The Mind of a Writer - A Collection of Excerpts

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

The mind of a writer can be a complex place, with all its ideas interweaving and overlapping. Writing can help unravel these complexities, but what happens when you take the unraveled threads and make a new knot out of them?

()

I thought it would be interesting to go through some of my pieces and collect a few of my favorite lines, placing them together and organizing them into their own (in)coherent piece. It's a fun project, and it's worth trying if you have writings of your own to draw from.

As always, let me know your thoughts below, and I'd love to see your own version!

-

()

Thoughts from the L Train

Rambling is just the rustling of the leaves rather than their exploration.

Welcome to Earth, we're all a little fucked up.

Do we belong?

There will always be someone starving. While it needs to be eased in, population controls would be a smart idea, to preserve the earth’s future.

Privilege is everything. Talents are thrown to the wind, as those with assets are given favorable treatment over those who had the unlucky straw in their birth advantage. White, male, in a relatively crime free area in the United States. The way I see it, if I become wealthy in my lifetime, it's more so out of narcissism.

There is such a cultural picture of college as the best years of one’s life. Will you never be as happy as college you?

What is an identity? Is it actually possible to have a sense of identity?

Who wins in an arms race? The motivation in an arms race is to gain an advantage over “the enemy” (the enemy being a ridiculous concept, by the way).

Atheists are religious in their own right. It's all about belief. There is something central in a human being about the need to believe in something. And when their nonbelief outweighs their beliefs, they probably kill themselves.

WHY?

Death is limiting, and absolute.


-


I hope you enjoy this post, and invite you to check out my other content. I post often if not daily or semi-daily. And again, I'd love to see your own version in the comments below. Thanks~

Sort:  

While reading this I thought of some the ideas that come from depths of myself at some point I will do the story good and bad.
Cheers

I'll be glad to take a look at yours! You may want to make it its own blog, but feel free to link here in it. Once you post it, definitely reply here so I know to take a look :)

I can vaguely relate to each and every one of those blurbs. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for reading!