Why I Think More People (Especially Women) Need to Tune into the Crypto Convo

in #steemit6 years ago


Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 6.10.22 PM.png

Matthew, @liveyourdream made a comment on my first post welcoming me & stating how I should check out Jane, @paolajane ’s feed because he thought even more girlpower on crypto in Steemit would be nice. Her profile is amazing, but it also got me thinking:

How can we encourage more people to join Steemit and the crypto world, especially females?

When I am in public and talking about cryptocurrency (often it is at the gym), a stranger will chime in and say, “You follow cryptocurrency? Me too!” I love that feeling because it’s an instant bond with someone I have honestly just met seconds prior.

There is a lot of buzz around crypto, I don’t believe that the hype is undeserved. I personally think that blockchain technology is here to stay & can’t be ignored. The tech behind it is revolutionary & can steer us into an even better world.

It’s not all sunshine and butterflies and lambos though with cryptocurrencies as it is still extremely volatile (and has been the past 2 months and multiple times in the past).

For example, Bitcoin had reached almost $20,000 mid-December and hit a low of around $7,700 at the beginning of Feb. Additionally, many alt coins were taking steep plunges.

However, if you find a coin that you truly believe in (I’m talking the mission, what it serves to accomplish, etc.), you can handle the roller coaster because you see the bigger, long-term picture.

Despite the risk from the volatility, there are opportunities especially financially for new people to get involved, specifically women.

Only 5-7% of Cryptocurrency Users are Women

This statistic came from Forbes.

As a woman who is interested in blockchain technology, I found that statistic alarming and think that there are a few problems with it:

1.) The success of cryptocurrencies does depend partly on mainstream acceptance of blockchain technology. The more people that don’t see it as a threat or a bubble, like many articles claim, will only help see its adoption in our everyday life that much sooner. If we are missing a majority of a gender in this category, then I see that as an issue. I think that as time passes, people will have to adapt to this new technology no matter what, but I would like to see more women at the forefront taking advantage of all the opportunity just as males are.

2.) The gender gap additionally shows that women aren’t perhaps receiving all information about crypto. The good thing about the media is that it can help share big partnerships with corporations and blockchain and further the excitement about this new future. However, the bad thing about the media is that it also skews people’s perspective of crypto to where they don’t even want to learn more because they think they have heard enough about how it is a scam, a bubble, not going to last, and a million other reasons. Essentially, we are seeing a lot of the “centralized” world spread FUD about the “decentralized” world … because I think they are yet to fully understand it. Being that a majority of people consume their media from these large platforms though, that is why I think they aren’t getting all of the right information.

3.) More and more jobs are/will be opening up for people who have blockchain expertise or knowledge and it would be great to get some women filling these jobs. It’s a new enough field to where women can join and grow with the industry as it evolves. Women often advocate for equality in the workforce and giving them the resources/having them take the time to understand it will help us diversify this industry even more. :)

The Opportunity

Where I see an opportunity, is to make it a point to further educate women on this changing technology world around us. To share with them the basics of blockchain/crypto, the positive impact that it could have on the world, and how to navigate this space that seems like is already too far advanced for new people to join in.

It can be intimidating to learn a whole new industry, but with a good amount of research under someone’s belt, it makes everything exciting & they can take part in this next stage of the future! Not going to lie, in the beginning of my journey I was very intimidated by this topic and didn’t understand because I couldn’t properly conceptualize it in my head – “money that is a means of exchange but is digital and can fluctuate in a matter of hours (who am I kidding, I mean MINUTES… or seconds)?” However, I researched, I learned, & I got pretty freaking excited about it all haha. What we’re seeing are real solutions to real problems.

Of course, there are women in the space and influential ones at that, but there’s room for growth in the sector & I would like to do my part in encouraging that.

Crypto isn’t all about investing your debt and making enough money to buy a lambo. It’s about changing many broken & outdated systems out there and making them more secure, safe, and efficient.

So, coming from a woman, I encourage you to support those close to you and the women in your life to join the crypto conversation!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  
There are 5 pages
Pages

Most girls i talk to about crypto think it's so stupid lol

Haha it'll just take some time, but keep chatting with those girls about it! I find that when I bring up companies that people are familiar with and how those companies are investing in blockchain tech, it makes people change their demeanor a little & they are a little more open to hearing more.

i doubt most woman would care about crypto untill it becomes mainstream. They are not even interested in technology. You know how many women do stem. Not many. We should get woman to at least understand what a cpu stands for before we try to get them to understand cyrptocurrency.

@theaudgirl, thanks for putting this post out there. it means so much to me.

I had the desire not only to see women talk about crypto but for them to be actively engage in crypto until they have their names on one of the highest earner of crypto.

I had to start with my immediate environment which was why i had to talk to my wife to check and read up on crypto and she is so super excited about it.

She has started with steemit now, at least its a good place to start.

Thanks once again @theaudgirl dear

I think Steemit is a great place to start for women to get excited about crypto and even better, make them want to learn more! What is her handle?

Thanks for the comment btw. I am grateful for such supportive comments.

Hey, thanks for your response. Her handle is @phinaloly.

If people are not interested, just ignore, it will be there loss, we need them to feed the fomo later anyway. People generally think things are stupid because they think they know what is "cool", but they really don't know. I increased my portfolio by 10 times by the end of the year, that is cool, and interestingly that is when the women around me decided to listen. I have told people about steemit and they are like meh... You can generate more crypto on steemit then small scale mining.

On women, they need to understand the risks, therefore I disagree with the second point. On information, women need to adjust where they are getting information from, western mainstream media is very negative on the crypto, by the time this changes all the enormous gains will be gone and we will be in bubble territory. When the risk is gone so is the return unfortunately. But ask a Japanese woman about it and it will be a slightly different story, the Japanese are quite positive on the use of cryptos, despite the recent hacks even.

Maybe the Japanese have a higher IQ from all the fish they're consuming. I mean there has to be a reason although people from Asia do seem to save much more it seems and thus crypto is a logical investment if you see all the weak currencies like the yen and CNY.

I believe the Japanese government is not opposed to crypto, I am not sure if they save more (with near 0% or sometimes negative interest rates) but it does make a logical investment because of the volatility compared to traditional hegemonic financial system.

I've been trying to get my girlfriend into it, but I think she's seen too much spammy stuff surrounding it so she isn't willing to look into it.

That's the issue that I find with speaking to others about it.. they are already closed off to the idea before really listening to what I have to say. Just keep working at it and highlight how this new future would specifically even change her day-to-day life and job since I think crypto is set up to change almost every industry.

Yes, I need more friends

hi need some followers

wer braucht die nicht?

Meinungen sind Unterschidlich

I know some women that are heavy into crypto in a big way, but many more think its a bit crazy. I agree with you though that we need to support the better part of the population getting into crypto.

That sounds good. I only wonder if it is really true. I guess one will also see a whole lot of spammers and scammers when there are a lot of rewards for them to try to get their hands on

Its wise to be cautious about cutting and pasting the same comment as replies to people. This is considered comment spam and may be subject to flags from the community.

I really believe that steemit is a sleeping giant in cryptoworld! It offers a very unique platform wherein we can share ideas, opinions and interact each other. Most of the ico's nowadays were lending and staking platform and sad to say that many of our fellow cryptonians were feed-up and frustrated with this kind of platform due mainly the tragic end of BCC and dav.

It is not that hard to encourage people to join steemit since it is the social media in cryptoworld. Just share, greet and interact with our fellow steemians and soon $$$ will just knock in our doorstep. Just keep on steeming! 😊

I completely agree with all of that & I do think that new people will be open to trying steemit since as you stated, it's the social media of the crypto world! It's something that people will be familiar with since social media is already such a large part of society right now.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment & I can't wait for more people in the world/cryptoworld to see how steemit is here to stay & such a valuable asset for information & its community of positive people.

90% of all crypto currency investors are Asia or Caucasian men.....

Putting aside gender completely, based on innovation and adoption (mining, business, legalities), the majority of cryptocurrency adopters are Asians (I'm including Russians as Asians since most of Russia is in Asia).

In fact, Singapore even went further than Switzerland in terms of the law regarding cryptocurrencies. So Asia will continue to grow in this area.

yes boss agree ...chaina japan korea has 70-80 percent holding in crypto .....n its not a womanic job ......thts why woman dont come ....

So, you're saying we can't blame it on white men this time?

Prolly women dun like the long public and private key numbers plus math is one of the subjects that are not a favorite one specially crypto can be confusing to understand

It can be confusing and intimidating to join at first, but I think if we encourage and support more women to get involved it would benefit crypto! Of course, if only they have genuine interest in the topic though. Don't want to force anything. :)

Lots of women will soon join the crypto world because it will replace fiat money :)) hehe...so everyone is gonna be forced to get involved in one way or another...that would be great because it will grow faster :)

Agreed. Most ppl think its gambling and prefer to stay on the same side though :(

women especially housewifes can encash their freetime in doing research in crypto and start investing in it for long term benefits

Yes, I've been trying to get my sister to join instead of blogging. So much better here!

Yes, exactly. :) & i do think that once women see the positive impact of crypto & dive into researching, they will see that we can have an even better world with what these coins and technology aim to solve!

Wait until all those "mom bloggers" find out about Steemit. Crypto explosion.

Women empowerment everywhere..👍 if they think like a man then they will sure start to talk about crpyto because it's about the circle of people where you are living. If that circle talk about crypto, man or woman no matter what gender they are will sure talk about crypto.

This comment has received a 2.85 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @xerox-bru.

everybody needs to get in blockchain will change the world

YES. no longer can be ignored.

/signed.

If those Forbes numbers are true (I didn't realize or expect the gap would be that wide), there are some definite gains to be made for the crypto space just by breaking through that crypto gender-barrier.

I heard that Ellen recently (within the last few days) did a segment encouraging people to buy bitcoin. That should be a good start!

I think it's a result of the complexity of the crypto process. So ladies don't take the initiative to make it a point to learn how it works and it's profitability as a whole.

I went looking into what the stat was for women and was totally surprised when I saw that the gap was so big, so it prompted me even more so to make this post! & I saw that she did!!! I was pumped because it's even more people getting exposed to crypto (& in a positive, educational way).

Thanks for the comment. :)

I was watching some videos on youtube today about crypto and across a channel run my BTCGIRL and I have to say she has great content in her videos.. So yes we need more ladies in the space for sure.

Love hearing about women in the space killing it & like that they are spreading the word about crypto! I will have to check that channel out. It was an intimidating topic for me to speak about at first so I love seeing how others approach it. Thanks for the recommendation. :)

If more women were in crypto, maybe the market wouldn't be so volatile. Lol.. As the question goes, "Who is more important, The guy that is making the money by trading cryptocurrency or the woman managing the guy that is making the money?"

RESTEEMED, UPVOTED, FOLLOWED & THANK YOU
Check out my post: HOW TO AVOID URL SCAMS
WONDERWOMAN.jpg

Haha I think that having more women involved would help for many reasons & maybe you're right, it's what we have been needing to help with volatility. :) I think that having such a large gender gap is definitely a red flag & shows there's opportunity to continue to educate people about crypto & what blockchain aims to solve.

That quote too... hahaha That's awesome! Thanks for the resteem, upvote, follow, and just even supporting this article. It means a lot!

also i don't think you need to worry about females adapting cryptocurrency for it to become mainstream. Look at video games. It is really mainstream even though mostly males play it.

That is true -- my point with that was just to state that it is going to become mainstream anyway and it would be nice to have more people & women in it before it does. That was all. :)

maybe although it doesn't really bother me. Either way who cares. I don't even think crypto will replace fiat and it may be an investment vehicle or a store of wealth. Only time will tell. Also it is kind of mainstream already. Look at youtube. You have the most subscribed on youtuber talk about bitconnect.

Yeah. Thanks for appreciating. We really need to put more effort in helping others know and find out about the whole crypto process.

Earlier tonight I was watching a livestream of a YouTuber that does crypto TA and said he needs to stop saying “guys” when he addresses us as they have a few girls and said it was 6%, almost exactly the amount you showed is in crypto. I think the biggest issue is we are still in a speculative type market where the main use is the purchase and sale of a commodity. This platform is probably the biggest step forward into making crypto something more than an investment. Right now, the only applications are Steemit Cryptokitties, and a few gambling platform. Once we get a lot more applications running on crypto like the new video game coming out that rewards BTC, then I think we will see a higher female participation. Steemit is one of the biggest proofs of that, compared to that 5%-7% demographic in crypto, I would guess steemit is probably 1/3 female.

I call I women guys and dudes.

I agree that as we get more applications out there running on crypto, more people will want to learn more & we would definitely see a higher female participation. Good comment and very true. :) I could guess Steemit is probably 1/3 female as you said!

I LOVE this post! There’s nothing like girl power especially in a male dominated industry. I strongly believe the opportunities for women have opened exponentially. As a realtor, there are more women in real estate than men (weird right?) BUT crypto is becoming highly appealing for sellers and buyers so this is a great opportunity for women to learn about cryptocurrency and really educate their clients. Also as a freight broker, the logistic and transportation industry is extremely dominated by men, so it’s tough as a woman sometimes, but to have knowledge in crypto and blockchain technology which is going to change the way the industry is going to be conducted, it makes me more valuable as a broker.
I 💯 agree that women need to encourage and support each other, especially in cryptocurrency. The more educated we are in the subject, the more opportunities we have, the more love and passion we feel and the closer the crypto community gets ❤️

Totally, there are more opportunities for women than ever before! & Crypto will only provide more. :) I can only imagine how beneficial your clients must think you are since you have knowledge about this industry. When the world changes because blockchain tech is implemented in so many industries, you'll be a step ahead. :) Thanks for your comment and together, we can get even more women on board. We have to stick together! ❤️

I love the Power Puff Girls and the Spice Girls. Hehe.

your thinking is good but I think they shouldn't because crypto means a tension about your investment and women take that very far I guess.

It's weird but it's very difficult to get women involved with crypto. It's too volatile and risky for the ones that I know. I was able to get my ex-girlfriend into it, but she cashed it all out at the first sign of panic. Most women that I tell about it couldn't be any less interested in it.

I experience that same hesitation with my friends and trust me, they all look at me like I am a little crazy since in their minds it's too volatile. haha Which it is... but one of the angles I try to take, is mentioning things that they are familiar with, like large corporations that are getting in on crypto. In their minds, that at least helps to bring some legitimacy to it all. It's hard to stomach the roller coaster, but encourage them to only ever invest in coins that they are behind 100%. I had someone invest $100 and it was when Litecoin was skyrocketing, so it got them pretty excited & they ended up learning more about crypto in general! So, that was a case of my mission being accomplished lol Keep working on the girls in your life though, I would love for more females to get on board!

Just a great post to forward the journey of crypto, a long road ahead of us upvoted!

Thank you! :)

How you do that? You've been with Steeemit since February and have such a great success? I'm also new in Steemit and love writing. Sometimes an article brings almost nothing and then I think that people may not be interested. But I stay tuned and do not give up :-). Sunny greetings from Bali

I honestly am not entirely sure but I am forever grateful and appreciative for people who take even a second to read what I write, including you -- so thank you! I definitely put in a lot of time (hours haha) in writing, editing, and then recording so it takes me probably way longer than it should but I am very new to content creating! I think just make sure that you post in ways that are authentic to you and your voice. I try to show my personality which is why I do videos, so I highly encourage you post on dtube. :) Please don't stop posting, people are interested including me. Random but I am trying to go to Bali one day!

I was so happy about your answer. Thank you also for the tips. I don't know DTube so well, but I will inform myself and maybe soon post something. We have a small diving school and so far I have only posted articles with pictures and videos in YouTube. I would be very happy to welcome you in Bali :-). Just let me know if you need any information, I'm happy to help. Sunny greetings

Dtube helps a bit. Also, a great name, username, and avatar helps. And branding, interaction, and consistent posting and commenting helps. Some of it involves luck and tags. Dtube might be the biggest factor. Some people may be more likable too. But you can always try to post different kinds of things to see which things might go more viral or not. It can be kind of hit and miss in what works and what does not. Be patient and focus on what you love to post and share and be true to yourself first. Quality over quantity. I'm Oatmeal Joey, hehe.

Screenshot at 2018-02-26 13:51:21.png

Thanks @joeyarnoldvn :-). I'll stay tuned for sure. I've always loved writing and will surely check also DTube in the future. Sunny greetings

Hi @theaudgirl! You have received 0.6 SBD @tipU upvote . @tipU!- upvotes with with 2.5 x profit :)




(This is an occasional tipuvote! advertisment comment so your upvote profit was set to x 3 :)

First off- I need to let my wife read this.

Second off- my wife should read this.

Third. Yeah my wife- she should read this

Fourth umm- this is a pretty awesome post. Crypto is like learning a language and then speaking in the native country. But it’s also like crack- impossible to stop with running out of money. Even then- you’ll sell your stuff to buy more.

Thanks bro for taking that step forward in helping your dearest lady get to know about the crypto process.

Amen - she’s pretty stubborn though and thinks it’s fake money lol

Hahaha YES spread the word & have her read this. Some people look at me like I'm crazy still, but the more people who speak about it around them, helps them to realize that this is not something to be ignored. :) And it took me a little bit to understand this crypto language & I am still learning more and more everyday.

Just make sure to highlight the good that crypto can bring & it's positive impact on a lot of outdated and broken systems. Seeing how amazing the technology is and what it could solve... it got me addicted lol

Women don't trust crypto, because it's hard to see, touch and smell, very often they think, it's too complicated to use it. Women do prefer gold and diamonds :D

It's hard to understand at first because to your point, it isn't tangible. They may prefer gold and diamonds right now, but how sweet of an anniversary gift would it be if you gave a woman some crypto for the same price as that gold and diamonds.... they would thank you later! LOL

Mum actually dislikes cryptocurrencies. Dad likes them. Imagine my surprise.

Your first argument is somewhat valid.
Your second argument isnt even an argument, its an explanation.
Your third argument is "We need more diversity because diversity".

Diverity is not inherently good. Its something unimportant and arbitrary like skin color.
Not realy a good video in my opinion.

If someone had a modicum of intelligence they would have already found a method to enter crypto with elimination of risk or with reducing the amount of risk down to an acceptable level (even I feel I did this late). This doesn't matter if you are black, white, asian or brown or otherkin for that matter. The first point seems to elude to an information gap, which is demonstrably false as all same the information is available to anybody willing to look regardless of race or sex. If people were honest they would have identified an understanding gap, where individuals have to understand the available content to be able to determine if the risk is worth it.

I have a friend who is extremly risk adverse, he and people like that will fomo in to crypto and make me rich.

"Essentially, we are seeing a lot of the “centralized” world spread FUD about the “decentralized” world … because I think they are yet to fully understand it. Being that a majority of people consume their media from these large platforms though, that is why I think they aren’t getting all of the right information."

Firstly, if we are talking about women in the above quote, to change this would be to radically change most women's world view in terms of understanding how decetralisation is a good thing, given that the majority of women would prefer centralisation, as demonstrated in how they lean politically and the kind of services they wish for from the government (all centralised). Secondly, FUD is spread by the centralised hegemonic power because they absolutely do understand crypto currency without doubt. Thirdly the people that do not pull themselves away from mainstream media to listen to a different perspective due to fear of having their understanding changed, will inevitably miss out.

I am lucky to be surrounded by intelligent women, they are in crypto, they speculate the future and willing to take risks, I have friends from poor parts of Venezuela to Nigeria who have created holdings in crypto on steemit. The gap can stay as it is, it is not a gender gap, it is an intelligence gap. Someone needs to feed the fomo train.

Definitely a few female friends of mine are pretty interested but they seem to reconsider the leap^^ hope they come in the crypto space tho :D

nice post , for crpyto to be accepted more women have to come in.

empowering women in any aspect of modern life, that can be part of any new business idea or technology like blockchain

good point

In bd many girls are want to be freelancer but in crypto, they may not know well about it . but i hope within 1 or 2 years it will change because our girls grow up rapidly in many ways.

I think we need to empower women by removing the whole "girls can't do tech" stigma altogether. I've met a lot of girls who are really passionate about the cryptocurrency field, and I guess the challenge here is to get more girls to believe that they too can be part of this up and coming field as well!

YES! Couldn't have said that better. That is definitely our challenge, and you and I can do our part to let women know that they can/should be a part of this field! You seem to already have some awesome girls in your life though that are involved. :)

More recently, I've been having many more substantive conversations with a number of women (both at the workplace and beyond) about crypto. I think it is pretty clear that with all the media coverage of late and the rocketing prices in NOV/DEC (following by the big dip in Jan) many more people are aware of and curious about crypto. When I engage in conversations, I try to keep it as simple as possible, basically to whet people's appetites and get them curious to learn more about it. I try to focus more on the power shifting that comes from decentralization rather than launch into a discussion about economics or technology. For most people (men and women both) economics and technology are not a huge part of their everyday lives. They (people in general!) are teachers, office workers, civil servants, professionals and non-professionals of a million different flavors. Just because I spend lots of my time learning about tech and economics doesn't mean they do! However, everybody has been screwed by big banks (fees, ripoff rates, etc). Everyone knows all the headlines about abusive corporations behaving badly whether it's paying their executives 400x the avg employee salary, fixing prices for their products, or laying off vast numbers of workers due to "improved operational efficiencies". I tell a brief a brief story (and try to make it as personal to the person I'm speaking with) about how the whole bitcoin thing is much bigger than just money. As Andreas Antonopolous famously says "money is just the first application of DLT". I tell them how this new technology is about reshaping the global power paradigm, taking power away from large entities and putting it back into the hands of the average person. I tell them how this technology has the ability to improve the wealth and income gaps between the rich and the poor and that, like so many technologies before it, it is an enabling tool that is going to reshape how people interact with one another in the world. Crypto currency is not about money, it is more about creating a new paradigm for human communication, essentially taking the Internet from its early, infant stage into its more grown up, more DECENTRALIZED, more empowering phase. Keep sharing knowledge people, the future can and will be much more egalitarian :)

WOW. Yes. To all of this. You hit on everything and those who speak with you are lucky to have you explain crypto to them as I can tell that you genuinely take the time to assess what will stick with them and potentially light a fire under them. I think that your angle or focusing on what people will care about will help people realize how the world in pretty much every industry (especially their own occupation I am sure) will be changed, and for the better.

It is bigger than the money & I love your point about reshaping how people interact with one another in the world. I mean look at even this platform... probably the most positive social media platform out there & connects so many different people from various parts of the world that may not have met without this connection. THIS is what social media was meant to look like... not the aesthetics of someone's life.

Every sentence you wrote was well-worded and I only acknowledged some points, but dang, couldn't have said any of that better. Keep doing you. :)

@theaudgirl your post gives me a lot of encouragement. A female acquaintance of mine gave me a brief review of crypto and encouraged me to join steemit. I only started a couple of days ago, but still feel like I know nothing at all. It would be great if you shared more encouraging and informative posts like these.

cheers :)

ps. following you :)

Welcome to Steemit! I'm still new here too so we can help each other learn the ropes. :) & I am going to write a post about things I wish I knew when I first started investing in crypto so keep an eye out for that!

we definitely should. Eagerly waiting for your next post :)

I think more people need to join the crypto conversation. Men.. Women.. anybody..

I do appreciate your article..... but to say that "Especially Women" need to join the conversation is or fill these block chain jobs is bull...

If you were to look at the dev teams for almost any coin... their are plenty of women on the teams.

I like how you used Forbes... which is an American business magazine.. crypto is worldwide as you know... and the bulk of the research and development is done outside of the USA... where did they even get data on this..

Is it american dev teams??? is it american investors?? is it just Americans that know about blockchain?? Is their sample size even big enough to comment on this??

Everyone does their own research and pursue their own dreams and ambitions.

To single out a specific group.... gender... or race is bull crap... we as crypto enthusiasts should educate anyone willing to listen about our passions.

You want more awareness about steemit or crypto that is great... fully encourage it..

But if you want to push that 3rd wave feminism agenda into a undiscriminating platform... shame on you.

Being American, I'm actually quite aware and frustrated, at how undeveloped the blockchain momentum is here for a number of variables. I don't like one bit that one the leaders foisted by American Media, even American crypto media, is Blythe Masters, one of the people directly responsible for the Credit Default Swaps, the underpinning scheme which annihilated the markets in 2008.

I've been reading much of this thread, and will never understand the language used that seems to be an attitude that there is some phantom obstacle keeping women away from learning about this space. I go to meetups and local conferences and mixers all the time about this stuff. I'm writing a textbook on crypto and share it with people as I go along. Most people aren't interested in what makes blockchain blockchain, they are interested in get-rich-quick schemes.

The empirical evidence is few women come to any of these events, in proportion to men, which has nothing to do with any barrier from keeping them out. It's not our problem if they don't want to sit around and talk Bayesian executions in EVM, testnets, tensor implementation, IPFS, or problem-solving how to store smart contract hashes in Mongo DB environment and being able to retrieve them successfully from clusters. Most people don't want to talk about that stuff period, but that is the interest level now in the industry; building a stable backbone to this thing. I keep hearing that this approach is not approachable for ladies; if that's true, then all I can do is point to evolutionary biology as exhibit A. Generally, men are interested in things/ideas, women are interested in people. Blockchain development is in the things/ideas phase.

I definitely can see your point and value your opinion. I agree that primarily just anyone should join the crypto conversation. My emphasis on women was not to be one of feminism, it was to shed a light on the gender gap & promote discussion on why that is. I don't wish to have women join crypto just to join, but I simply thought that there could be ways that we could encourage more women to be passionate about the industry & what blockchain tech aims to solve. Additionally, you make a valid point about crypto being worldwide and I can make sure to pull a few statistics and cite where the numbers come from so people are aware of the sample size. Thank you for your comment though as it showed me I could have worded some things better.

clap clap clap Well said, @theaudgirl ! I remember in your first post you said you were the geek at home on Friday night, waiting for a good buy in - LOL - and I was so glad I wasn't the only one. That is exactly what I do on Friday nights.

This is golden: However, I researched, I learned, & I got pretty freaking excited about it all haha. What we’re seeing are real solutions to real problems.

Me too! You aren't alone out there, and women are increasingly coming into the world of crypto. We know a good thing when we see one! I'll happily think of you this coming Friday, while I'm waiting for a spot to buy. Or sell. Or flip. lol...

THANK YOU! :) & yes, that is me, & I am too happy to know that I am not the only one! lol

I couldn't agree more that more and more women are joining the space & we have amazing, knowledgeable women already in it! I think we can all do our part to close the gender gap and encourage even more to come. I'll also think of you this Friday while I am watching the computer haha Good luck to you :P

Also, followed you, LOVE your content and your post about Jimmy. The world needs more people like you!

this is so true, and not a conversation that's had enough in the blockchain space, let alone all of tech. im a designer and have been working a few projects in the blockchain space (mostly around designing and developing user friendly platforms since im a UX/UI designer), but also in understanding the landscape of tech thats out there and where it can go from next. I was at London Blockchain Week a few weeks back and very few female representation there, especially in the panels and presentations. My panel was on Blockchain Beyond Finance, a topic I'm super passionate about - and was fortunate to have 2/5 of us be female. But those percentages are rare. Happy to connect with you @theaudgirl and talk crypto anytime :) Let me know if youre planning to attend any international events - I travel frequently for them and would love to connect IRL too!

It's women like you that are those already badass women in this space. :) Also, I would love to sit in on a panel discussion like that. One commentor said that in LA there was a conference for Women in Crypto, you should look into that, especially if you like to travel! I am definitely going to look into attending some in Cali since that is close to me or even go to an international event... it's a perfect excuse to book a trip. :P Thank you for your comment and now following you!

There are definitely a few badass women on Steemit and I LOVE it! Just became friends with the physicist working at CERN on here - love her ultimate nerd posts and reminds me of my days at MIT surrounded by nerds galore;p And it's so important for women empowerment to just talk about it - like "hey girls - how cool is blockchain tech? dapps? did you see litecoin jump yesterday!?" because once its a normal and blasé as that people start to see it as this scary, high-tech thing, and just an everyday topic and conversation that anyone can join. i like talking to kids about it - kids are never skeptical or weary. Anyway I'll look into the Women in Crypto event - I don't usually do the west coast events as we have another team lead out that way who usually does but I'm the only female lead haha so might look into it. Also need an excuse to get to LA and visit the Ames Center - I have a friend out there who's actually the most badass female ever - shes a NASA astronaut training for Mars - nuts right?! I need to get her on Steemit!:D Anyway thanks for the thoughtful reply and I look forward to seeing more from you:)

I'm really trying to get into crypto! End of the day, I finally started writing a blog thanks to Steemit x

i agree with you, but i get just a litte bite. how to icrease

Encouraging women to get into technology and STEM is always a great idea. I love the work https://www.thechicgeek.ca/ does in my home town of Calgary. They help women learn and grow in technology and entrepreneurship. We need all the women we can get on the problem having a centralized currency system. Building real business' around cryptocurrency is one of the best ways to make that happen.
@soaljack

Oh wow, thanks for that suggestion. I just skimmed their topics and they cover everything. I have them bookmarked now, so I can keep up with what they write! Love everything they stand for & I appreciate you pointing them out to me.

Maybe because they are not aware of what is happening right now...

That's why we have to make sure that they are aware! I think that we all just have to keep educating & encouraging people to join the space. I think bitcoin has received so much attention this year, but I would love to shine a light on the crypto world beyond bitcoin. There are such great projects for almost every industry out there, which is why I think everyone can find something that they can get behind. :)

@theaudgirl trully summarised the cryptoworld in best way.i recently came across a girl ....in India, she is quite enthusiatic on gaining crypto update however bit dicey about the future prospect. My only way to convince her was to... Live the moment......👍

buen amigo, te invito a ver mi blog

Most girls I have heard of (or seen in chat rooms) who talk about crypto are only doing so to impress some newly wealthy men who made money from trading it. They flirt and post nude pics while doing so in a "casual" way, and hope for the best. So no, it's not about "changing outdated systems". It's really about satisfying our most ancient instinct: find a true provider and copulate with him. I'm not saying that women are dumber, but coming from a science and technology fan, please trust my claim that nobody really cares about new technologies, either men or women. Most people get in it for the trading and investment gains. And you know it when you realize that none of these new technologies has actually been implemented yet, but prices still go up and down like crazy.

Men want to make money so that they can acquire power and status symbols such as lambos and sleep with several women. They explicitly say so as far as I've seen. Women want men who make a lot of money so that they can get themselves a provider as nature dictated so, and if anything goes wrong they can always divorce him, take half of his money and live happily ever after.

Saying that, we must note than the nature of men makes them much more likely to engage in risky activities than women, which is why you observe many more men doing high-risk investments. It is also why most women would rather find a man who does it rather than do it themselves. And cryptocurrencies are so volatile right now, that they are nothing else than risky investments in potential technologies.

I appreciate that the point across your entire argument is laced with evolutionary biology tenants. I would disagree that blockchain hasn't been implemented yet. All of d.tube is running on IPFS, and most of the steemit ecosystem is running on node networks. The adoption of this may actually take longer but with more innovation, because the barrier for adoption will most likely look entirely different than getting people in 1999 to join the world wide web, being that so much of this, if done right, won't have central authorities. I personally don't buy into this modern attitude of gender race to the top, where all areas and industries that men dominate, need to be recalibrated to near equilibrium with women. I will also be interested in the careful application of empathy, in that, having so many people all over the world on here, with entirely different cultural attitudes, and how they will interact with one another and choose the 'authorities' of the community.

Nice post. I think the news of bitcoin's reaching $20000 was a big issue to public. There still exists volatility, but more and more ppl are realizing what blockchain is. Hmm, I hope steemit keeps trying to make it better as profitable blog.

Totally, I agree! I feel like sometimes, people who aren't familiar with crypto, also don't entirely realize that there is more beyond even just bitcoin. Especially since that is what dominated in the media for so long, especially around the big rise!

Hey @theudgirl , this is great article, u contributed to this community.
image
I would like to add a quote here , that may be helpful to bloggers on this platform;

Why You Should Upvote Comments!!!!
I've noticed alot of people doesnt reward their followers, and their commenters on here.
It's a shame.
When someone takes the time to not only read your post but to leave a comment. Even throwing your small vote their way does a lot of great things...
They are More Likely To Follow You
I'm not saying you should upvote every single comment you get. I try and look for those that I feel provide value to the post. When they see that you upvoted their comment and they will be rewarded as a result. This encourages them to follow you; Then you'll have a regular on your post!
You can grow your followers so that they can grow you;
If they choose to keep their Steem in their account, They may power it up. If you continuously are upvoting their great comments, then they will steadily grow overtime. Their vote will be worth even more, and they'll be able to upvote you, The upvotes you gave them helps them grow, so they have more power on the platform.

I agree with this & thank you for sharing! Definitely grateful for every comment on here so I try to take the time to engage & upvote some. :)

Why do you guys in the US separate your thinking into man vs woman, black vs white? Isn't that like a red herring type of thinking coming from #fakenews media?

Congrats to you for following your dreams no matter what! This platform is indeed a fantastic instrument to help you achieve your financial independence and other goals. Glad that you see Steem for what it is.

I remember going into my local business association, and asking about business that accepted bitcoin? I just turned around, and headed for the door, after looking at all the glazed eyes.

your post is very good
I really like it

Nice article
https://steemit.com/youtube/@theworld2018/why-i-left-youtube-and-quit
check out my article and upvote plz :)

Yes, I will check it out! Thank you for the comment. :)

Such great stuff in this video, so informative & natural. I couldn't agree with you more on this topic. I cant wait to see what you bring to the platform.
One thing that I want to start doing is expanding my reach, so youtube, instagram, facebook. Steemit is a great start and its so supportive but it's still a small community :) Lets do this!

Thank you, miss!!! I am happy you watched/read this & I appreciate your kind words. Also, I agree about expanding to other platforms too -- gotta spread the word in every way possible! You definitelyyyyyy should put your content on YouTube!

Let's get it, girl. :)

There are 5 pages
Pages