Why Most Bots are USELESS

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

20180327_105816.png
For many who've known me since I started here last summer or have been following me for any length of time, you'll know I'm all about putting in the time to gain an ORGANIC following.

For those who do not know, an organic following consists of actual PEOPLE (not bots) who over time have considered you worthy of following and giving upvotes to. You can consider organic followers those who are your FANS!

Now you tell me, do you want FANS/friends to upvote you? Or bot accounts who resteem you to other bots or thousands of empty accounts?? Yeah that's what I thought.

There are a few legit bot services out there. But they aren't always resteem bots. Cheetah bot for instance is not a resteem service. You do not need a bot to be successful on here.

Please don't fall for these scambot resteem services. Don't send them your money.

Be on the lookout for bot services boasting resteems to THOUSANDS of accounts. Especially if said bot is only a month old or hasn't been around long. PHISHY, phishy!!

I know common sense isn't so common but PLEASE use your common sense before you use one of these "resteem services."

Over and out!
20180326_205507.jpg
footer courtesy of @freebeerfridays

Sort:  

“Organic following”, I think I’m going to use this statement from now on!
Good work @chelsea88 !

Thanks! I don't want to claim the phrase but i think i was the first to use it on here or at least that's how i remember it :)

Better yet if someone really wanted to "resteem" to that many for "free." Cough go into those services and just spam click follow on all those names. Those are the people who follow back. Which is also why it does not work lol.

Why pay them when you could go do that yourself lol.

I prefer organic following. I laugh all day long when I get notifications on discord that such and such followed me then an hour later they unfollowed me. Some of people who spam follow and unfollow all day get a mute from me. Just shows the kind of person they are. Not giving a dam about the people they follow. Just looking for that follow back.

YUP. Its BS. As i was saying to @trevor.george, most of the so called resteem services are definitely NOT reading what they resteem. So it's just junk regurgitating more junk.

my preference would be to ban the bots - retseemer, voters, curators, the whole dammed lot of them.

I write content for people, not bots. So what if i get less votes. it makes very little difference to me. As near as i can figure it, there are three auto vote accounts voting for my posts, from people who I have been chatting with for quite a while.

Worst case scenario - I lose three votes. Which would bring my average votes per post down to about 10. Not exactly earth shattering.

If you really want to raise your profile on here, the best way is to put in the effort. Comment on popular posts in a meaningful way ENGAGE with other people for crying out loud.

Don't expect the bots to so your work for you.

Look at @papa-pepper - he doesn't use bots - he makes the effort. That's why he is so successful. If you want his success, replicate his strategy - post interesting and divers stuff, post often, be generous, be supportive, be the sort of person you want following you.

Do what @chelsea88 says and keep away from the bots. They won't get you where you want to go.

Thanks for chiming in. Of course I completely agree with you. Another thing that really ticks me off about these so called resteem services or bots is you know they AREN'T reading the stuff they resteem.

When i was running @eastcoaststeem everything I resteemed i also read and/ or watched depending. That way no junk would end up on the east coast steem page.

Anyway, yeah. Given the fact that these massive resteem services are targeting mostly people who don't seem to understand quality or engaging with users to gain an organic following its like we just have a shitload of fast food junk resteemers. What a waste of time.

I'm of course speaking in general terms. I know there are probably some exceptions out there. Also @papa-pepper is an EXCELLENT example. Put in the work you get rewarded, if not that's on you!

The metrics of social media to deliver any kind of meaningful return /reaction are mind-boggling. Paying to resteem to 8000+ (untargeted) accounts is throwing good money after bad. Just like advertising on Facebook to 'targeted' accounts. Even if your product is 'hot' they mostly won't respond in a profitable numbers

If there are ONLY about 50,000 active users on Steemit at any one time (peaking in the USA time zones) you could promise free beer all week, never mind Fridays and be lucky to get 50 hits. And of those a lot of mindless copy/paste replies or abuse.

Yes exactly. You touch on many good points here. Thanks for the comment

proverbs fools die.jpg

So many trueisms on tap - and need to inform. But there is a limit to what you can do. In the end social media is a fabulous time waster

What I am is a little drop in the big ocean of Steem. This is possibly completely unrelated but my Dad always said "every little bit helps said the old lady that peed in the sea." He turns 81 in a couple weeks and still seeks out any opportunity to use that line- #1937.

I have received a handful of insanely massive deposits into my account that have a combined total of .005 SBD and maybe even more! They were placed into my account from people that were saying that I would get one million upvotes if I just send them 1 or 2 SBD! Well, actually they just promised 30 or 50 but however many they were promising the upvotes were still like Magical Space Fairy upvotes right? I just don't see how anyone could ever fall for that. Ok, I did it ONCE but that was it!

...it's tempting for an old lady-


Ok, I will be serious now; for as much as it is possible. What all constitutes popularity in the news feed here? I know there is that number next to our name and all and that has something to do with it but what defines "Trending"

Is it upvotes, the amount of steem built up in the post, or a blend of both that moves us ever closer into the outer fringes of the Steem spotlight? If an upvote plays a role then wouldn't simply the fact that you show a lot of upvotes possibly help in being noticed?

I bought some crypto for the first time in my life a couple weeks ago. My intent was to move it over into Steem as I started to see this platform as a possible way to connect with some like minded people. I am not so much interested in making money here but at the same time I was able to buy in not at historic low levels but there is still a likely potential for growth from my meager investment. I am not here to make money from posting content but it still feels good to be heard; to connect - but for some people, maybe most people, a little extra income is not just desired it is needed. (using all of my willpower to not spin off into an inequality rage right now!)

I get that there is the possibility for scammers here on Steemit; lots of steemers (sometimes referred to as humans) will work whatever angle they can persuaded solely by their greed. I know that my 2 SBD investment in Space Fairies is never going to increase my coffers but will it push my message out there for a minute or two longer so that I get to connect with my people?


Space fairies, bah!

space fairy.jpg
(not my content but looks like a simple canvas texture with a mild bump map lighting effect)

Yeah i totally hear what you are saying. It's tough as a newbie!! All i can tell you is keep doing what you're doing it will pay you back more than just monetarily. I'm rapidly approaching my 10th month on here. Yes i've made money that has been most helpful but mostly i've made SO MANY connections. As i have said many times it makes up for YEARS of unsatisfying interactions on other platforms like lamebook.

I remember how it was starting out and just simply NOT having the audience or eyes on my posts. Then, this happened:
https://steemit.com/life/@chelsea88/the-life-of-an-executioner-and-my-thoughts-on-into-the-abyss

It was a passioned post about the wrong guy being executed and overnight it rose to the greatest payout i ever received.... to date it still is by the way.

I was simply overjoyed that many people took interest in a very important blog.

One thing u could try to do is PROMOTE your posts. That has helped me in the past with views. You could spend 0.5 sbd or whatever amount you feel comfortable spending.
20180329_142312.jpg

I have promoted some and did not see much difference. I wondered if when you committed to Promote does it still show in the regular blog stream or does it only show up in the promoted section. I guess I would know this if I ever took the time to look at the financial aspect of Steemit.

Maybe one day...but not today.

Thank you very much for plugging me under your new spiffy footer. I have had someone ask me about swapping some material that found me off one of your posts. I should offer to make them for free and have my logo somewhere on it.

You're welcome! Its the least i could do. You have no idea how much that brightened my day that you did that =)

I have mixed feelings about upvote and resteem bots. The owner of steembottracker made me this account at the last #SteemitPhilly meet up. They can be used to reach more people who might follow you because they truly like your blog and wouldn't have known about it otherwise.If you choose a reputable verified bot, I see it as a form of advertising yourself. The more people who see your posts, the better. I paid 3 SBD to promote one of my original bideos on my @xsrian-cooking account via @null, and I only made like 15 cents from the post, but I gained a lot of organic followers.

Yeah okay. So why do you have two accounts? It's just a question, i know there's plenty of reasons to have legitimately two accounts. Yes having more eyes on your accounts is great. But how often do you navigate over to the account of one of those resteem bots so that you can find a cool new account to follow? I'd be willing to bet you don't. Most people visit accounts of actual people not resteem bot services. At least that's been my experience. Please let me know your view on this, as I am interested in hearing.

I made this account to represent me and my many interests. My older account represents a brand and the interest of cooking.

I've never used a bot, but upvote bots can get you in hot or possibly trending tags which is more exposure, and the resteem bots show up in all their followers default feed. It brings more awareness to your blog. I've considered using them, as well as minnow booster.

Okay that makes sense regarding your other account. Thanks for explaining and also for explaining why you would chose a bot service.

It's funny how we were just talking about this stuff. That I come over to your place and it's the first post I see. Definite upvote. I'm pretty sure I want to follow you. But here anymore, I try to check out people's places for a couple of days, depending on size of their blog. I try to look for the cheetah bot leaving upvotes, cookie cutter responses, asking or begging for follows or upvotes. I find this kind of stuff to be a big turn-off. But anyway, I'm off to explore your place. 😀

Haha! That's very true we were. Its because a known resteem account made a comment on another blog and i was like "really, i thought you were just a resteem service"
Lol. Then i ended up having that convo with you. Yada yada yada.
I hear you though. It's definitely a bit uncool when you start following a seemingly interesting account and then u find out they aren't that active or they do generic responses, etc etc.

raccoonshiny.jpg

🤣he's like a raccoon smeagul love it!!

moonpoem1.1.jpg

Break in the clouds tonight-

Loves me some smeagul

Very pleasing to me yes. 🙂