Here's Why You Should Be Afraid

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

“Here’s why you should be afraid, and here’s why you should trust me.” 

This is a quote from a Focused Inquiry (critical thinking and writing development) Professor of mine summing up the rhetoric used by politicians. The following is my response, dated 2015-11-11. I welcome any feedback and discussion.

-

Here’s why you should be afraid: 

Politics is so misguided from the real issues, and instead places the focus on hot topics of the hour, often the most controversial. Should abortion be legal? How should we respond to foreign threats? How should guns be controlled, if at all? While these topics are of some level of importance, why are they at the forefront? Why do we choose to focus on whether abortion is legal over matters such as well-being of the general populace? Why do we focus on whether or not daily fantasy sports is gambling when there are still homeless people? We should be afraid of what the politicians aren’t talking about, contrary to what they would have us believe. 


Here’s why you should trust me: 

Politicians love their credentials. Oh, I was part of this committee that did these great things for this length of time. Look at all my endorsements. Clearly if these fantastic people (which you may not have even heard of) believe in me, you should too. Aren’t I great? Yeahhhhh, I am. Hey, by the way, you should vote for me. I’m a regular guy just like you. I’ll see you at the polls, friend. (I don’t care about you. I just want your vote, so I can look out for my own interests. Is that your baby? Let me kiss it.) 


Can we talk about how much politicians lie in debates? People tune in for these nationally broadcasted events so that they can be lied to. When consulting a fact checker after a debate, it’s amazing how much the politicians get away with. Here’s why you shouldn’t trust them. 

Democracy is a façade. They have you right where they want you. Here’s why you should be afraid.  

Sort:  

Nice start to your Steem career, keep it up :-)

Cg

This is so to the point and well thought out. I love the blunt nature of your article. Keep it up

Blunt is my specialty :) Unfortunate this article won't get more input though