Did you notice today Steemit Family that your blog posts are NOT AUTO UPVOTED BY YOURSELF any longer? I bet some of you did not notice this change in code today!!

in #steemit7 years ago


Normally when you write and post a blog, the default setting is to the checkbox here where my cursor is, in the image below, being checked where you write and format your post-- so you automatically UV (upvote) your own post.



As you can see, it is the little checkbox that says Upvote Post right below where you have the REWARDS option drop down box. It is either a glitch, in the code, or the code has been changed -- so please pay attention to this.

I've been on here 11 months and I have about 800 blog posts up and it has always been auto-checked to auto upvote my post when I publish a post.

I'm not sure why it has become unchecked now, but the norm is to UV your post when you publish. For people with a little more (or a lot more) SP (Steem Power) -- this is a significant change and makes a big difference.

All my posts y-day were fine, so overnight, something changed last nite or very early today in my EST zone, anyways.



Figured this is important for new and older Steemians alike!!!



Good night my friends, I will check in with you tomorrow!!


Thanks for reading, have a nice day.








If you liked this blog post - please Resteem it and share good content with others!


Some of my recent blogs:

--

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/activist-post-series-or-e-5-or-gathering-nearly-1000-petitions-signed-that-landed-on-the-prime-minister-of-canada-s-desk-to

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/telling-fascistbook-off-on-your-page-saying-they-should-get-on-steemit-lol-captured-on-the-blockchain-and-the-twitter

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@barrydutton/crypto-101-or-video-just-released-andreas-antonopoulous-bitcoin-q-and-a-unstoppable-code-9-mins-super-practical-resource-here

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/dash-smash-dash-just-hits-a-new-ath-of-usd211-usd-up-another-15-today

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/hey-steemit-family-what-was-your-1st-blog-post-you-authored-on-here-and-why-or-e-3-or-post-it-or-community-engagement-series

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/the-steemu-asks-what-are-you-blogging-about-today-or-e-5-or-drop-your-links-and-ideas-here-like-mad-pictures-thoughts-ideas-etc

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@barrydutton/what-are-you-trading-today-and-why-or-e-37-of-a-community-based-engagement-resource-for-everyone-july-4th-2017-basic-market

https://steemit.com/life/@barrydutton/visiting-my-friend-s-cockatoo-for-the-first-time-birds-either-love-you-or-hate-you-right-away-this-was-entertaining-so-here-s


If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

PIVX - DA3azxQqJiX9t7EviuacpamfNhMi2zGAUh

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL

Sort:  

Nice catch! It still seems like the rewards are to high too. I expected more of a drop by now.

These are the normal rewards by now, definitely. Steem has been sitting between $1.60 and $1.80 for the last week and the rewards pool got pretty heavily drained after HF19... so the fact that rewards still look good is a GREAT sign for steem.

HI, Barry! Here's what happened, from this post by @personz: Self-Voting Will Now Not Be Default Steemit Behavior. That was a quick change, because the request for it was made just a couple days ago. There's been so much talk about self-upvoting because some folks have been self-upvoting their comments so heavily. Supposedly, from the comments in that post, it will help the minnows the most. Have a great weekend!

UV that comment too LOL!!!

TY for taking time to drop that info here my friend, honestly appreciated.

I don't post that often but I noticed that tonight...I just thought
"Oh great! Now I don't even like my own posts" LOL

Hmm, I just clicked on the submit a story button and everything looks normal to me.

I noticed that today, but did you also notice that feed & reply notifications aren't working, or is that just me?

same for me with the notifications!

Hi Guys

I checked and mine is still automatically ticked when I go to the "submit a story" page.
I did notice a while back then when you switch the option off it remembers the next time when you create a new story that it remembers your previous setting.

Not sure if it's just a glitch, but try switching it back on and see on that post or the one after if it stays on for you. I mostly use steemit on the same machine, not sure if the settings is saved locally on the same machine and if it keeps settings if you use steemit on another machine. Also Can't remember if mine went off during the week and that I might have switched if back on again without noticing, but it stays on now.

Hope it helps.

Thanks so much for the update. I actually just noticed this myself early when I posted. I think a change like this might very slightly reduce how many people self upvote their blog posts.

I totally agree with you on this! This could reduce the loss of value on posts I have been seeing recently.

Yes! the first post i made today It didn't upvote my post automatically, i think they do this on purpose to they can save more steem

Thanks for the heads up. I posted some pics tonight but did not notice whether it upvoted. I will check that.

I did notice. My finger is getting sore.

Yeah, I just noticed this as I went to post. Good looking out my friend!

Has any one notice that no notification shows in Steemit . I don't know but I From tomorrow I didn't received any notification for any reply.

Is this 💯true?! I didn't notice and need to do some research! Thanks for the lead!

Thanks for the heads up I will make sure to watch. Resteeming.

I was supposed to be in bed, but I caught this in the last 30 mins when I put up my last post of the day - the Steemit meme I did and wanted to make people aware of this.

Nite everyone!!!

Yep I noticed that when I posted and no auto upvote! I also was having issues with connecting to Steemit the past few days as well. Along with, no longer getting the little red numbers showing up in the right corner over my icon for new blogs in my feed, comments, and other things. No clue what is going on here.

I did notice that and it was very annoying indeed. I think it's probably so you didn't vote away your steem power by default if you post a ton of content.

Also that's way too many donation wallets man. Keep it streamlined, lol

Wow, That is great news, also needs to ban the self voting after comments or posts, that will be great for the community, I am going to re-steem it. Thanks !

Change your habit, upvote yourself first. Lol

That's weird. All 4 of my posts today were auto upvoted.

Thanks for the update. I appreciate it.

Oh snap I thought that was just me because of the delegated SP I got yesterday. Turns out everyone else saw the same "glitch" when trying to create their blog posts. I might just leave it this way and choose to upvote my posts when I have enough voting power! Thanks for the heads up @barrydutton!

I noticed a lot of 0-0 post today but haven't paid attention to my own...usually don't.

I notice to I thought I was tripping

Read quite a few posts about how self-voting hurts the community recently so most likely someone with the power agrees with that and made the changes. It probably doesn't mean as much to dolphins and whales but for the struggling minnow, that self-vote could be the only vote the post gets.

I can see that happening too.

Hi Steemian, yes it is a good thing i was wondering as a new user why every time i wrote something the program up vote me and was thinking this is not the way it should be . Other to up vote is the way but our self is kind of sucks i suppose. Have a good day all

That's good to know. I didn't see it. My little 1 cent upvote don't meant much but its still good to know.

I just created a post using eSteem and it did auto-upvote the post. But, I did not see my own post in my feed.

what is esteem?

It's a fantastic mobile app that @good-karma developed. Works on Android and iPhone.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@good-karma/what-is-steem-mobile-esteem

I noticed; and thought perhaps my steem power was just down

Thanks for sharing this information.

I actually started noticing this yesterday on some post and new released ones. May be a good thing may be bad hmm.

yups i noticed on the first shot.... :)

I changed the option once to not-vote after reading an article about it being better for the community if you use your votes on others, and ever since then it hasn't automatically re-checked itself, which I think is a good thing when I didn't notice an actual setting to decide what my default is for that. I'd like to think if I chose to upvote my own post (before posting) that it would keep the box checked on my next posts until I decide not to again.

No idea why it would suddenly stop being checked for you though, I just know how mine stopped being checked

Thanks for posting this! I actually noticed it when I posted my last blog. I thought it was something I had done on my end! I checked my VP and was good to go there so I was pretty confused (being new) this post helps reassure me that others are having the same thing happen! I'm curious to see what comes of it!

They prob dont want you to waste off the bat, cause it seems to be alot more valuable these days.

Have a nice weekend my man. Always love hearing from you dude.

#SteemitCampfire post has been up a couple hours, drop by anytime / use the # for easy find.

"but the norm is to UV your post when you publish" is it? I had it on when I joined Steemit, but after the SH19 I turned it off to save the little votes I have.
Maybe I should put it back on and upvote myself :p

That is a little step but for sure in HF20 we will see some improvements in this area in order to limit self voting.


Nice to hear from you my friend!!!