Sort:  

If the only valuable result of a good post is money, then Imma quit posting. Perhaps other rewards than money, such as creating wider understanding of social problems that potentiates solving them, planting trees in Africa to combat habitat loss, or other benefits also have value.

Maybe even just the conversations and ideas being shared might be considered valuable. I know those things are more valuable to me. I frankly don't post at all for financial reward. I don't mind them, and find that such rewards being at stake dramatically have diminished trolling, making Steemit a much better platform than 4chan, for example.

People come into steemit to make money, get real now, 90% of them heard they can make money here so that is why they are here, if there are no $ they would stay on fb. People dont really care about ur post, good post dont get much money.

I am being totally honest: I have never spent one satoshi of Steem, and have no plans to do so. I came here because censorship. Fakebook, Twatter, Plebbit, Youtool, all are censoring their users, pushing propaganda, and Fakebook is even contemplating some pretty dramatic mental control technology, by incorporating VR/AR into the platform.

@corbettreport recently posted on Canada pushing an app that 'guides and rewards' good citizens.

That's why I am posting to the blockchain. Even if I get flagged to death, my posts, though invisible, will still exist. All other platforms can just delete them.

I'm not even sure it could be done here without a majority of the witnesses agreeing to do it on a per post basis, or at least per account.

And I'm not saying I don't WANT rewards, just that I work for a living and did well enough bending nails and smashing thumbs to die old. Cuz, I'm old. I can't take a bunch of possessions with me, so I dumped my possessions. What I can do is leave behind my children, loved ones, and thoughts, if the blockchain remains secure.

I like money, I just don't need more of it than I have.