Septoplasty and turbinate reduction surgery

in #steemit6 years ago

My Face Hurts.....But I Like It!!

Just got back from the hospital where I had my deviated septum repaired. My face is killing me and I feel like I have been hit by a truck.

A little backstory:

I have had to deal with only being able to partially breathe through my nose since my sister broke it during a tussle for shotgun. Those of you thinking "Oh man! you got beat up by a girl", to clarify my sister is 5 years older and I was only 7 at the time this occurred and I still got shotgun. She said it was an accident, I don't really believe her though.

IMG_9106.JPG
Sorry about the quality of the photo, I'm pretty drugged up at the moment.

So here I sit in my arm chair. Swollen everything , eyes beginning to blacken, and a bloody leaky faucet for a nose.

I couldn't be happier though.

Anyone with a serious deviated septum will tell you its no cake walk being only able to breathe through a single nostril on the days that your sinuses aren't acting up. Nor will they tell you how much they love waking themselves and their loved ones up with their incessant snoring in the middle of the night. Or how the constant bloody noses are a joy to deal with.

Once the plastic stints have been removed from my septum and the swelling has receded. I will finally be able to enjoy going for a jog or working out longer than 10 minutes at a time before having to stop and catch my breathe.

I could do without the constant pulsating pain running through my upper set of teeth though.

Sort:  

One of the single worst experiences of my life! It was only partially successful in my case but I wish you the best :)

I am sorry to hear that it was only partially a success. That is not the first time I have heard that either. Which has me slightly worried to be honest. I will have the splints removed Monday and am hoping for the best. One thing I have noticed though is the amount of bleeding is extraordinary. Even as I type this I have been dabbing my nose with a gauze pad and my surgery was three days ago.

Thank you for the reply.