The secret how to make money on Steemit - Not what everybody is teaching you here

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If you were looking to make money on Steemit, and searched around, you for sure already saw multiple posts explaining how to write quality content and embed nice images etc. 

But no that's not true!!!

To make money on Steemit you need

  • No content
  • No Images
  • No comments

You need 2 things:

  1. A post of anything even from the coffee you drank yesterday.
  2. Loyal followers that will upvote anything you post - bot voting preferred

Of course you need these followers to have some Steem Power. But that's it. Instead of focusing on the article you should focus on followers. Below I will show you proof:

You see this picture? A post with 11 views and 78 votes!


Another example: A post about Beautiful Wildflowers but very few voters bothered to look on this post.

6 views and 67 votes!

Another example:

0 comments 11 views and 91 votes.

That's only a drop of the ocean of posts that generate revenue just because they have voting bot power.

Tell me what you think.

Please upvote, resteem and follow @emble

Sort:  

Absolutely agree with @lukestokes here, but I can also clearly understand your frustration @emble
Looks like you already did your homework damn well digging and finding beforehand this old and long standing syndrome which is characteristic in almost all social networks when you just sign up and start interacting in them.

Certainly you don't lack reason in what you point out in your observations. This is actually an indisputable reality which I have also pointed out on many occasions before.

However, I can see you barely signed up on steemit this month and you've only posted 2 articles so far. Give it some time buddy and follow Luke's advice. Interact, engage & comment more on other people posts, so they know about your existence on steemit. That's the only way to gain followers here and then afterwards you may plan more calmly about what and how you wanna write & share your articles to earn some do$h also.

I bet you soon will have a luckier experience than mine when I posted about this very same issue the first time, two months ago. Keep trying & ¡Steem On! :)

Thanks for your reply, you are right. I'm just concerned that steemit has become a social bot platform. More voting from bots then from real people.

I'm doing just that, I want to make posts that people love, but it's not easy when you don't know what you are doing.

How does one build followers?

By consistently posting valuable content. You can snipe a couple posts here or there which don't meet your standards, but don't forget to include the thousands of comments and posts that lead up to building that loyal following.

@lukestokes I realize this is an older post, but I just wanted to say I agree with you. I've only been here about 17 days, and it does get frustrating posting articles and making $0.00 on them, but I believe it'll pay off in the long run. I didn't have money to put into Steem when I started, but I was at least able to get going. My account is only worth about $8.00 right now, but my reputation is rising (slowly), and I did have one article that is due to pay out about $50.00 in about another day. I keep posting the best articles that I can produce, even though I'm not a great writer, and I keep commenting and voting. I have faith it'll pay off. Hopefully I'll be about to put a little something into purchasing some Steem Power, also.

Good luck to you. Don't underestimate the value of proof reading to increase your abilities as a "great writher". ;-)

Thank you. (I just read my previous comment, a couple of issues there, haha)

I agree with you @lukestokes. Valuable content is important if one is really serious about carving out a good place on Steemit. Granted, there are many people on Steemit that just go through the scroll upvoting whatever they think they can get some curation on, and the occasional voting for something that looks interesting. But, these people will not last long. They will burn out and leave. And @emble, as far as putting up posts with little content, no pics and no effort, that won't draw many followers and the ones it does draw will be the ones who will burn out. Luke, don't you think that quality posts will soon be valuable when the masses began discovering Steemit? There are already Steemit articles coming up in Google searches.

I agree with you. As Steemit gains more popularity the link juice will become more valuable. Right now, I feel the majority of people are on here to generate Steem Dollars but once small business owners can start getting recognized by their quality posts it will lead to a new influx. For me, I'm willing to spend money for steem because if my articles are read and someone uses me to buy or sell a home from a post then I come out way ahead.

Yes, I link to my old posts all the time. Some people say they aren't valuable because they don't have a new payout, but I disagree. They are hugely valuable because they save me time and help build my reputation.

Not true, maybe before it was but now it’s not true
People on steemit only care about the money, and with the possibility of selling upvotes now, a very few minority of the people are upvoting quality posts
It’s all about the money
Witnesses should find common ground for curators between profiting and being able to upvote posts that they actually like

Define "people"?

Do I only care about the money? Do you?

Maybe give this challenge a try and encourage others to do the same. I know why I'm here. It's about relationships.

How does consistently posting valuable content help when no one sees it? I worked very hard on two articles this week ...put a lot into them -- and not a single person even viewed them. I'm not going to give up, but it is very disheartening. So is seeing so many earn money unethically -- posting junk and using bots ....and "if you follow/upvote me, I'll upvote you". It's downright demoralizing. Any advice for how to get your posts seen? I used good pictures ...followed everyone's advice for quality content ....not one viewer, but me, myself and I.

Here's the best advice I can give: #SteemitIsToMe: Relationships, Reputation, and Rewards. Read the three posts I link to there.

You may need to change your expectations. If you create a twitter account today and start tweeting, no one would see it either. You have to build genuine relationships with real people. If those real people have Steem Power to vote you up, then you'll do well!

Thank you for responding. Read/listened to every one ...very helpful. And it makes perfect sense -- to build relationships/followers -- what changes Steemit from a lottery into a community -- read your great article about that. So it looks like I need to spend some time finding my Steemit tribe! Thanks again :)

Excellent! Glad to hear it. :)

I am very new, just a few days, and I just had my first post that did this, althought the dollar amount isn't as high as these. I posted a photograph 4 hours ago, now it has 17 views, 203 votes, and $5.73. My thinkiing is to post another one, with the same exact tags tomorrow evening, and see if it happens again. It was really weird, maybe after 5 minutes of posting, I had over 100 votes, but less than 10 views. I'll take a robot following all day, especially if it might lead a whale to me. LOL!

haha how did you manage that?

i had something similar i mean not as much but everything was getting 0.01 and then all of a sudden one got 83 cents the minute it was posted i really don't understand this platform yet

i just looked your making quite a bit from posts, how did you manage that!?

I thought you were going to follow me....

Yes, sure

You scared everyone away from voting

No, everybody should vote and make money.

Congratulations @emble! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks for the advice, will try that one.

You know the trick but your post has $0.00 😂

I had no following. The trick is get a blind following that have a lot of SP.

Nice idea

how do you get voting bot power? lol i have had a few bots comment on my posts at random.

Followed and voted.

Its not easy to make voter followers

Great article, I'll now focusing on creating a loyal following