Sort:  

After 4 upvotes yes, a whale bot came and downvoted me hiding my post, because they didn't like what I posted. If that's not censorship and abuse of power, than I don't know what is.

It's steemit.com's policy to hide your post, right? Which sucks. I used to think that voting down (to take away voting power) was more of a form of censorship, until I realized that it draws from their voting power. Regardless, VALUE (money) is the ultimate form of censorship...so it is still, functionally, censorship.

...especially censorship when someone holding lots of money can potentially silence 10,000 people.

It is not their policy actually. There are no rules stating your post will be hidden if you post X or Y. There are bots designed to do that, but they were created by users, just like you and I. But the point you made rings true, money censors what it wishes.

...if their webapp decides to hide a post when the blockchain clearly displays it, then that's as good as saying that it is the app developer's (steemit.com's) intention. It's safe to say that when their "unspoken policy" changes on this subject, they will not hide the posts just because a whale downvoted it--they have the freedom to show it, and it takes more effort from the web development team to hide the post. Once you realize this, you'll see that it is steemit.com's doing. Websites do not have to make their code hide blockchain items...

make sense?

other than that, there are no rules about hiding. I get that. The rules about "hiding" are in steemit.com's web code.