You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s Grow Steemit Together - Direct Engagement Experiment Week #1

in #steemit6 years ago

I found this post from https://steemit.com/steembasicincome/@steembasicincome/steem-basic-income-user-retention-impact and also read you post https://steemit.com/witness-category/@paulag/how-to-engage-and-retain-users-backed-up-with-steemit-data

I am very new (26 days).
Before I joined I did a lot of reading about Steemit. Most of it made it sound like a 'make a lot of money for not doing a whole lot' site. Well of course that sounded pretty great! After I joined I realized quickly that wasn't the case. But I started meeting some really nice people here. I 'met' some welcome bots, but it was the real people who reached out to me that made the difference. Came for the money and stayed for the people!

To your points -

  1. Lack of relevant content - I find a ton of interesting posts, sometimes more than I have time to read in one sitting!
  2. Don't get how it works - I semi-jokingly posted that I should change my name to 'notclearontheconcept'. I don't mind a learning curve, I expect it. But it really is a pretty steep curve here. I couldn't honestly recommend it to most of my friends who are computer illiterate. I've read many posts where 'in a fog' comes up. I suspect many people come here expecting a 'plug-and-play' experience.
  3. Not earning money & 4. A waste of time - I'd group those together. If you're making money it wouldn't feel like a waste of time!

Looking into Steemit one of the first things that seemed odd and a negative was the 7-day cut off for rewards. What if I write something that is 'timeless'? A month from now, a year from now, someone finds a post I wrote helpful or interesting? Too bad for me! I'm supposed to write great content, format it in a readable way, take and/or choose photos, all for such a narrow window? It seems to me that encourages the post and grab mentality. Saying up front that I accept the terms set down and sure don't have a better idea how payouts could be scheduled.

Tags! I read a tip about checking 'Trending' to see what the most popular tags were and see if any of them fit my post. I understand it's pretty subjective, but I looked and couldn't find a 'master list' of tags. I used 'esteem' thinking it had to do with self-confidence, 'busy' because I assumed it meant 'I've been busy, read why', and so forth. The ones that are abbreviations I don't use because they probably don't apply to me, but maybe they do?

Okay, this part isn't about retaining users, but right now it's a point of frustration for me. I think I know a good thing when I see it and I like Steemit. I'd like to support it, be a part of it, to buy Steem. I'd like to get in the SBI – what a great-sounding program! - but I don't have a Steem dollar. I am totally new to cryptocurrency so I click the link that takes me to Blocktrades. Can I buy Steem there? Where is the 'use credit card' option? I go to my wallet and click 'Buy Steem or Steem Power' and that takes me to – Blocktrades!

To end on a positive note, the main reason I expect to be staying, is the groups. The Greeter's Guild, Asapers, Payitforward, newbieresteemday, and several more that slip my mind right now. It truly is the personal touch, the human curation and comments that make Steemit a friendly place.

Sort:  

what an awesome reply. you are so new but if you continue to engage in this way, you will grow rather fast i think. I am aware of the groups you mention and The Greeter's Guild and newbieresteemday try and get to new accounts, the effort I am making here is at older accounts, hopefully most of them will have had contact from one of the groups you mention before me as I am looking at accounts a few weeks older.

Love what you said about the tags, ha ha gave me a giggle. But this is a problem. There are many many tags not listed because they are not 'over' popular. These are often tags set up by a community leader for a particular niche.

You would like to get into SBI - no problem. because when I buy a unit, I also get to give one to someone else and I just happen to have a spare one, its on the way.

You do have some SBD. in your wallet if you click on your sbd you will see the option Market. This is where you can swap your SBD for Steem at the current rate. it is an internal market and there are no fees.

Because I am very new I hesitated to give my thoughts. But when I get an 'awesome' from you (and a giggle) I'm glad I did. And a 'spare' SBD? Oh my - that is so generous of you! (I'm proud and blushing at the same time.)

I did not know about the option market. Very cool, thank you!

I will follow your research and results, I'm very curious to know what you find.

Thank You!

You should see the big smile I have right now. Oh! And you upvoted my post too?
Thank you so much!