After two months here in Steemit, I would like to thank some people and express how I feel about this platform.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians from all over the world!

After almost two months in Steemit I feel like giving you guys my opinion about the platform and how I feel about being part of this.

1topb4.jpg

Well... it all started thanks to my crypto-obsession, for the last year I have been deep into this new (new for me) market. Just over a year ago I bought ETH when it was $12.5 and have been holding that. Reading all I could about the blockchain and slowly getting a grasp of what this is all about. I was reading a lot in Reddit specially in /r/ethtrader and it was there where I found out about Steemit for the first time. I must admit that my first impression about Steemit was not the best, I didn´t think it was a scam but I was a bit skeptical about it... it just sounded too good to be true. Also, since I used to spend a lot of time lurking Reddit I think I let the haters from there influence my opinion about Steemit.

So after a couple days reading and learning how it all worked I finally joined Steemit! 😊
My first days here were just a week before the HF19. It was easier to get upvotes, but the rewards were way smaller.
I remember the first post that got my attention: it was @darthnava when he was about to get a spine surgery and was asking for help in a very polite and respectful way. What I witnessed blew my mind big time. Endless amounts of replies cheering him up, nothing but lovers, absolutely no haters to be seen. Needless to say his post got the attention of lots of whales and gathered thousands of dollars. As I read all the messages wishing him the best, lots of people also donated SBD and Steem straight to his wallet... it all seemed unreal to be honest. Why? Well... because I come from the traditional social media platforms, where hating is trend and being mean to each other is the normal thing to do. Try writing something like that in Facebook and see what happens. So that was the moment when I lost all my skepticism about Steemit and started opening up to it, leaving prejudgement on the side.

So at the beginning I was mostly commenting, getting to know the community and making friends on the way. @hannahlicious and I got into Steemit at pretty much the same time so we were in the same situation, and that made us connect in a way, sharing tips, and so on. That was great, I feel like this community is very helpful and nice to each other, in a real and honest way.

As days went by I started telling my friends about Steemit and suggesting them to join. When I bought ETH a year ago I told some friends about it and they were really skeptical about it, they told me it was a scam and that I was going to lose my money.
A year later they saw how my investment grew 3000% and were now regretting not having bought at $12.5 when I suggested it to them. So this time they listened to me :D . I said, a year ago you didn´t trust my advice and now you regret it, will you do that again? Of course they are all in Steemit now. @elalec @nicolasdosse and @fivefiveeleven were my first friends to join. They are as amazed as me about the blockchain technology so this new social media sounded really interesting to them. I am so glad they joined!

There are a lot of people I would like to thank. Firstly, @acidyo . Without his help on my first couple of weeks I would probably have given up. I must say it is tough for a new user who know nobody in the platform to start getting views and upvotes. I came here all alone, I knew nobody, but I was (and am) full of enthusiasm and positivity and willing to succeed. I am so glad that @acidyo was there to help me with his upvotes every now and then... just when I was starting to lose motivation and feel like nobody was interested in my content, he would upvote me and boost my confidence and energy. I am very thankful for that bro! 😊

Also... as I come from Uruguay, spanish is my mother tongue. Another user that helped me and is still helping me a lot with his curation project is @cervantes . He and his curating team support the spanish speaking community BIG time. I am very grateful about the support they have given me, I feel I just can´t thank them enough.

Another user I would like to say thanks for the kindness is @skan , I feel blessed when I see random people from all over the world supporting my content. That gives me the motivational boost to keep creating and sharing.

Last but not least, I would like to thank the whole Steem Poker Community and @spl , the Steemit poker league. Lead by @tuck-fheman and @bigpchef it is a place where I spend a lot of time, bonding with lots of nice people while playing a game I love. @chiefmappster , @bethalea , @steeminator3000 , @nicnas they have all made me feel at home from the very first day. Thanks homies! (and see you at the tables)

So... to sum up, I couldn´t be happier about having joined Steemit. I feel like it came to me at the perfect time, since I am unemployed at the moment, I can spend a lot of time here learning day by day and feeling productive. I also feel more creative nowadays, I am always thinking of a good idea to post or a perfect picture to take. I am so excited about Steemit going mainstream, I am super confident it will happen sooner than later... it´s just a matter of time.

Thanks for passing by and reading my words. I hope you enjoyed the read!

One last time: THANKS!

Sort:  

This is an amazing post bro, I still remember that day when I got into steemit because of you lol, thanks to you my man for sharing the experience. Steem on and keep growing.

Thanks brother... I am so glad you are here bringing great content and spreading your positive energy!

#TeamUruguay ftw lol 😊

Congrats bro, keep steeming on my man. Let's delegate some steepower to TeamUraguay? I've always wanted to go visit and see the various beaches.

Thanks so much bro! What do yo mean about delegating steempower to TeamUruguay? I didn´t get that.

And yeah bud... do it, the beaches here are amazing, for real!

Cheers!

Love this, Bruno! Team Uruguay are among my most favorite humans on this planet. Good job on your post!! xoxo, b.

Thanks homie! Appreciate the love <3

Glad to have met you!

Ayyy epic man I can tell you wrote this from the soul. Thanks or the love appreciate you.

Keep doing great things, you are meant for greatness. The world needs more like you god bless.

Ey man! YOU are the man here, I look up to you bro.

Appreciate the love, the upvote, the resteem and the freerolls! THANKS!

Of course my brother lets change and save this world together o weeeee lets goooo.

Namaste :)

Woohoo :) Happy 2 months here on Steemit!! Glad to see you still on here posting all the time and doing well :) happy that we got to be Steemit friends!

Hey bud! Glad to see you killing it @hannalicious ! That go pro sure was a wise investment.

Keep bringing the goodies as you always have.

Chuuur!

Notificatons came back up so I noticed the mention. Thanks ^^

and I agree

I come from the traditional social media platforms, where hating is trend and being mean to each other is the normal thing to do.

This seems to have become the norm in most places. Trolls everywhere too.

Keep up the great content, man! :)

Ayy heck yeah I am glad you saw this. You have done so much good for this community. Its good to see that you are appreciated my friend keep doing great things. We are all behind you :)

He is indeed very helpful! i salute him 🙂

Saluteeeee haha :)

why you laughed? is that wrong? sorry english is not my first language. Lol

O not at all I was agreeing with you sorry for the misinterpretation :)

oh Im sorry.I thought you are making fun of my english. Lol. Thank you.

Hey @acidyo !

Thanks for all you do for the community man, for real, manually curating is in my opinion a little scarce and extremely needed in Steemit. You are an example here, period.

What else can I say? Thanks and keep taking pics on those walks around the parks... lovely greens you have there bro.

Love having you there man. Its been fun and will even get better soon.

Thanks for passing by and reading my words.

Ohh and THANKS for writing those words ayyyyy

Thanks @nicnas ! I appreciate what you do for @spl bro, thats gold.

Cheers and see you at the tables!

hello friend @dontstopmenow i like your post , thanks for sharing keep it up :-)

you did so much in two month from my point of view as im new on steemit.inspirational.thanks for sharing 👍

Thanks for posting! I'm now following, pls follow back

Thanks for sharing your story @dontstopmenow! Looking forward to many games of poker together @spl! :)

This post received a 4.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @chiefmappster! For more information, click here!

Upvoted & RESTEEMED!

we are very glad to have you here. Keep blogging. Its good to hear that you're enjoying being part of this community. Best of luck to you. I believe youre gonna be a whale soon. You are doing good in this platform. Keep safe 🙂

Quite on amazing post , congrats on your milestones i and i wish a lot more, thanks for sharing your experience with us

Great post buddy! See you on the tables!

this post is inspiring, lets ride this steem boat all over the world :)

Great post man Congrats upvoted and followed