You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing the Steemit Happy Hour vote lottery

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

@smooth Upvoted and resteemed even though I do not accept this

Some plagiarism, abuse or other undeserving posts will be upvoted. It is not my goal to reward abuse, but I consider it an acceptable cost in order to make Steemit more fun and fair that sometimes these posts will receive votes. The downvote/flagging mechanism should be used as a corrective measure.

I upvoted because I appreciate #1 and your generosity to everyone plus you said have FUN!? More than one hour fun? That's great!
So, THANK YOU !

Although I do not agree with your #2 because I do not support plagiarism and never will and the idea might encourage abusive trolls here and so history might repeat its bitter self - I upvoted because I RESPECT that you also have your prerogative in casting your votes just like we all do.

EDIT : Aside from plagiarism and abusive post I don't think there is such a thing as an undeserving post - as long as someone puts an effort on the post - it deserves a vote so I upvoted this. As for upvoting plagiarized post - I find it a slap to another author of a post that has been given much effort and properly sourced but like I wrote up there - WHO ARE WE TO QUESTION OTHERS WHERE THEY CAST THEIR UPVOTES? IT'S YOUR RIGHT - Like everybody else's.
btw, I sent you a question in the chat, would you please send me a reply? Thank you!

Sort:  

I should clarify I'm certainly not voting these posts on purpose. To be maximally inclusive the lottery considers every post. A small minority of Steemit posts are abuse, therefore a small minority of the time those posts will win the lottery. My intent is to encourage people to go ahead and downvote/flag those exceptions when they happen so that abuse is not rewarded. The lottery is blind to abuse, but other Steemian's need not be.

@smooth thanks for clarifying that - you did write - "randomly".
and thanks for getting back at me in the chat.

With lottery it will be easy to spot plagiarism as all community attention will be on that post (I presume that you will publish who is the winner).
The problem is with other random content you may curate that is plag and goes unnoticed. It would be very helpful if you spend at least 20 seconds to quickly check up content of the post from unknown low rep minnows to look for abuse patterns (no photo sources, potential copy pasta, Google translation etc). I know that you have limited time but that would really help. There is a problem with scammers fishing for your and blocktrades votes.

publish? no need. you can see smooth's voting history in steemd.

Really? :-)
So you require every single Steemit user to go and check up smooth's voting history? Sounds very practical and functional ;-)
It would be just easier to announce the winner each day with short post.

a little research won't hurt :D

@smooth please check your chat thank you