You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHAT WILL YOU USE YOUR STEEMIT EARNINGS FOR?????

in #steemit7 years ago

Great question. Wetin I go do if say I get dat kind money? Kai! I bite finger for dis one ooooo ...

Well, when I think of that kind of dough, the word that comes to mind is 'MIT).' Yeah, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. It's an amazing place where America funnels all the technologically brilliant kids from their country and all over the world too. Kids that will, with some polish, build robots and 3d bio-printers and water-vapor-harvesting metamaterials. Kids that, at base, have the kind of technological aptitude that can't be taught.

Then they teach them the stuff that can

In Nigeria, ever since I was a kid watching NTA (before MNET reached my family's grasp), there were always newspaper reports and TV briefs of poor kids with minimal schooling who did things like build a functional AC out of junked motors and empty Fanta crates. I personally knew a guy who rewired Sega controllers to work on Super NES and vice-versa. Last year, I read about this kid in Imo State. Finished secondary, can't afford university. He figured out how to make remote starters and alarms for generators.

What do all those kids have in common? The fact that the Nigerian government and all our billionaires couldn't -- no, didn't do shit for them.

I want to find kids like that. This year. TODAY. I want to get them the funding and education and food security they need to take their talents as far as they can go -- and I want them to build shit in Nigeria for Nigeria. I want our people to innovate our way out of our rut of corruption and visionlessness and back to Giant of Africa status. I want the first strongly superhuman AI to go live in a lab in Enugu.

sigh

Sorry for going so long; it's a subject near and dear to my heart.

On a lighter note, the selfish half of my answer? Travel. Traveltraveltraveltravel. TRAAAAAVEL. God soooo much travel. I want to see everything, climb everything and jump off everything while I'm still remotely young enough to do it.

Oh, and finish paying my way through medical school. I suppose that's important too.