How to really HELP STEEMIT GROW ! Back to basics.

in #steemit7 years ago

download.jpg

Lately I have been reading a lot of posts from people who are hardcore Steem believers and they share their views how Steem will moon and that is totally undervalued at this point. Of course I couldn't agree more and just like them, I have put some money in Steem and will be loading even more.

Steemit is a social platform and like all social platforms, it's value is INCREDIBLY tied to users, especially new users. Here we are not going talk about the one week verification process, which usually leads to people forgetting that they wanted to sign -up. I want to talk about that...

Charts, Google Ranks, Future Hard forks are not enough

The thing that strikes me is that a lot of people show charts, google ranks, hard forks, etc. , which are all very good arguments for Steem and prove a very good point in terms of how valuable Steem should be. But let's go back to Steemit - as I see it - Steemit is very dependant on Steem and Steem is very dependant on fresh money into the Steem-Economy.

bigstock-Awareness-Level-Conceptual-Met-51868162.jpg

Awareness

So how do we attract fresh money into our economy. I think the most reliable way is some old good mouth-to-mouth marketing. I bet you all DO it, but it is not important if you DO it, but why you did it in the first place. Let me tell you why I did it.

My account was verified on 29th of November and my first post was on 30th. Of course it was my introduction post and I was blessed that it managed to raise over 4 $. I was so excited - in the next 3-4 days I told all my friends about Steemit and Steem and SBD. And all the benefits of authoring and curating at current SBD prices. I did all of that, because I earned 4 $ at first attempt - INCREDIBLE! I have posted on FB and Twitter 50000 times and I have not earned a penny.

What if I had earned 0.02 $ on a post I prepared for 4 hours straight ( Don't judge, markdown is no easy task). I am certain that I would have had mixed feelings. My next posts earned 0.01 $ but at that time I already had 300 STEEM on bittrex, so you know - I wouldn't have stopped, but the majority would.

Back to basics

We need to make the newcomers feel good and to get hooked in this community, it is our obligation to make them see that it is totally worth it !

What do you suggest ?

  • Make it habit to check the #introduceyourself section and Upvote content you see fit.
  • Write comments and ask questions - people feel appreciated !
  • FOLLOW some of them
  • Give them tips
  • Give them some useful info, if you feel like they need it.

Conclusion

I was really lucky to have some success with my introduction post. People gave me tips, they upvoted, the greeted, offered help! Made some money ! We should all do our part, if we want this thing to grow and MOON !

P.S. Please let me know your thoughts ! I am sure you have someting valuable to add to this post.

Re-Steem, so we can grow even stronger.

Upvote, Follow and Re-Steem @ervinneb

Sort:  

Does 1100 comments in six months qualify as enough?

I guess it really comes down to what types of comments, but I am glad that you work towards our common goal ! Cheers

According to those Analytics websites. I put out 12 comments a day, on average. So It's not that extremely high. If you look at it from a day to day basis.

I just log in every day en to blog and converse with other users. And after a few months. It became a part of my daily routine.

I try to put 'thought' in my comments. And strife to stay away from the spamming type comments. If I can't say anything useful, then I don't answer.

That is the way to go :) Keep them comming

@ervinneb, I've found your post to be worthy of a resteem and upvote from me. I'm an actual person and I am doing this on behalf of the Resteem - Upvote movement. Join the movement, read about it here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@jackmiller/the-resteem-and-upvote-movement-teamwork

Thank you very much Jack ! will definitely check it out :)

How much money a new user makes on their introduceyourself post really is the key to whether they will persist or not. Taking a n00b under your wing every now is a great way to make sure they are rewarded for their efforts and stay.

My advice is to find new users who actually put the time into their introductory post. If they're willing to put the time and effort into providing top quality content, then they're an asset to Steemit and will help us all in the long run. We all want these people to stick around so our investment goes up in value!

Try it, it feels good too :)

I am trying, although I have very limited SP. I also think that people should upvote only content they feel deserves it.

P.S. I am also a n00b, so I wouldn't mind some support too. I am always up for tips and help.

Excellent insights and worthy of my paltry 100% vote - I wish it was worth more. These are exactly the things we need to be doing, imho. Plus we get the added benefit of finding great folks to follow, and content we'd maybe not have found otherwise. Thanks for sharing and good luck!

Thank you very much ! No matter the amount, I am happy that you liked it.

nice info but this work really hard

Nothing good comes easy. Persistence and value are the key to success here.

Heck yeah, I agree users need to get hooked.

However, instead of telling my friends and family just about how you get paid, I tend to emphasize that its the community that is really awesome. You can engage with people on here, and there is little shit posting or trolling going on, and you can find communities of people who are likeminded from across the world and still encounter different view points too!

It is the social aspect that really is the golden part of Steemit in my eyes, and getting rewarded is added benifit and more motivation to produce quality! Of course, since quality posts get upvoted more, quality posts are rewarded and we want to post more quality! its a real great system. Steemit to the moon indeed!

You are absolutely right ! In my opinion one should see this for himself, in order to get hooked :) I will definitely add this to my presentation. Thank you for the effort to write such a well-thought comment :)

Indeed, I am glad you enjoy my two cents!

Yes, you are telling something good ideas, it would be very beneficial to red fishes and minnows.

Thanks, man ! If we do this on a regular basis, we can surely help our community.

This post is quite incisive, I couldn't agree less with you @ervinneb. We really need to offer considerable support to New Steemians, as not to allow them be overwhelmed by low affirmation.
I've Upvoted post, well done

Thank you very much ! Appreciate it