Steemit Is A Virtual Sweatshop For Writers!

in #steemit7 years ago

Sweatshop.jpg

Steemit Is A Virtual Sweatshop For Authors

pagebreak.png

You can spend hours upon hours, researching, and writing up a an article on Steemit only to get 4-5 page views over 7 days, with a couple up-votes. For new writers, this translates to a whopping $.03- $.05 for their troubles.

The problem with Steemit is not the idea, but the way in which new material is categorized. I will keep harping on this issue until the issue is resolved.

There has to be a better way for which readers can search out the material they desire. The "tag" system is over-utilized to the degree that a piece on war can be found in poetry is some instances. I understand the reasoning for doing so, but 5 tags, and no categorization leads people to drop their works where the money is from their perspective.

Steemit, if you are listening, please fix the way in which articles are categorized. As a new author to this site, I am just frustrated by the site design, and the fact that my works go unnoticed and receive very little attention. I know I cannot be alone. There are hoards of us, unrecognized authors along these boards, all contributing to the platform, helping it grow, but for those like me, some will quit wasting their time and effort for the mediocre payouts we receive.

We are all vying for the attention from one of these whales. Whales are investors in the Steemit platform, and investors in the STEEM token. Why should their taste in literature dictate the focal point for content attributed to these boards?

Get your shit together Steemit!

If you would like to see some of my work, please click here.

~Deep1111

pagebreak.png

Image Source: 1

STEEMVET.png

Sort:  

you're 100% right, thanx for bring it up

Haha!

So true.

~Deep1111

It takes some guts to post something like this. bravo.

Thanks!

I see things that could be fixed with the layout and design of the platform and I know others do as well. Nothing will change unless we speak up.

~Deep1111

I agree with you on your points.
What I see in order to be successful in here immediately is to invest in a lot of steem power.
Vote yourself up, use the money earned to buymore steem power and rinse repeat.
it just will go on a snow ball effect.

Thanks for the advice. I am putting all the proceeds I make into SP until I can pay myself a dollar or two per post. I believe the platform has potential, but with all the bugs, and the bots being used, it still has a ways to go.

~Deep1111

Yes, one person that I noticed.
He has about 9 BTC worth of steem power.
When he comments, he self-vote and earns 5.93 SBD.
He only self vote. >o<

Also noticed people being stingy with their upvotes and commenting on writers posts to gain visibility without upvoting or even reading the context of the post itself. There are a lot of shenanigans going down here.

shenanigans.gif

Good Post @deep1111 and hang in there yo!
I have been saying the same things for months now, eventually we will catch the ear of a whale who can do something about it.

whale ho gif.gif

It is obvious that steemians have different purposes and interests in this platform but I am just appreciating the good benefits.

Seriously. I am even posting an article now to really understand what this platform is all about.

I am new around here as well, but already feel the frustration of attempting to penetrate the community to get at least some sort of payment that makes posting worth it. I see this as a problem, and it could drive people from the platform...

~Deep1111

Great read!

Thanks for taking the time tor read it!

~Deep1111

Haha great analogy

Glad you liked it! The Amazon thing was what got me with the image I used, having worked for them for a stint when I first got out of the service...

~Deep1111

I'm down

Thanks for taking the time to read it, and hopefully this thing gains traction and changes are implemented...

~Deep1111

Goood post

Thank you for taking the time to read it!

~Deep1111

Cheers awesome friend 😁👍

I agree. I think we need better discovery and curation methods.

Does Steemit care about quality content?

Thank you for your reply. I will take a look at what you wrote here...

~Deep1111

I'm not a legit writer but steemit and other forums pushed me through it. Nice bruh!

Thanks for taking the time to read it!

~Deep1111

Resteemed :)

I appreciate the support. Individually, we are nothing but a voice, but together, we can make anything happen...

~Deep1111

Great post and so true!! The good thing is that Steemit is in BETA so hopefully they are taking everyone's suggestions to help improve the platform.