You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Win Friends (and Followers) with Meaningful Comments

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Considering the topic of my post, this was a really great reply @gregan. Not that it sounds like you’re looking for this kind of comment, but hang in there. It’s hard not to feel like it’s some kind of competition here since so many people openly discuss how many followers they have, etc. I don’t think it’s about that at all. I mean, the money is cool, but I’m more fascinated by the platform and how it does incentivize people than my own ability to make money. I’ve experiment with some bots just because I believe what I post is valuable and I want it to get a little more attention (they take a lot of time to write!) but I haven’t gotten into any autovoting or anything on that level. I’m definitely into the organic slow community building process.

I like your comm as artform comment. I definitely do in some situations. But I haven’t really thought about my interactions here in that way. But now you’ve got me thinking! :). How about that?? I teach public speaking, so that is definitely I see as an artform, but maybe simple conversation, and even this is too.

Don’t worry about the charisma thing. Everyone is different and I am absolutely convinced everyone has communication strengths in some areas and weaknesses in others. I think it is completely valid to find enjoyment and add value by reading and commenting, and getting into dialogues. Not everyone needs to post to make this a vibrant place. Your comment is an excellent example, because here I am looking a the time and realizing I gotta get moving! :).

Thanks again. Hope to hear from you again.