You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [solved] AM I A VICTIM OF VOTE STEALING? - perhaps your account has been also abused and you don't even know it ...

in #steemit5 years ago

Dear @achim03

Thank you for that valuable information. That could be indeed a problem. Personally I do not use steemvoter but I remember signing up very long time ago to see what is this software about.

I strongly believe that information that they will be using accounts to upvote their own account should be more visible (during registration) as it would allow to aviod such a heavy surprisses.

Now the challenge will be to remove dlease access to my account and ensure that those unwanted upvotes will not happen in the future.

I also wonder how come that many of @steemsports posts have been upvoted (as I never had anything to do with their profile and I do not share their passion towards NBA).

Thank you again Achim
Piotr

Sort:  

This is sadly not the correct fix as the votes happens on steemvoter.com, so to stop them would require to disable the account there. The @buildteam authority has nothing to do with this. Please read my in-depth comment on what happened here: https://steempeak.com/steemit/@reggaemuffin/re-cryptopiotr-am-i-a-victim-of-vote-stealing-perhaps-your-account-has-been-also-abused-and-you-don-t-even-know-it-20190515t154949895z

Now the challenge will be to remove dlease access to my account and ensure that those unwanted upvotes will not happen in the future.

you can revoke any of dApp by editing this link and replacing the app name: https://steemconnect.com/revoke/@APP_NAME

Example: https://steemconnect.com/revoke/@dlease

I also wonder how come that many of @steemsports posts have been upvoted (as I never had anything to do with their profile and I do not share their passion towards NBA).

It completely an action by @steemvoter it can vote on any post on your behalf and @steemsports is one it's family accounts.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is sadly not the correct fix as the votes happens on steemvoter.com, so to stop them would require to disable the account there. The @buildteam authority has nothing to do with this. Please read my in-depth comment on what happened here: https://steempeak.com/steemit/@reggaemuffin/re-cryptopiotr-am-i-a-victim-of-vote-stealing-perhaps-your-account-has-been-also-abused-and-you-don-t-even-know-it-20190515t154949895z

Thanks for your clarification. I was barely answering the question highlighted and I understand it's from steemvoter as stated in the last part of my comment.

Since you say you are aware of these complaints from users and working to solve it with a new version of steemvoter, there's really nothing more to say other than "good luck and hope it gets released sooner".

We already have beta.steemvoter.com :) just that we don't kick out existing users of steemvoter.com

Does your link work if I used steem keychain to sign in to the dApp, @akomoajong?

Thank you in advance for your response.

No, it uses Steem connect. Steem keychain is just an alternative to steemconnect which was developed by steemit Inc. You shouldn't be scared to use it as it is open source and very secured. Also, if you login on steemit.com with your keys steem connect is even a better option.

I login on steemit and other dApps with my posting keys but I carryout all my transactions through steemconnect because I'm sure of the security.