Getting message "Bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact or power up"?

in #steemit7 years ago

For some time now I've effectively been unable to use my steemit account. I kept getting the error message: "Bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact or power up". I would wait for a few days and try again.

I just recently found out this can happen if you've completely powered down. I was able to 'unlock' my account by buying a small amount of Steem power on steemit.com using Ethereum.

Just wanted to share this in case anyone else was experiencing this as well. Cheers.
images.png

Sort:  

This isn't about whales, it's more about just a glitch in the site or going too fast with certain features

Hi, read through the comments. If you haven't read these two articles yet then they should help you at least understand what is happening.

Why Are So Many Users Hitting Their Bandwidth Limit? Solved It! What You Can Do.

The Bandwidth Game - Join Now - Win 20,000 CRR!

Thanks, upvote article.

Thank you for helping me @sadikbattaloglu

Happened to me too! I don't get it why because it says my account is worth about $7.

Also

just the fact that you need to have STEEM for bandwidth is going to be a turn off for most people. Any currently successful social network does not charge it's users to post. Although I understand where steemit is coming from, the mass majority won't! They want everything free free free.

And even more soo...

Whales having the ability to censor community members at will is not a good look at all!. No matter how you look at it. This needs to be address asap!

You don't need to pay to post, it's just a glitch.

ok then ow do I fix it because it is holding my post hostage

You forget that who posts or write articles FOR steem work for free free free. Without people posting there is no steem. This crap just happened to me! A big turn off. I will stop using the platform for a month now. If i get able to use it in a month great if not there is Minds.com which never did this to me

Why does it happen everyday?

Odd. I just bought $100 of steem last night and powered up... and now this morning I get bandwidth error? I wasnt even active overnight lol. When did I lose this bandwidth that I didnt even know I had? Shouldnt I have tons of it since I just bought a bunch of steem ans converted to Steem power about 12 hours ago?

Happens too when you piss off a whale, somehow they have the power to mess with your accounts. Going through it right now.

How can they do that to you?

I never did that. Any other reason(s) for this error?

Edit: Yes, there is. When the price of Steem goes down, they reduce the bandwidth.

Who is they?

Steemit's technical crew, I suppose.

I just had the same problem. Powered up 0.333 STEEM and it let me post. Pretty strange, how does vesting thirty three cents give it all that extra bandwidth to upload my content? Well, that and I think my posts are pissing off some of the Whales (and hopefully getting the attention of others - not for 'attention-whoring' or hopes of upvotes, just because I believe in it and think they should get the most attention as they can get [not the artsy-fartsy stuff either]).
What used to be my penny upvote is now not even showing a value if upvoting something. Something smells funny, hope it's only temporary.
:}~
I Do Things For The LULZ.

@enginewitty How can you say that whales can manipulate your account, only option comes to my mind is flag down.

After 4 upvotes yes, a whale bot came and downvoted me hiding my post, because they didn't like what I posted. If that's not censorship and abuse of power, than I don't know what is.

It's steemit.com's policy to hide your post, right? Which sucks. I used to think that voting down (to take away voting power) was more of a form of censorship, until I realized that it draws from their voting power. Regardless, VALUE (money) is the ultimate form of censorship...so it is still, functionally, censorship.

...especially censorship when someone holding lots of money can potentially silence 10,000 people.

It is not their policy actually. There are no rules stating your post will be hidden if you post X or Y. There are bots designed to do that, but they were created by users, just like you and I. But the point you made rings true, money censors what it wishes.

...if their webapp decides to hide a post when the blockchain clearly displays it, then that's as good as saying that it is the app developer's (steemit.com's) intention. It's safe to say that when their "unspoken policy" changes on this subject, they will not hide the posts just because a whale downvoted it--they have the freedom to show it, and it takes more effort from the web development team to hide the post. Once you realize this, you'll see that it is steemit.com's doing. Websites do not have to make their code hide blockchain items...

make sense?

other than that, there are no rules about hiding. I get that. The rules about "hiding" are in steemit.com's web code.

omg i was bout to post and that error appeared...googled..and now am here...so I guess i will have power up a few (my first time so hope everything goes fine)...i never pissed no one, always minding my own :((

Lol good on ya.

lol this is funny ...as I went to my wallet i had some SP rewards 0.002 waiting for me to redeem so after that I tried to post again just in case it goes and... voila, just got posted!!!..ha ha...funny thing is the post i did is about tips for upvoting and gaining steem power..lol

See I had like .02 something for SP and SBD waiting when it happened to me, made no sense. Another ironic post that magically got you blocked lol

lol i was wrong about 0.002 the reward was actually 0.183 for SP LOL but here the ridiculous now: i knew 0.002 was wrong so I went to check my balance after reading ur last reply just to get things squared and here it was "0.002" lol
![ridic.jpg]
()ridic2.jpg

Craziness man.

This just happen to me powered up .5 and all fine..

This just happened to me as well and I haven't done anything in 3 days.... I don't think anyone has down voted anything. I'm a really small account :/ It won't even let me reply to a comment on one of my posts

Apparently the threshold for the bandwidth has been reduced to prevent automated spam postings. So you need to watch your bandwidth when posting. Once you are below the threshold you need to wait until it regenerates.

To check just go to
https://steemd.com/@username

and look for Bandwidth remaining that gives you an idea how much you have left. I hope this helps

Yes, this was helpful 👌 . Thanks @coupeborgward! 👍


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

If it was helpful and upvote would be nice :)

Sure. But I have very much depleted my voting power ☹️. Therefore, restraining from voting today. I want it back to be over 80% soon. But since you asked, I'm doing it here anyway. 🙂
Hope it helps. 👍


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Interesting so I need to stop voting till I get more power. Who created this comvoluted mess? .....

you beat me to commenting this

I got that message earlier today a few hours ago. I had powered up my steam power several hours earlier and then just before I had made 5 or 6 attempts to upload a fairly small video onto DTube and it just kept crashing giving me an error message. So I closed all browsers and ran a scan on both ASC (Advanced System Care) and SuperAntiSpyware. Both found tons of junk to clean out of the system. Then everything went fine after that. I hope that helps others who may have the same issue.

I've noticed it's just a bug, if u wait 5 min it should go away

Yep. Just happened to me and I waited a few minutes and then I could post again.

I would like to know what the truth of this is.

I received the same message and am unable to post. It also happens to be a fact that I have been in disagreement with some in the community about these new bots many are trying to implement to flag users.

I have always been very polite so it is difficult for them to flag me without making themselves look bad.

Just wondering if this is another way of dealing with people like me, or if it is really just some technical issue.

Some real source of information would be appreciated.

Thanks i didn't about this

I had the same problem, tonight, but actually its not logical right now cuz I haven't posted for a complete day..
so even a certain amount of bandwith shouldn't be exceeded...

I could not access my account to transfer funds for 6 months. I did not know what to do. I try this method and worked. just buy about 10 dollars of steem dollars and send it to your steemit account. Thanks for this important info.

this is such an insult to new comers.......

was it maybe at saterday or sunday!?
Just a idea... because I have the same problem and it's saterday...

Thank you for helping me :) @sadikbattaloglu

Well this,"bandwidth limit exceeded. Please wait to transact or power up STEEM." This must still be happening apparently because it is also happening to me right now. What do I do to get over this Hump?