Favorite Quote? Come Share and Find Some New Favorites!

in #steemit8 years ago

Quotes can be one of the most impactful forms of communication

- especially when they go viral through social media or other means. The news, especially, is always taking quotations and analyzing them, sometimes out of context, which can present them in an entirely different light. So it's not surprising when hearing that most people have a quote or group of quotes which they often keep in mind as guidelines for life. As for my favorite?


"Don't cling to a mistake just because you spent a lot of time making it." - Unknown


I used to spend a lot of time interested in quotes and reading different historical ones, but as I've grown older I've lost interest. However, when this one popped up on my Facebook feed, I found it really interesting, primarily because I thought it fit my life so well, as I try to live without regrets and move forward as best I can.

Well, there you have it. That’s my favorite, how about yours? I’d love to hear your thoughts as well as any favorite poems you might have in the comments below! 

Sort:  

The capacity to learn is a gift;
The ability to learn is a skill;
The willingness to learn is a choice.

It's from the Dune prequel series by Anderson and Herbert. What's most striking to me is that it puts learning into perspective. Nobody is ever deprived of learning. Every small thing or experience is a means to learn. It's just that, the question lies in your willingness. The quote can be applied to other stuff as well. That's been a mantra of mine ever since I was in high school.

That's a very useful concept, treating every experience as a learning experience. Thanks for sharing!

Yeah, man! I really appreciate posts like these. It promotes interaction. I really hope this gets traction.

I don't expect it to, I had another one previously for favorite poems that also got essentially no views. It's more to give me a break from my longer content.

Life's simple, you make choices and never look back. - Han, The Fast & The Furious: Tokyo Drift

I like this, I think it's in the similar mindset as mine. Thanks for the feedback!

Thanks! I actually had this Tattoo'd to my back..

That which has a name is not the way.
Tao Te Ching

I've also seen this as "The Tao that can be told is not the eternal Tao"

Hm, something to reflect on. Thanks for sharing!

If I can remember some of my favorite quotes I'll try to post them here, but thanks for sharing yours and getting others to share! :)

Glad you enjoyed it!

Prego! In case you don't know Italian, that means You're Welcome!