You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Journal of My Journey Through Steemit -- Chapter 2

in #steemit6 years ago

I've upvoted, and now I'm commenting. The best of both worlds, as @unnamedsteemian points out. Notice that I've already shown that I've read this post. If I'd said "nice post" and moved on you and Ms Steemian might assume that this comment was spam, even if I read the post from end to end and thought it was the best thing since sliced bread.

A junk button, good idea. YouTube has like and dislike buttons. No matter how good the clip, a few will always dislike. Some will be incompetents who don't know what they are doing, some may have twitched in the wrong place, and some may seriously not like demonic death metal. Whatever, they get to say they think the post is garbage.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Thank you. (I think.)

The concept of a Junk Button sure is appealing. I don't think I have ever "disliked" someone's post on those oh-so-rare occasions when I'm in the other social media sites. If it's not to my taste or not to my politics, I know how to back out the same way I got in. But, wow, I've seen some posts on Steemit where I'd have hit that tumbs-down in a heartbeat.

I know flags are supposed to serve that purpose, but they don't. Flags on Steemit aren't a way of squashing spam. They're a way to punish some who offended you -- or "just for the hell of it." Especially if they're smaller than you. And as in the real world, money talks way too loud.

Steemit is a fascinating sociological experiment. From that standpoint (and others) I enjoy it a lot. But it's not always fun. It is what it is.

Thank you kindly for stopping by. Even if I did have to prod you. Glad I caught you between naps.