You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Unhappiness with Upvote Bots on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

You summed up the situation perfectly.

Thank you!

Maybe there could also be some fine tuning done in the algorithm of which posts are showing on 'trendind' and 'hot', like taking into an account the amount of upvoters so that a single upvote from a whale/minnowbooster/other bot wouldn't hold as much value with a big $ value as it currently has. Though that would increase the value of minnowsupport, I don't know it it's good or but.

I believe the algorithm needs to be fine-tuned as an on-going process, much like how google's search algorithm is forever going through an on-going refinement process as well.

I agree with your point that it would help if the value of Upvote Services upvotes to have a lessened effect on the search algorithm would be beneficial to how the content is sorted in feeds.

My proposal, in theory, would lessen the use of Upvote Services as long as it serves the actual utility that many sincere authors are actually looking to pay for. The tipping point is quite good from Upvote Services to Promotion platform as a secondary fact would be where the funds people spend on promoting their content goes.

If you use Upvote Services, it comes out of the rewards pool. If you use the promotion platform, it helps Steemit as whole.

Do keep your suggestions coming if you have any as I will definitely be writing a 1.1 of the proposal and will add in suggestions of which I will credit you with as well!

Sort:  

Cool! I'll keep you updated if I come up with further ideas.

Great! Thank you very much! I really appreciate you engaging with my content so often!

No problem. I also took a look on you're older posts, like those on "Human Optimization", you have written some good stuff!

Thank you very much! I'm very glad that someone is still reading some of my older stuff! My one pet peeve about Steemit is how easily quality content gets lost after it's initial exposure.. I've been on a crazy ride in life, and what makes it worth writing about is bouncing back from being a complete degenerate and how I managed to do so.