The magic of Russia's second city

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

One of the world's most beautiful cities.

You can find smth interesting for you in Saint Petersburg. For example, high art, lavish architecture, wild nightlife, an extraordinary history and rich cultural traditions that have inspired and nurtured some of the modern world's greatest literature, music, and visual art.

This city is really worth visiting. I couldn`t resist to take a photo in this unusual and magical city.

In this photo you can see " Singer House " , also widely known as the House of Books. The building was designed by architect Pavel Suzor for the Russian branch of the Singer Sewing Machine Company. You can find this place by this address: St. Petersburg, Nevsky pr., 28.

This photo was taken by me too. I tried to show all the beauty of this church, Church of the Savior on Spilled Blood. The histiry of this place is very interesting and mysterious. This Church was built on the site where Emperor Alexander II was severely wounded and died in March 1881 . The Church contains over 7500 square meters of mosaics—according to its restorers, more than any other church in the world. As I know you can visit it only from May to September by this address: 2, Naberezhnaya Kanala Griboedova .

Finally, i want to show the unforgettable view from Palace Bridge. On the left side of this photo you can see part of Peter and Paul Fortress. Palace Bridge is technically the most perfect one of all Neva’s bridges. Unique mechanism of the drawbridge, consisted of engines, colossal cogwheels (some full metal cast in block details remain from the opening of the bridge) and floating bridge counterbalances weighting thousands of tons, allows lifting 700 tons of bridge spans. In 1997 the Palace Bridge got it’s colorful illumination.

I hope you liked my photos, later I would like to share with you by my photos from Peterhof ( the best place in this city, as I think).

Thanks for watсhing :)

Sort:  

Hope to see more of your great photos soon

I hope to meet your expectations!

Nice post about Saint Petersburg. I really want to travel there and many other places in there. Thanks for sharing it. :)

Thanks for your comment. In the nearest future I will write several posts about other interesting places in SPB :)

Люблю Питер!

Его сложно не любить )