How to truly measure success on SteemIt

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

In this extensive guide you will learn how to look at success differently and get a much better idea of how to measure and achieve it. We will start with how to measure success on SteemIt:

1. Followers

You can describe success on SteemIt in one word: followers. There is nothing more important than followers! So why are followers so important?

Exposure

The more followers you have, the more people actually have the opportunity to read, rate and potentially reward you. Having a lot of followers gives you a larger consistent exposure without having to rely on trends, luck or investments.

Indirect followers

You are probably aware of Word-of-mouth marketing, resteeming is exactly that. For every follower that resteems your content, there is a chance that one of their followers does the same. This is potentially an infinite pyramid that covers all users. So next time you get a new follower, understand that you got more than just 1 follower worth of value.

2. Stats

2.1 Followers

Number of followers

This is the simplest stat to look at and is used as one of the main measurements of success, but it isn't conclusive. The more followers someone has, the more likely it is they will achieve success, but be aware that there's more to it that just quantity. Factors like reputation, STEEM POWER and indirect followers influence your potential success.

Follower growth

This is what you should be focusing on as an author on SteemIt! This is much more important than how much money your content has made today, this week or this month.

The only way to measure growth properly is measuring relative growth. Absolute numbers are irrelevant. If you want the true growth of your account during a certain time period you measure the relative growth in followers or the relative growth in certain types of followers (followers that meet certain criteria).

2.2 Publications

Number of quality publications

This is a the number of total posts you made since the creation of your account. It's a good way to measure author activity, but not conclusive.

Frequency of quality publications

This is the relevant statistic that allows you to measure author activity. The more quality publications per day, the higher the user activity.

2.3 Post details

Number of votes

This is a reasonable way to measure success. The more votes a post has, the more likely it is that the author has produced high quality. But for this data to be relevant you need a larger sample size than just one post.

View-vote ratio

This statistic is important on SteemIt. If the number of votes is lower than the number of views it will likely indicate that your content doesn't meet the quality benchmark. On SteemIt the most popular posts almost always have multiple times more votes than views, this means that people assume quality even without reading the content. This could be because of factors like the number of votes, the number of votes gained in a certain period of time, the current author reward or the reputation of the author.

2.4 Comment details

Number of comments

This is a reasonable way to measure success. The more comments, the more likely it is that you have provided some sort of value. Even negative comments can be considered value sometimes, for example when you started a discussion about a controversial subject.

View-comment ratio

This is a more relevant statistic. It shows viewer engagement. Ideally you wrote something so valuable that 100% of the viewers felt obliged to leave a comment!

3. Money

Notice this isn't at the top? It's for a good reason, because it's the result of your success, not the success itself! Making a lot of money isn't always because of a good product or service. There can be many reasons why someone has made a lot of money. It's best to stop focusing on money, but focus on the quality of your product or service and eventually the money will find you.

Mindset

If you want to achieve a goal it's important to create a plan. You should be realistic and even then probably still lower your expectations. You should focus on short-term goals rather than achieving the end goal. Every time you achieve a short-term goal you achieved success and you did everything you could to reach your end goal. The rest is outside of your control. You have to accept that life isn't fair. Executing your plan strictly and working hard gives you a very big advantage over the competition and a much higher probability of reaching your end goal!


Don't forget to follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

Sort:  

Followers are good, active followers even better, fans the best :)

very well thought out post my friend im glad I caught it ! following

Thanks, finally someone who truly appreciates this article. This is one of the articles i'm most proud of :)

I agree I'm glad I came across this article too :)

Good advice. It helps put things in perspective for a newbie like me. I must admit I don't have a plan but I'll begin working on one soon. Thank You. I'll be a follower and will resteem. You too I hope. Only 7 posts so far but I'm determined to keep my topics in line with the format "Lessons Learned" . Steem On.

New on the block and hi from Australia and following you.

Thank you so much for this guide! I am new to Steemit today and I am looking forward to start my own fitness blog! I have lost 16kg so far :D. Do you think there will be interest in fitness blogs @ steemit?

Valuable Post! Keep Posting!

I like the way you organized the information, and the way you explain it. I am looking forward to incorporating your insight into how I SteemIt!

New follower here from Australia and this was very helpful, thank you.

im going to focus on quality publications, thanks this makes me thinks better!!

Thank you very much for your great post very useful @calamus056 👍😎 I'm new here at steemit have a good night from Cologne Germany my name is Lars @laloelectrix

Interesting take on the nature of our interactions and the community we're building. :)

This is a good article but can you do a follow up for beginners. Such as how to get more followers, better content etc...

I already did that: 6 tips that guarantee your success on SteemIt. Next time look at my channel first :p

yikes, sorry. This is my first day

This is valuable... I have over 100k Social media followers and just got started with Steemit... Watch me start bustin out awesome content! :-)

Do that, and when you start making decent money, show them so they want to get over here :)

Bookmarked your post, it's just perfect for beginners like me. Thank you!

Thanks for the tips. new as of June 2nd,so these are very helpful.

Hey, thanks for the helpful post. As I see you have 62 upvotes and potential payout of just $0.37. Why is that? I am new to this

this post will certainly help other people out there especially newbies which i count myself as one, so here is what i will do, am resteeming this 100% and you getting yourself a new follower. Thank you

Very informative. Thanks :)

Added to my list of very helpful content. Thanks @calamus056 UV'd and following.


SDG

Great post...loved it..

very helpful ,i am newcomer Thank you

Useful posts, especially for me as a newbie

interesting

I don't know I'd call this an extensive guide, but it's useful for a quick read. Thanks for sharing.

Everything that requires more than a minute of someone's time is extensive ;)

You know how short the attention span of the average internet user has become...

So your content is not extensive. Your readers time commitment, however, is.

But yeah. Touche.

Nice.. me being a new user, should help me

Great article very tue

Thanks
I'm new to Steemit - so very helpful

good sharing, i am striving hard here too!

Committed followers and fans are just phenomenal.
Great post indeed and many thanks for sharing.

Good article. And helpful. Thanks! Xx, Kay

Cool, my first kiss on SteemIt :)

lol! I'm not British, but I worked with Brits a lot and they do it all the time--like every single email or text. I think it's cute so I took it for myself :).

@calamus056 Thanks for this very informative post!
I'm a one week minnow with steemit and this has been a wonderful experience LOL 😃
Doesn't the number of followers also award points or adds to reputation - if so what is the formula?