corporations will end the problem if we provide the motivation.  

As a person, put people first. Let’s end labor exploitation. 

---

Everything after the title image was designed as a visual abstract for my research paper for my Focused Inquiry (development of critical thinking and writing) class. If you enjoyed it, I invite you to check out my other blogs.


As always, I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below~

Sort:  

So what do you think we should do next? I mean, how can we fight it?

I discuss this in the paper of course, but seeing as I'm not sure I'll be putting the paper on here, the main things I talk about are codes of working conditions and corporate social responsibility. My paper is particular is more of an appeal to corporations to rethink their supply chain to improve conditions for those who are exploited, rather than a step by step process. I'll probably follow to the step-by-step in the next couple years. Back to the question, though, it's not exactly a consumer driven change. Sure, you can do research on the better companies, but it's more on the corporate side of things that need change. Does this answer your question? Thanks for the response :)

This sounds so much like my faculty courses. I kind of miss them. I think the consumers can change by boycotting one by one the companies responsible. They would have to change. Their success is dependent of the consumer's opinion. But humans are easily influenced so maybe this change can come after the opinion leaders act to influence the mass to change. Well, this is my thought about it.

The problem is that it's so common and widespread it would be ineffective to target companies one by one, as well as the fact that many consumers don't care or don't have the money to care, they're going to go with the cheapest option. I appreciate where you're coming from, but I don't think companies or consumers will change unless they're offered more incentive than 'doing the right thing'.