I just made the first ever Coffee payment with Steem. Wow, I'm the Laszlo of Steem!

in #steemit8 years ago

This afternoon I read the post of @donkeypong about the Jercos entrepreneurs. Then I remembered, that @knozaki2015 told two days ago, that there is a coffee shop in Potsdam, where one can buy coffee with Steem. So, I jumped into my car and went from my hometown Berlin to Potsdam and bought the first coffee ever with Steem:


When you're in Potsdam, visit the EINSTEIN KAFFEE Bistro Potsdam:

Kurfürstenstraße 12
Potsdam 14467
Tel: 0331 23162801

Mon-Sun 9-19pm

Google Maps
Facebook

@einsteinpotsdam

Sort:  

Hello Capitalism,

Thank you for visiting us today!
We just finished our first ever Post!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@einsteinpotsdam/hello-steemit-this-is-einstein-kaffee-bistro-potsdam-we-are-officially-on-steemit-com

Come back soon ! Next time we throw in a free cookie for you !

Thanks for the coffee and the cake. Expect me to come to get this free cookie. :-)

heye, that was quick ! i didn't expect the first customer showing up that early.
did you enjoy the coffee?

On my way for the cake.

are you going to the caffee? awesome ! please make pictures of yourself and make a follow up post. you just have to send the euro amount coonverted to Steem $ to einsteinpotsdam via your wallet.

How does the payment process work? Is there a steem app for Android or for the iPhone? Or do you tell the customer the amount of steem the coffee costs and then he logs in his steemit account to transfer the amount to your steemit account?

I didn't know that you can actually use steem for goods/ services.

This is awesome!

This is amazing!!!

@einsteinpotsdam : How do you decide the cost in SBD for your goods?

We made a 1 EUR = 1 SBD deal. (So, I bought not only a coffee, also cake an juice, and gave a good tip)

A very well deserved tip.

Holy cow, 20 SBD for a coffee!?.. I hope that was one good coffee

I had also cake and juice. I was a little bit hungry. :-)

oh ok ok, now it adds up! lol

More like -$980 for a coffee once the trending blog post is accounted for ;-)

more like -1500$ now, and i think it will end up somewhere -3500$ and it would be well deserved for the first ever SMD payment in the real world

I am monitoring both posts. Will be interesting to see which one makes more $.
but i think that's not important, today they made history !

That's incredible! You got my vote for sharing this hopeful new prospect.
https://steemit.com/gardening/@brownsgreens/just-grow-food-garden-site-prep

Seems you're waiting for buying food with Steem. Self grown food is the best.

wow, this is your best earning post so far. but i have the feeling that it might go up a bit more. you made history here ;) happy to be part of it !

Wow, I'm the Laszlo of Steem!

I disagree with you. Laszlo symbolized two things for bitcoin...
a. First use of bitcoin against tangible goods.
b. A symbol of loss for spending bitcoin in the long term.

Point a applies to you in terms of steem. But, point b wont. Because, there is a fine difference between bitcoin & steem. Bitcoin is crypto-asset, because it has limited supply, whereas Steem is a crypto-currency, because of its unlimited supply.

Please note that, Steem is better than bitcoin when it comes to be used as a stable store of value. Bitcoin has no equivalent to dollar, whereas Steem's current value can be stored as Steem dollar.

You're right. Laszlo has done something incredible. When he spend his Bitcoin it was for most of the people "magic internet money". Thanks for giving this good explanation about the difference between Bitcoin and Steem. I never read this somewhere else before. Please explain this difference between a crypto-asset and a crypto-currency in a special post on Steemit. Because we should get used to the fact, that Steem or Steemdollars will used in the future widely as a currency. I follow you now.

And the most important question of all: Was it a good coffee?

Yes, of course. A coffee shop named Einstein has the brains to make the best coffee that is scientifically possible. ;-)

Soooo...Was your coffee nice and...steemy:?

Yeah, really steemy. I payed it with my precious Steem. But got more now. ;-)

Thats awesome. Just read the post of einsteinpotsdam as well. Its great to see how it can be used for purchases and things we daily "need". Since its coffee its mostly a need and not a want :) thanks for sharing your view!

For many small businesses the acceptance of Steem could bring new customers. And in the same time new awareness for Steem, when the usual customers ask about the meaning of this blueish sign on the window.

This is awesome! You Germans are so far ahead of the rest of Europe (with the possible exception of Holland), for bringing cryptocurrency to the streets.

Thank you!

Cg

IMO Berlin (and Potsdam) is different. Here in Berlin there is a really active crypto scene. Other parts of Germany are much more traditional and sceptic. (Hope that the Germans from other German towns don't read this.) :-)

I bought my first coffee with SD's in Greece too.this is a lovely morning!

Where had you been in Greece? I wanna go there too.

This is awesome!!! I'm sure more and more companies will be coming on board to accept Steem. You got my Upvote today.... Keep Steemin on my friend... @kbargold

Thanks. This Steem acceptance signs will also bring more awareness about Steem. People can see, that Steem is in the real world, not only in the Web.

Way to make history! Congrats on buying the first coffee ever with SBD! I think I've officially added Potsdam to my list of places to travel to!

Potsdam is famous for Sanssouci, the palace of Frederic the Great. It's a lovely little town. And Steem is accepted there. :-)

Awesome!

Thanks for your posts about "How to Code". Steemit should become the new Udemy!

Thanks! I appreciate the fact that you noticed! Hopefully I can find the time to make more soon.

Nice! I hope you enjoyed your coffee. Keep on Steeming! Best wishes

Thanks. While drinking the coffee I was thinking: Ohh, yeah, that's what it feels to make history. :-D

Hello Laszlo #2

Thanks. I love this Laszlo story. It shows, how crazy the new crypto world is. Everything is possible. Now, lets see, what to buy next with SBD to help it become a widely spread currency.

Will this rival the infamous pizza for Bitcoin purchase? we can only hope! in any case you my friend are a pioneer!

As I paid in Steemdollars there will be not such a story like the one with Laszlo. But the stability of Steemdollars make it likely, that more shops will accept them as payment. This Dollar related Steem is really an awesome feature of Steem.

This is moving forward ! It is a matter of time for it to spread. Cheers !!

I will watchout now for more "Steem Accepted Here" signs. It should be made public on a Google Map, where in the real world we can spend our hard earned Steem.

Oh man. That is awesome. :D Hopefully more places start accepting steem as payment. I want to order a pizza with my steem, please. ^_^

Maybe we should start a kind of marketplace, where we put our orders in Steem. This will start a currency circle that is parallel to the fiat currencies.

.. one small steem for capitalism, one giant leap for mankind!

With the Steem that I earned with this post I could buy a couple of more coffee in the Einstein Coffee shop. Seems like a real win-win-situation. :-)

I need to get there. I will visit you soon. Greetings from Hamburg

Encourage your local shop owners to accept Steem as well. Bring Steem nach Hamburg. Die Hamburger sind ja geborene Kaufleute. Wer Bitcoin nimmt, nimmt bestimmt auch Steemdollar an.

As I like to say @capitalism you came to SteemIt for the money and left with a community.

That's right. I very happy to be a Steemian. And I'm now an evangelist for blockchain technology. That's the awesome thing about Steemit. It brings many new people in contact with crypto currency, blockchain and smart contracts. And it creates tons of new content about these things, that is advocating for them.

haha good job ^_^
very exciting !

Writing Steem history is fun. Now, who the first one that buys pizza with Steem?

I hope there's more coffees where than one came from!

where's steem is also coffee. At least at my desk.

That's what I'm taking about. Coffee while blogging, come on!

A cup of coffee with the Steem logo on top would be a great logo for a special Steem Coffee Shop, where local Steemians a come together to chat and blog.

That's awesome dude! Though, when Steem skyrockets to the moon, you're going to be kicking yourself :P . Your cup of coffee will eventually go down in the books as one of the most expensive drinks!
I suppose that will be worth it.

Actually, I bought the coffee with Steemdollars. They should stay at around 1 SD = 1 US. But my SP hopefully will be skyrocking. But I love this story of Laszlo, buying two pizza for 10 mio USD. It's no wonder that people like my parents think about crypto currencies as "crazy magic internet money". :-)

That's so awesome!! Hopefully it will be spreading to more stores to use steem for purchases!

Thanks to Steemdollar it's much easier and saver for merchants to accept Steem. They don't have to worry about the exchange rate or the stability. Steemdollars are a smart thing.

Nice :-) Greetings from Friedrichshain :-)

Lets met at the next Bitcoin Exchange Berlin (BXB) at August, 16.

Great post and this is great news.. hope the coffee is real good. Thanks for posting.

The coffee was awesome. As Albert Einstein had done it by himself. :-)

Cool :))

I go and I'll buy you a first tea then :))))

Yes i want some coffee too , welcome to steem :)

Leaving comment for prosperity :)
For $1,990 you can now purchase many coffee's!

Great! And that coffee brought you good profit:)