You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @tipU Invest Option Important Update

in #steemit6 years ago

Hmm, but wouldn't it be wiser for a tipU customer to delegate the SP for herself instead of making it an investment? If one has to wait for tipU to power down, where is the difference between delegating and investing?

Why don't you ditch the invest mechanism and just ask for delegations? That way the money will stay longer on the Steem platform making it stronger.

I only have a rough understanding of how tipU works, so please be lenient with my (probably) dumb questions :)​

Sort:  

With the invest option you can get your money back at any time as well. So say I invest 100SBD I might want it back in say 5 days, I put reinvest at 100% and I get 100.5 back instead (I don't know how much I would actually get back but it would be more). This just wouldn't work with anything else on steem I have seen.

With the proposed change this is not guaranteed but the system mentioned is exactly how your bank works, i.e. they don't have the means to pay everyone their balance in cash but not everyone want cash at the same time so its okay. Of course a high percentage of cash to investment ratio is needed to avoid issues but I would imagine 1 STEEM liquid cash for every 2 STEEM invested is very feasible and much better than any bank.

In my opinion 50% would actually be pretty conservative, but then again I haven't analyzed what their account turnover, etc. is. If people hold for long periods of time then they could probably get that closer to 20%. Also based on how active they are, if enough people are investing in as people cash out while getting paid sbd for votes it could run very lean.
Definitely better than a bank.

I see value in the reinvest feature. Rather than taking the daily payout, converting to steem, powering up and delegating every day you can get the returns you would have gotten if you'd done all that.
Smaller accounts can't even increase their delegation in the fractions that they get daily, so rather than have that sitting in a wallet, might as well reinvest until it's some sizable amount.

Exactly the same question I had in mind.

Very interesting discussion here :)

If one has to wait for tipU to power down

The waiting might be needed only if everyone, or almost everyone, will want to refund and the same time. Otherwise the refund should work instantly so its much faster than powering down your own SP.