You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How would you describe Steemit to a friend?

in #steemit7 years ago

I love your last pitch. I would open with that :)

You're right though it's important to appeal to what people can relate to. Do you think people lose respect, or become sceptical when the money aspect is mentioned?

Sort:  

Definitely. Mention money and most people instantly think 'scam'. Worst thing to do is to create a negative association right off the bat.

I feel it also creates false expectations. There are not many posts earning $1000 these days and there will be even less in the future. If you join Stemmit today it can take a lot of work before you start earning big paydays.

That's true. At the time it wasn't such a rarity, a large number of the people I introduced made at least hundreds, and in one case many thousands of $ on posts. But there was a relatively small number of users with a large pie due to the price going through the roof.

There will be large payouts again I think, but generally spread out over a large userbase.

I think so too. And people may begin to earn regular incomes from it.

An alternative income of even a few dollars would be significant for some.

I am looking forward to see how HF18 plays out.

I dunno, as an artist, the money aspect was the thing that got me interested. Do you really think it's such a bad thing to focus on?

I don't see "fair compensation for content creators" as a bad sales pitch. It's addressing one of the biggest problems in the art world today.