A Bit Of Positive PR For STEEM - And A Nice Revelation

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Nasdaq published a couple of days ago an article about the recent listing of STEEM in the Netcoins network, which was an unexpected (but very nice) way to benefit even more from getting to that spot. If you really want to read all the article, here's the link.

But what made my slightly raise my right eyebrow (a thing I rarely do on Fridays evenings) was @ned's statement in that article, and I quote:

"Steem's most valuable resource is our community, and it was incredible to see the community come together to vote for STEEM in the Netcoins listing contest," said Ned Scott, CEO of Steemit Inc. "We are grateful to all who voted for us and very excited to now see STEEM listed on Netcoins."

I don't know about you, but I'm in this project for more than 2 years now, and it's the first time I see such an accurate description of what really happened. I think @ned went a long way since the bitter quarrels with @dantheman, from the flag wars and from the overall toxic atmosphere that was, for months, just the natural way to breathe here on Steemit.

I can just hope Ned really means what he said and he realizes that what actually happened was that a lot of people acted in a coordinated way to support a common idea. It wasn't marketing. It was more than that. It wasn't paid advertising. It was more than that. It wasn't just the usual "throw more money at the problem" approach.

It was the beginning of a real community here on Steemit.

And that's way beyond money.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!


Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here


Sort:  

The power of a community working for a common goal is unstoppable. That is for sure the most valuable asset of Steem and we all are part of that. Congratulations!

Let's face it, we rock :D

agree with the community coming together for a common cause. everyone benefits!

agree with this being more than money. when someone feels he/she belongs to something more than him/her, the effort comes naturally.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah its true - there was so much attention on the Netcoins contest it was hard not to get swept up in it all!

Great info @dragosroua! — we had a lot of support from #steemsilvergold !!
⚡️😎👍⚡️

It is sure a great community!

One of the many reasons I feel confident investing in Steem again.

It seems to be really gelling into a community

I was not really active in flag wars (or maybe not active during the flag wars). I actually just use this as social media haha what a concept :)

I do agree with you. I was a bit worried at the start of the week but with all the pushing and prodding we managed to get the votes that mattered. Everyone chipped in and did their bit.

Yep - I think we won by some margin in the end - I still believe that there was some vote farming going and and cheating. Most of the other coins dont have nearly close to the community Steem has!

Great example of the power of steemit by able to get many to push for one cause. Future of steem looks bright. Thanks.

I can only speak for myself but it was pretty incredible how people got mobilised and motivated each other during the voting period. Ned needs to see that and appreciate what he has! Well written Dragos!

Communities too did a great job in helping steem get to the top of the game. I would mention @oracle-d in this regard and at the same time grateful to all.

It was the beginning of a real community here on Steemit.
I agree. People here have been moaning about the low number of votes (compared to daily users), but this will be true with any 'call to action' type campaigns. What it does show is that we have a small group of very dedicated Steemians who are interested and dedicated to make this thing called Steem grow for the long term

Nasdaq covered steem that's epic that's show the power of strong community :)

Such a positive statements from the CEO are a welcoming news indeed! Positive, grateful remarks make much more good than toxic and bitter ones IMO. Looking forward to the next hopefully positive steps in the coming weeks/months :)

What a fantastic statement. To succeed, there are 3Ps, one of it is the PEOPLE.

we just can hope for good, The other game is in the big fishes hand.

The beginning of a real ideal community. Hope it stays that way. Kudos to @ned and the whole crew. Kudos to all steamians for making the top spot ours in the contest.

Waoh, the reply of ned asked the chief commanding officer of the steem blockchain sit so well with me.

I really love his reply.

And for steem, this is just the beginning.

I myself was surprised by how fast the community reacted to get us on top to the listing on netcoins. A nice gesture and a good vibe has been spread around the Steem blockchain, if this is the future, then it is bright!

Fingers crossed!

Posted using Partiko Android