You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How would you describe Steemit to a friend?

in #steemit7 years ago

I try to open up with the aspect that might most appeal to them (which is not provided by other platforms).

On Reddit I often open up with: It's a social network which is censorship resistant, because it runs on a decentralized blockchain. (Go on to explain how that can help resist censorship, which is an issue Redditors care about).

In other cases I go with: It's a social network which is owned by the users, not just one company. Every user has a stake, can vote to pay other users for projects/services etc. This is ideologically appealing for some (myself included).

For content creators and people who want to support them: It's a place where we can support the people who create the content we care about, without friction, without middlemen or large fees.

My most successful pitch was probably: "Holy shit I just made $1,000 for making a comment!!!"

Sort:  

I love your last pitch. I would open with that :)

You're right though it's important to appeal to what people can relate to. Do you think people lose respect, or become sceptical when the money aspect is mentioned?

Definitely. Mention money and most people instantly think 'scam'. Worst thing to do is to create a negative association right off the bat.

I feel it also creates false expectations. There are not many posts earning $1000 these days and there will be even less in the future. If you join Stemmit today it can take a lot of work before you start earning big paydays.

That's true. At the time it wasn't such a rarity, a large number of the people I introduced made at least hundreds, and in one case many thousands of $ on posts. But there was a relatively small number of users with a large pie due to the price going through the roof.

There will be large payouts again I think, but generally spread out over a large userbase.

I think so too. And people may begin to earn regular incomes from it.

An alternative income of even a few dollars would be significant for some.

I am looking forward to see how HF18 plays out.

I dunno, as an artist, the money aspect was the thing that got me interested. Do you really think it's such a bad thing to focus on?

I don't see "fair compensation for content creators" as a bad sales pitch. It's addressing one of the biggest problems in the art world today.