You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Think More People (Especially Women) Need to Tune into the Crypto Convo

in #steemit6 years ago

More recently, I've been having many more substantive conversations with a number of women (both at the workplace and beyond) about crypto. I think it is pretty clear that with all the media coverage of late and the rocketing prices in NOV/DEC (following by the big dip in Jan) many more people are aware of and curious about crypto. When I engage in conversations, I try to keep it as simple as possible, basically to whet people's appetites and get them curious to learn more about it. I try to focus more on the power shifting that comes from decentralization rather than launch into a discussion about economics or technology. For most people (men and women both) economics and technology are not a huge part of their everyday lives. They (people in general!) are teachers, office workers, civil servants, professionals and non-professionals of a million different flavors. Just because I spend lots of my time learning about tech and economics doesn't mean they do! However, everybody has been screwed by big banks (fees, ripoff rates, etc). Everyone knows all the headlines about abusive corporations behaving badly whether it's paying their executives 400x the avg employee salary, fixing prices for their products, or laying off vast numbers of workers due to "improved operational efficiencies". I tell a brief a brief story (and try to make it as personal to the person I'm speaking with) about how the whole bitcoin thing is much bigger than just money. As Andreas Antonopolous famously says "money is just the first application of DLT". I tell them how this new technology is about reshaping the global power paradigm, taking power away from large entities and putting it back into the hands of the average person. I tell them how this technology has the ability to improve the wealth and income gaps between the rich and the poor and that, like so many technologies before it, it is an enabling tool that is going to reshape how people interact with one another in the world. Crypto currency is not about money, it is more about creating a new paradigm for human communication, essentially taking the Internet from its early, infant stage into its more grown up, more DECENTRALIZED, more empowering phase. Keep sharing knowledge people, the future can and will be much more egalitarian :)

Sort:  

WOW. Yes. To all of this. You hit on everything and those who speak with you are lucky to have you explain crypto to them as I can tell that you genuinely take the time to assess what will stick with them and potentially light a fire under them. I think that your angle or focusing on what people will care about will help people realize how the world in pretty much every industry (especially their own occupation I am sure) will be changed, and for the better.

It is bigger than the money & I love your point about reshaping how people interact with one another in the world. I mean look at even this platform... probably the most positive social media platform out there & connects so many different people from various parts of the world that may not have met without this connection. THIS is what social media was meant to look like... not the aesthetics of someone's life.

Every sentence you wrote was well-worded and I only acknowledged some points, but dang, couldn't have said any of that better. Keep doing you. :)