Steemit Categories? Let’s open it up!

in #steemit7 years ago

Admittedly, I’m a newb here on Steemit, but I feel the categories are far too limited. I’m having a hard time finding blogs about my specific interests (ie. Bass guitars). I see only one category for “Music.” How about one for each genre? How about a category for “Musicians” or better yet how about specific categories for different instruments? There are a ton of guitarists, drummers, bassists, keyboardist, who would like a place to blog about their gear, their experiences, promote their music or band etc…. Same for Art, one category? How about one for sculpture, watercolor, performance art etc…

What would people think about a “FOR SALE” category? Could Steemit become a new Craigslist, or an eBay free of charges?

I ask you to help me out by commenting, or upvoting or following me as I try to learn about Steemit. That appears to be the thing to do :)
Thanks!
Erol

Sort:  

do it.
nothing stopping you

I tried tagging my posts with "bass" and "guitar" and " musicians" but I don't see those categories show up in the list?

you just added them to the list.
use it enough and it'll become a 'thing'.

I'll keep trying, thanks!

steemit is decentralized.
everyone goes their own way.
everyone does their own thing.

I'm starting to see that, it's kind of a wild west multi blog

The list you are looking at is likely far from complete. Any new tag creates a new "category".

the column on the right shows categories. I labeled my first posts with the tag "bass" and "guitar". I clicked show more categories and neither of those seem to be in the list? perhaps there are really not enough people posting in those categories? seems odd, but I guess thats probably just me because I hang with a lot of musician types.