Overheard at This Week's ☁️Steemit Anonymous☁️ Meeting #3

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I was encouraged this week by the great turnout for Steemit Anonymous.

In case you missed our first two ☁️Steemit Anonymous☁️ meetings, you can catch up here:
    True Confessions of a ☁️Steem Junkie☁️, and
    ☁️Steemit Anonymous:☁️ We Peek In On Meeting Number Two...

More and more Steemians are acknowledging their addiction...

Real Steemians; real problems. This meeting is more gritty than any reality show you may care to mention; Jerry Springer and Dr. Phil, step aside!

Are you ready to be a "fly on the wall?" Let's eavesdrop on this week's meeting of Steemit Anonymous. Who knows, you may hear yourself...

(With a shout-out to @whatsup and the commenters under his recent posts about the addiction.)

Hooked on Steem....

Hooked on Steem
Photo courtesy of Stas Svechnikov and http://unsplash.com

NOTE: Names have been left out to protect your privacy...

Some comments may have been slightly edited or taken out of context. Any resemblance to actual Steemians, past or present, is purely intentional...

"Please take your seats!"

We can hear a shuffling of chairs as the larger-than-ever crowd takes its seats.

"Good evening, and Welcome to Steemit Anonymous."

"This week, we'll be changing up our format a little, and having a round table discussion."

The group mutters and murmers a little over this format change.

A rag-tag audience of about thirty...

A rag-tag audience of about thirty...
Photo courtesy of Kaleb Nimz and http://unsplash.com

The moderator explains a little further...

"Tonight, we'll just air some of our feelings about Steemit. Keep it short, keep it succinct - just speak a few words from your heart. Others can then respond, or air their own feelings."

After a little muttering, someone gets the ball rolling. Then almost everyone begins to open up!

The comments are coming hard and fast now:

"I became obsessed, which I tend to do when I see great ideas."

"I need to ween myself off of the Steem."

"I am hoping this is the type of addiction that can be moderated."

"i'm toying with the idea of quitting as well. my learning process is suffering. i've poured hundreds of hours into steemit with almost no benefit, knowledge or economic benefit."

"The experiment is having too many negative effects on all of us."

"I would guess that you feel undervalued as a human being?"

"I often feel, here, that I've had a lobe of my brain chopped out, and I didn't gain anything for it."

"Someone needs to start Steem Counseling...

...for those of us who have a tendancy to get over involved."

"I start to adopt it with much more emotion than the situation warrents."

"here I am laying awake trying to figure out "how to talk to people" I don't even know if they are real people or just accounts."

"Here I would say its much more addicting. I feel like if I am away to long I am missing something important."

"I get obsessive anyway, I am obsessed with this place too"

"I am really only talking about getting my emotional attachment to it all in check. :)"

"I just don't want to lose sleep over a blogging platform. lol"

"I lost tons of sleep over 3 months. The best thing now to think about is this: we are all guinea pigs in an online experiment."

"I just found my Steem Mood getting grumpy, and wondered why I am putting undue emotional energy in."

"I'm obsessive, always have been, it's how i roll. I don't know how to be moderate with anything. I get depressed on this platform when the posts that I feel are my absolute best/funniest get overlooked. That's a downer."

"I still love using Steemit but the fascination has gone."

"The truth is, I got so obsessed in the first months, that I began to have hallucinatons."

"Went far to emotional on it for a bit.. But I think the very fact that the platform can make folks emotional is a good thing. :)"

What appear to be left over Christmas cookies...

What appear to be left over Christmas cookies...
Photo courtesy of Mira Bozhko and http://unsplash.com

As the discussion winds down, people start heading for the refreshments.

Have you ever heard such heart-felt sharing? Does Facebook or Reddit have this kind of effect on people?

Be sure to come back for the next meeting of Steemit Anonymous!


Just contact me...

...for the time and date of the next Steemit Anonymous meeting. Perhaps we can help each other!

If nothing else, maybe we'll get some good ideas for our next article...?

If you recognize yourself in this article...

... How about sharing? Tell us about your addiction. How has Steemit encroached on your life?

Remember, leave your first name ONLY in a comment below. ;) At Steemit Anonymous, we always respect your right to privacy.

🏁

This post is intended to count towards @dragosroua's Challenge30.

Thanks for your time and attention. I'm here on Steemit because of you, my readers. Wouldn't be here if it weren't for you!


I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about all of them.
Did you enjoy this post?

⬇️Please check out @creatr's world - CLICK each of the images below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Follow me, I'm @creatr

Sort:  

I do think we need a steemit counselor, the addiction is getting worse

Yeah, I'm in big trouble with the amount of time I spend here... Need to get some work done!

Great, as always, to hear from you Karen dear! :) Hope you've had a good day! ;)

Always try and look out for your posts hun, I do have my favourites :) yeah not to bad thxs hope your well?

Doing mostly OK, thanks for asking! Just need to keep my Steemit addiction under control. ;)

Let loose man give into it it will win in the end lol

I am @giantbear and I am addicted to steemit. 😂 Best addiction ever!!!!!

Hi, @giantbear! Welcome to Steemit Anonymous! ;)
P.S. Checked your blog; Following you now! I invite you to read my Table of Contents and see if you find other articles of interest there... Just click the GIF below. ;)

Thanks for visiting! :) 😄😇😄

@creatr