Let this be a lesson.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Well, shucks. Since it is Memorial weekend,and I had plans with the family, I tried to take care of some business on Thursday afternoon after work. Last weekend we had a storm come through with high winds which took down this 4ft diameter white oak (I think) and crushed my barns roof. Im not to mad about it since I want to make the barn better and fix it up as my workshop. This Memorial weekend is suppose to rain again, so i thought to finish taking the tree down on Thors day (for you greek mythology majors) and to have the rest of my weekend free.

That didnt go as planned. You see before the tree had the last laugh, it took me down with it breaking my right collar bone. I spent the remainder of the night and all day Friday in bed recovering. BUT to my surprise, it doensnt hurt as bad as people say it should. I guess im lucky for one it didnt hit me in the head and two the bone broke cleanly.

So, for the next 6-8 weeks I cant do anything to allow it to heal properly. So the good news is, i can write more articles in bed for Steemit! and Im getting good at wiping with my left..Ha ha ha.

So, my friends the lesson here and its true... Never fall a tree alone.

If anyone has any suggestions to heal faster, preferably non gmo, post below.

Heres a video of the tree and pictures from the hospital.

Stay Ready!