Announcing the Steemit Happy Hour vote lottery

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Effective immediately, a portion of my votes will be applied randomly. This means:

  1. Every single post or comment from every single Steemian will have a chance to receive some reward. Minnow or whale, newbie or founder, link share or graduate thesis, every contribution will have a real chance to be rewarded.
  2. Some plagiarism, abuse or other undeserving posts will be upvoted. It is not my goal to reward abuse, but I consider it an acceptable cost in order to make Steemit more fun and fair that sometimes these posts will receive votes. The downvote/flagging mechanism should be used as a corrective measure.

Parameters for the randomization may be adjusted from time to time and I may interrupt or discontinue it at any time for maintenance or other reasons.

I hope the Steemit community enjoys this experimental new initiative.

EDIT: To clarify, the "Happy Hour" vote lottery will continue indefinitely. You are allowed to have fun on Steemit for more than one hour.

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Hey Smooth,
Incredible journey this! Just wrote a post "the true power of steemit, building community, empowering change - thought you might appreciate some aspects of it! https://steemit.com/anarchism/@willstephens/the-true-power-of-steemit-building-community-empowering-change
As I am new here any help you can give me to get on the ladder would be for ever appreciated, have a beautiful day ;-), Thanks, Will

thanks @smooth =D

This post received a 3.1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gwapology! For more information, click here!

cool man thx so much for sharing your influence with small fish like us

In this lobby, will there be T.P.? For my bunghole?

HAHAH
sure TP and any thing you wish
i really love to know about how you become a big Whale
if you like to know your Cross and destiny come to my blog xD
THx for Sharing your Ingluence and lovely Humor

Thumbs Up!

Is this still on? I wonder..

Not sure.

Same here.

Same here too

I hope it's still on, this is good news to lots of those just getting started

Thumbs up! 👍🏼

Ditto!

Ditto? Does that mean copy? Because that Pokemon copies appearances??

Is it still going?

Well, no one's replying.

Guess it's no longer on then :/

Maybe he's just offline.

Probably

Whaaaaaat is this post

Make that 3600 thumb ups, accounting for every second of the happy hour!

That's a lot!

A lot of thumbs!

All thumbs! up

What do you call the big toe? Can we point that up too? just in case there's not enough thumbs? haha

Already included ;p

Thumbs Up_48px_1.png

Thumbs up too

I don't understand

What's going on lol

Did not notice that this post is 7 months old already.

Haha, and we're commenting on it thinking it was very recent.

I noticed it was and older article, hence the question if this is still in progress

Too many comments for a 7-month old post, goes without saying that happy hour is worth revisiting.

For me still worthy

Can i still join?

I wonder the same thing.

Definitely the question!

Can we still get upvotes?

Wondering the same thing

I hope it is still open! :)

hoho still works?

I joined your contest! Love the overflowing positivity there. Thanks for what you do :)

Thank you too for your support! I Stay positive and bee happy! :)

Checking this out.

That is a good contest, very good way to start your day :)

I tried thinking of a submission but I was too sleepy.

I need to figure out what this means The downvote/flagging mechanism should be used as a corrective measure.

I think it means downvote or flag should be from other users in the community, in cases where work is plagiarized for example

makes sense

So much to learn, so little time, so little sleep!

Hear, hear!

such a great work :) can i still join?

@smooth is still active, he hasn't replied to anyone's inquiry yet though

We are stilll patiently awaiting his return.

Is he on Discord?

Let us all wait and see :)

it would be awesome to have a happy hour again.

yah I guess too

I know right! But I'm thinking also if it would still be feasible given the tremendous growth in the platform

Lets hope it is..

Bring back the happy hour again! :D

Yeah, bring it back!

Haha. It looks like a rally here.

It has a lot of potential

what is back and what is not ?

That was a very great article. Let's bring back the happy hour again :D

more power =D

This post received a 3.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @gwapology! For more information, click here!

I agree. Thumbs up

same here 👍

Wish there would be happy hour again dude!

It would be amazing if there would be one from this author again.

Agreed!

It would be nice to have this again wouldnt it? Imagine what it can do for the community!

It would do great things.

Other than the happy hour, what other initiatives can you think of @deveerei that will make the entire community happy?

Happy minutes and happy seconds will be greater by 60folds overt happy hour. Haha. Honestly can't think of anything.

I say, 'how about a happy 24-hour?'

i also join the voice

thats would be great

amazing

I am
Wondering whats going on

Cool support but unable to get reward

Hope to work

Without blinking

Full heartedly supporter

Full support

Awesome article, wish @smooth replied and answered if it's still on

I agree mate. Good idea!

Lets make it happen, tag him!

Yeah, we need answers

Is it still going on?

We're not getting a reply, so we don't know yet. He maybe offline as of the moment. He'll be amazed how many new comments are on his old post. Haha!

Yeah, that's for sure man!

Maybe we will be able to make him restart it with all these comments

Thats cool idea

Will this work?

What are requirements?

Amazed or shocked?

I wish!

Lets make it work

I need all the help I can get apparently? :-D

Hi there. You can look up @minnowsupport. Join the #minnowsupportproject and the #minnowtowhale movement too.

Already a member of both. :-)

Cool! See you around then. We'll have each other's backs here cause of those communities we're in.

Thats absolutely right

is it working for you deveerei?

I cant understand damn

Thumbs up!

Post is old but still worthy ;)

Maybe we need to rally to bring this back on. :)

Or just keep talking till it gains traction. (Sound the same thing though)

Not a bad idea

How its working accordingly?

Figure it out

You thought you'd found a gold mine, didn't you? very clever

Nop, just trying to understand whats happening here, was thinking smooth will reply. Thought i entered in the happy hour window. But now i found its you experimenting something. I just searched the page with your name. I apologize, i did not know 😕

Alot worthy indeed

Happy Happy Hour :)

Hahahahaha :)

Hey What is so funny :)

Gentle man and its activities

Ahh i see :) He is really "Nice" :)

good if you believe so

Oh yes.. Robin Hood Style :)

Happy hour's back?

Cool! :)

Thumbs up!

Is this a thing?

Long since expired

Hi @smooth good day. You can help us minnows to grow. Thank you!

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/msp-3000

Sir @smooth I'm trying my.luck hahaha but I will start now before my time ends also here is my post, do I have to paste my link in here? Anyways I'm doing it already I'm using my mobile only and it is very loading ahhhggrrrrr
https://steemit.com/poetry/@dianargenti/my-existence

Thank you for the opportunity @smooth

This seems to be such a cool initiative.
Reading posts from the past gives us so much insight on the past of Steemit. Hope this comes back :)

I always thought some of whales started the game long before you )

same here. 👍

XD

:)

HI guys ! Can i join in?

Cool. The trending page is getting a bit lame, maybe this will help some. Skipping over more generic self-help / philosophical posts might help too. There's some real gems popping up that deserve votes way more than "is armpit hair underated?" and "learn how to be a genius in 5 days" kinda crap.

Glad to be one of the founding members of this initiative. Yeah - I'll take most of the credit. Who's @bacchist anyway?

I don't even know sometimes. Real talk.

That is fun! Nice community event. People will be talking about "who won". :)

Interesting idea. Reminds me of an experiment that some newspaper did once, where they built a stock portfolio by throwing darts at random stock symbols taped to a dartboard, then tracked its performance against a portfolio chosen by so-called financial experts. The portfolio of random picks outperformed the experts.

I guess we could get similar results here )

The @smooth speaketh ... still awaiting your yoga video post BTW ;-)

UP / RS due the rarity of such an event! ... an @smooth post!

I believe also @blocktrades also votes this way... I always like it when they or you give me an upvote though :)

Nope, manually vote every vote. I just try not to pay much attention to the poster name (unless it's someone who's a real pain in the neck).

Thank you blocktrades....for the upvote. Appreciate that it was manual as well....means a lot.

NB Thank you for your work regarding transfers...it works.

ah. well that is different then :)

@smooth Upvoted and resteemed even though I do not accept this

Some plagiarism, abuse or other undeserving posts will be upvoted. It is not my goal to reward abuse, but I consider it an acceptable cost in order to make Steemit more fun and fair that sometimes these posts will receive votes. The downvote/flagging mechanism should be used as a corrective measure.

I upvoted because I appreciate #1 and your generosity to everyone plus you said have FUN!? More than one hour fun? That's great!
So, THANK YOU !

Although I do not agree with your #2 because I do not support plagiarism and never will and the idea might encourage abusive trolls here and so history might repeat its bitter self - I upvoted because I RESPECT that you also have your prerogative in casting your votes just like we all do.

EDIT : Aside from plagiarism and abusive post I don't think there is such a thing as an undeserving post - as long as someone puts an effort on the post - it deserves a vote so I upvoted this. As for upvoting plagiarized post - I find it a slap to another author of a post that has been given much effort and properly sourced but like I wrote up there - WHO ARE WE TO QUESTION OTHERS WHERE THEY CAST THEIR UPVOTES? IT'S YOUR RIGHT - Like everybody else's.
btw, I sent you a question in the chat, would you please send me a reply? Thank you!

I should clarify I'm certainly not voting these posts on purpose. To be maximally inclusive the lottery considers every post. A small minority of Steemit posts are abuse, therefore a small minority of the time those posts will win the lottery. My intent is to encourage people to go ahead and downvote/flag those exceptions when they happen so that abuse is not rewarded. The lottery is blind to abuse, but other Steemian's need not be.

@smooth thanks for clarifying that - you did write - "randomly".
and thanks for getting back at me in the chat.

With lottery it will be easy to spot plagiarism as all community attention will be on that post (I presume that you will publish who is the winner).
The problem is with other random content you may curate that is plag and goes unnoticed. It would be very helpful if you spend at least 20 seconds to quickly check up content of the post from unknown low rep minnows to look for abuse patterns (no photo sources, potential copy pasta, Google translation etc). I know that you have limited time but that would really help. There is a problem with scammers fishing for your and blocktrades votes.

publish? no need. you can see smooth's voting history in steemd.

Really? :-)
So you require every single Steemit user to go and check up smooth's voting history? Sounds very practical and functional ;-)
It would be just easier to announce the winner each day with short post.

a little research won't hurt :D

@smooth please check your chat thank you

First of all I think what you are doing is righteous and noble and as you've said - STEEMIT - has been good to you so it only feels natural to give back to the community - I surely hope that I can be included in this experiment to help get our voices heard louder / i have so much to say and am decisive on what to write about next :) POWER ME UP POR FAVOR

That would be a nice surprise on a comment.

indeed! to include comments is really a good thing to encourage community engagement.

I invite Hon. @smooth to visit my poor blog and upvotes if you like some photo, give me some comment to improve my blog, thank you for your support

How does a user just STOP doing what they are doing.

This is more addictive than Facebook or Twitter, I don't get how after everything I see here, you just stopped steeming.

X Files eat your heart out.... there is no way anyone can explain this to me.

A very magnanimous gesture and a great way to have fun.

I would be honored if you check my latest blogs when you have time. I have posted the first of my tiger pictures with a story of that encounter. Your comments will be highly appreciated. Thanks.

Thank you!!
It may be the only way for me to get more than .02 rewards that don't round down at payout anytime soon!!

Hello @smooth, we are just trying to set crowdfunding on Steemit to get resources to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Please could you help us in our effort? Thank you for your upvotes and resteems. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@kedjom-keku/do-it-for-forest-crowdfunding-who-are-we-actually-forest-friendly-family-each-11usd-10x10-m-forest-saved

@smooth, thank you for the hardwork you guys have done to help Steemit, however we need more from Steemit Inc or else Steemit will fall down to a new potential killer > https://steemit.com/steemit/@blockrush/is-wildspark-the-steemit-killer-blockrush

I want to be a steem whale!!! 🤑🤑

That's cool! Spin the wheel, my fellow steemians, and good luck to all!

Wonderful! How about up voting me so that I at least get out of the unchanging , '0.00'.
Thanks! You're doing a very nice thing. :)

OK I'm down. Let's see if this is legit.

Sounds good...

Thanks in advance :)

Lol typo on Stemian. STEM is not for the faint of heart.

Sounds good.

Great idea @smooth! You are always doing tons to improve the community :)

[Edit] removed link. Sorry, I misunderstood and thought it was in the context of people sharing things in this post. I reread, and see it is random across everything. Very cool :)

Cool idea! Will you leave an automated message with the vote or just a vote?

Just the vote

Resteemed!!!!!!

That's just plain awesome! Ty so much for doing this!
The rare vote for a 'problem' post is well worth the massive fun and motivation this can generate!

Wulllllll this oughtta be fun. :D

There are 4 pages
Pages