Rant: Frustrated about the Direction Steemit is Taking.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm not talking about platform development or money here.
I'm talking about the growing number of steemians that are changing steemit into reddit. I'm talking about the people who see no problem with copying and pasting. The increased number of shit posts is disheartening and I feel it makes genuine users not as enthused. So to those people...I give you the Mr. Bean.

GIF's and memes sure... I get it.
However, When your post is a youtube video about scuba diving in Aruba, with no other text/intro or anything and I saw that same video yesterday on reddit... That is what flips my switch. When it is blatantly obvious that all you did was copy someone elses media and put no other effort into your post. That's where I draw my line.

I have seen users accounts that are entirely scraped from reddit. Every post! Perhaps it is a bot who knows. The point is, all of these low quality posts are making it harder for real steemians to find what they crave. A quality post. A post that tells you about the person writing or gives you some insight into them. For me the subject matter isn't as significant as the fact that I know a post came from someone out there that just wanted to share it. I think that is what most steemians envision.


Lenny loves some quality content.

I don't have a solution other than muting and flagging. The sad reality is that as long as one in ten shitposts gets a few cents, then it will continue. I pray that as steemit evolves, the ability to wade through all the crap I don't want to see becomes a reality. I'll stop now.
Whew! had to get that out.
What are your thoughts?

train-giphy-(2).gif

All gifs from giphy except the train... I did that one :)

Sort:  

I laughed so hard at the "I give you the Mr. Bean." part and I laughed even harder when I saw that animation! :D
This is what we need on Steemit. Original, genuine, quality and funny content.
I totally understand you and I feel the same about this. There are a lot of copy-paste, effortless, spam and other crap posts on Steemit. This includes the comments too. There are a lot spam comments on Steemit nowadays.

I agree. It takes time and intellect to develope a post. That's what steemit is supposed to be about, right? Bringing your own info? Wonder if the creators are noticing this

I'm sure they are aware of this. If they aren't, then this could get out of control quickly.
A blogging platform IS what steemit is about. Not copying someone elses blog.
I hope that something develops to wrangle it all in a bit.
Cheers!

All I know is my muted lsit is growing bot by bot, and photo blaster by photo blaster. If I wanted to look at the "Free Pictures" available on the Internet I would go to the freebie sites, when I go to a photo on steemit, I expect a photo taken by the poster or a family member, and some words about it. Like why that picture.So people like @mbphoto get muted, resteembot gets muted. I prefer to save down flagging for well bad people.

Get Muted!



Maybe I just need to start muting more and clean up mah feed. Cheers!

Awesome and spot on! Resteeming this'un for sure Doc.

Thanks! While its true that the website could use some improvements on this front... Its up to steemians to post responsibly.

Here here Doc. Anytime you throw a writer up on the topic I'll happily resteem. Love the usage of giphs by the way. You have that down to a fine science.

The reddit scraping bot posts are one thing... that’s definitely spam and worthy of flagging.

But I’ve mentioned before in conversations on this topic, we all have to be careful of how we judge post quality and what Steemit should be.

While Steemit may be structured for longer form blogging, the Steem blockchain is an open tool for everyone to use, which is its most exciting feature. Steemit.com has no filtering and options mechanisms beyond the nsfw tag, and the onus is on Steemit Inc to develop the site, make it more usable, and stop pulling the contents of the entire blockchain!

The latest example is dmania.lol which is a meme/humor based site built on Steem. We shouldn’t be at war with projects like this, we just shouldn’t have to see them if we don’t want! Better filtering tools are needed to improve everyone’s experience and minimize conflict.

|"We shouldn’t be at war with projects like this, we just shouldn’t have to see them if we don’t want! Better filtering tools are needed to improve everyone’s experience and minimize conflict."
You said it! Very valid points. I'm sure that in time, steemit will evolve to include those tools. Whether it is tag filtering (I hope) or what ever other tools. In the meantime I guess I have to try be a bit more open minded. Thanks.

I agree, I just started awhile ago but have already seen a multitude of copy past quotes. How do they manage these copy paste posts or can they?

There is cheetah bot that gets the posts that are text based, Like articles and blog posts. And steemcleaners takes care of a lot of abuse. But I feel like the job may be too big for them.

The job IS too big for them. I have seen way too many people who just insert a Youtube video and share. Not text whatsoever, just the title. What kind of effort are they putting in? I guess as users we can only mute and not reward this behavior by not upvoting. If this feeling is shared through Steemit, then eventually this behavior might stop.

That is what I'm hoping. Down voting is an option too. You have to be careful and make sure the spammer has less SP than you. ;)

I have no doubt Steemit will be around for a while, but I don't feel like it will ever be much more than it is right now.

Tell you truth Im confused by everything on this site, My last post was about how I found steemit by watching an Ad on youtube & since I joined its been an experience. I get a reply from spaminator bot saying something about my first time using steemit tag which is completely untrue as I use this tag on most of my posts. I dont know what this bot is saying. Thats 1 thing about steemit that theres bots for bots, its ridiculous.

Don't worry about that spaminator bot message. There is a lot of learning involved when you first join. Just keep trying like you have been. That was a good post. :)

I don't see this crap tbh. My voting power and I live in my feed and occasionally the trending page.

I like to find new stuff and read about what others are doing. But.... in order to do that, ya have to sift through a ton of junk.

Agreed. I'm with you in this. My thoughts are also same.

Agreed and while we are at it can we can all the bots too? I am not convinced they add anything to the platform.

I'm kinda torn on bots. Many people who have replied to this post probably would not have even seen it if I hadn't used the resteem bot. But there are also bots out there that just copy/paste articles as well. :(

Totally agree, I have found people sharing full new release movies, and they seem to be making 1000's of dollars, surely that is not right either. So why is it being allowed....

I think that there is a very large grey area of what you can and cannot post on steemit. Obviously full movies and plagiarized content should not be allowed. The only thing we have right now is our down vote and reporting to steemcleaners.

Hiya @doctorcrypto nice rant! Original thought is a commodity these days. Can you imagine the workload on the brain cells that a copy and paste operation takes? How do they pull off those mental gymnastics with such ease? Incredible amount of energy expended on those few clicks of the mouse. LOL.

Have a pleasant evening. :-)

Haha! Mental gymnastics.
Ya we got Bobby Fisher over here linking a vid to the best uses for rubber bands.

I think eventually the shitty posts will go away... even of 1 in 10 makes a few pennies... good and original content will make dollars

I think if steemians use their down vote more, it may help spammers understand.

My observation about steemit is that, all my original blog(long blog) gets nothing and then I tried to submit my own photography with quotes, that's the time I get rewarded. What's with steemit?

There does seem to be some sort of attention span related to steemit.
I know that if I am reading a post and it goes on forever...I will lose interest.
But pictures help for sure!

I see that. That is why I always accompanied my post with photos. Lately, I just go with photography and a little text about it.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!


Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @doctorcrypto to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Good articles,

Thanks. What do you think? Are there too many copy/paste spam posts on steemit?

Congratulations @doctorcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I need the Spam Dodger badge that automatically blocks all spam posts.

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 2K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes