How to Achieve ANYTHING!

in #steemit6 years ago

Achieving anything by creating the right environment in your mind

I get asked quite often how I am able to have the discipline and willpower to maintain a healthy lifestyle.

We understand that in order to achieve our goals, we must train ourselves to be more disciplined and have better willpower. However, there is something that we must address on a much deeper level in order to level up these two.

What must we address? 

True discipline and willpower are only byproducts of what is stored in our subconscious mind.

Let's say I am trying to lose 40lbs because I'm tired of being overweight .I begin by practicing willpower and discipline by setting up and consistently following a strict program.

Since I know the best way to succeed is to repetitively remind myself why I don't want to be overweight, I do exactly that.

What's going to happen?

I will eventually sabotage what I have been working on.

This is because I've trained my subconscious mind to focus on NOT wanting to be overweight and so it will reinforce exactly that.

Instead of training my subconscious to focus on what I don't want, I must focus on what I DO want. This is why changing the surface stuff (discipline and willpower) can only work temporarily.

By focusing on the states and results I would like to achieve, the subconscious will do everything it can in order for you to achieve exactly those.

If we are able to change our dominant thoughts and perspective, we change our reality. We no longer need to focus on training our skills to achieve something. The subconscious will take care of that.

We just treated the issue rather than the symptom (lack of discipline and willpower).

Don't focus on not wanting to be this thing, focus on wanting the other thing.

"Whether you think you can or think you can't, you're right."

- Henry Ford