You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Physical Steem coin, ready to be shipped!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

This looks good. Great job on the design.

I can't say it's a first though. 4 months ago, Steem coins were minted and were sold. They were made of silver and a little over a thousand was sold. References: One, Two, Three.

Is this different though? Like, does it contain real Steem in it in way? (BTC has those coins that have real BTC in them)

Sort:  

Hey thanks for referencing our project here @deveerei, we appreciate it. This one is definitely pretty cool too, albeit a bit different, so you would need to use a different minting process.

I'd like to weigh in on your discussion regarding adding a crypto value to a coin, it can certainly be done, depening on the keys associated with each currency, for example if the coin had a QR code to private keys for a steem account/wallet it would be simple enough, but then each one would have the be different.

There are additional potential legal problems with this as many countries have strict laws about creating of "physical currency" and with the new legal scrutiny around cryptocurrencies in general it's was to proceed with caution.

I'm not familiar with how coins are minted, didn't know there were different process depending on the materials and design. I haven't joined our field trip to the bank minting coins when I was in grade school haha.

I just find it cool that some currencies like bitcoin can be added physically into a real coin. Didn't know about the legal process and stuff like that. It's just cool, especially for gifts or souvenirs.

I wanted to buy your coin but I didn't have means. (Never really bought anything outside the country).

Hmm no, it does not have real steem in it. Anyway I appreciate your compliment about the design. And... I think it's still first... my first design of a coin. :D

I see. It will be great if we can somehow put real Steem in it too. :D I think there's a way to do that, just haven't done enough research for it.

I would love to buy one but I haven't tried buying things overseas yet.

Usually the add a code to it with a sensor, I guess.

Oops.. my bad. I admit my mistake and I'll change the title. Thank you for pointing that out.

It's alright. Just wanted to point it out cause some people may look at it in a bad way.

Good....?
Really..?

THIS IS AMAZING @deveerei

GL @diana.catherine

Dunno bro, read my whole message there's another sentence there. :) Not everyone use the same words as well, so yeah, it looks good!

It's a coin only. The coins were minted about a year ago but logistics made it take longer to bring to market.